Fungi Friday - Chantrelles and RussulasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fungifriday5 years ago (edited)

I found some chantrelles this past weekend for #fungifriday by @ewkaw

This picture was from a batch I found in their prime last year.

Unfortunately all I found this weekend were dried out chantrelles @qwerrie . You can see how hollowed out the stems are from bugs. I ended up not trying to cook these.

To contrast here's what a good batch looks like after harvesting.

Here's a descent specimen. Note how the gills look like veins and run down the stem.

I also found some emerging white russula mushrooms.

Here's what the gills look like. I've read these are edible but have a bad taste or can give you a stomach ache if cooked incorrectly. In the pacific northwest these get infected by lobster fungus and turn red, somehow lobsters taste better.

Here's some bonus flies doing what they do lol (they met on tinder). Happy #fungifriday maybe this weekend I can find some good chantrelles.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

This yellow chantrelles are very good 😋😋 I have this here lot also now. 👌🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

Yum you better get a bunch and dry them out for winter. Fresh ones are the best.

Posted using Partiko Android

They look so delicious! I never pick those... but had them before. They are nice :)

They one of my top three mushrooms for taste.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 6.28% upvote from us for your 750 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 22% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

I have never seen chantrelles, or if I have, I suspect I thought they were toadstools!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66137.63
ETH 3161.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13