🍄FungiFriday Challenge🍄 - Parasol Mushroom

in #fungifriday6 years ago

🍄Happy FungiFriday!!!🍄

During my hiking into the Romanian forests, I found this spectacular parasol mushroom, Macrolepiota procera pour les connoisseurs.
This is a very interesting mushroom, one of the giants of the Agaricaceae family. It grows on well-drained soil, being found in pastures and occasionally in woodland.
A very delicious mushroom, very dear to those who are used to pick these wonderful gifts of nature, but very similar to some of its deadly siblings. One of the first clues you are dealing with an edible mushroom, would be its height...it is huge, trust me. The poisonous relatives are far smaller than parasol mushroom. So, if you want to be sure, look for an older specimen and pay attention to its size.
And don't pick those found inside the woodland...this is the favorite habitat of the poisonous species.

Enjoy this beautiful Fungi Friday and remember: if you don't know the edible species, stay away and just take photos. Don't risk your life pointlessly.

IMG_2438-01.jpeg
Canon PowerShot A1400, f/2.8, 1/125 s, 5 mm, ISO200


Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

Sort:  

Wow! That's very impressive! I would never take a risk because I really can't tell which is which🎃

This is very wise. If you don't know which is which, better leave them untouched. 🙂

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

An excellent find. delicious mushroom. you can eat even in raw form! Romania is next door to us.

Really? Where are you from?
My favorite mushrooms are chanterelles (Cantharellus cibarius). The parasol mushrooms, never picked them as never found enough to make a decent meal. 🙂

I am from Moldova

Basically, the next door neighbor. 🙂
I'm from the North of Romania, Bukovina.

Beautiful, big mushrooms! Did you eat it?
Happy Fungi Friday :)

Nope, it was just this one and I decided to let it be. It was one of the biggest I have ever seen.
Happy FungiFriday! 🍄

You know you have my vote and my support when you want to see the photos you can go through my blog.

I always check my friends' blog as the feed is not always helpful. 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66077.75
ETH 3167.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01