Fungi Friday - Comb Tooth and OtherssteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fungifriday5 years ago (edited)

Here's some comb tooth I found while camping in Wisconsin for this #fungifriday by @ewkaw

The latin name of this mushroom is Hericium coralloides and it's a nice gourmet edible.

They basically are in the same family as lions mane and are pretty easy to cultivate at home. I found these ones in the wild growing on the side of dead logs.

Here's a closeup of the spore producing comb teeth. The spores are white. They kind of remind me of a Dr. Seus drawing.

Given their funky shape i had to break them apart and wash all the wood bits out of them before cooking.

I was camping at the time so the recipe was very simple they were cooked with some canadian bacon. These mushrooms have a very mild taste so they need something to flavor them. They have lots of health benefits for brain development and are one of the highest protein content mushrooms you can eat.

Later I found plenty of orange mycena, here's a batch just starting out.

Later they bloom out into clumps like this.

I also found some scarlet elf cups. This is edible as well but it has no taste and is mostly used as garnish for fancy meals.

Here's a first for me. I finally found a lobster mushroom. This is a milkcap that has an orange fungus growing on top of it. These are edible as well with a pretty decent taste.

Here's the top. Many lobsters look mangled like this as it's one fungus being attacked by another.

These pear shaped puffball mushrooms were just starting to show up. These are edible as well and have a smokey wood grilled taste to them. They go really well with potatoes and meat.

I also found this unidentified bright orange mushroom. I definitely have to find out what this beauty is.

Here's the top of the unidentified orange beauty.

Here's a liitle toad next to a white russula. Toads live hanging around mushrooms to pick off the bugs that are attracted to them. I bet this tiny guy was eating little gnats on the gills underneath.

Here's a polypore that is smiling and winking at me. This one appears to have broken off and then started growing again. They grow into disc like shapes and have a smooth white underside. They are nicknamed artist conchs as you can woodburn or draw designs on the underside of them.

Here's a bit of a trajedy. I was hoping to find chicken of the woods all weekend. This is my favorite edible as it tastes just like chicken. But some other mushroom hunter got to it before me :-(

Finally we have these poisonous mushrooms that have rough scales all over them. They are called Pholiota squarrosoides (Cortinariaceae) Sharp-scaly Pholiota they kind of look like hamburger buns from a distance with lots of sesame seeds on them. Just don't try eating them. Happy #fungifriday

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Nice collection of fungi! Lobsters are one of my most favorite mushrooms. Every one looks different, it's like an Easter egg hunt. Your unidentified orange one, to me, looks like one of the Waxy Caps (in the Hygrophoraceae family). Here's to a great mushroom hunting season! :D

Cool thanks for the id i'll see if those grow in the area. I think @qwerrie found a waxy cap recently as well. Hope i can find some chicken this year.

I can't say that every Hygrophorus is edible, but here's some that I found and ate -- the Late Fall Waxy Cap mushroom, Hygrophorus hypothejus. Grandma's Cauliflower with Wild Waxy Cap Mushrooms.

Do they taste like a typical mushroom or do they have a unique taste...

Posted using Partiko Android

They have a mild, traditional mushroom flavor, with a texture that is like the Straw mushrooms that are sold in a can.

I love getting straw mushrooms from the asian market here. Even better if i can get them wild though.

Posted using Partiko Android

...a trajedy for me

I feel your pain :/

comb tooth have lots of health benefits

I've read the same info about it

you say, puffballs have "a smokey wood grilled taste and they go really well with potatoes and meat" -- this sounds excellent, and very attractive to me! (I am very fond of grilled tomatoes and eggplants). sadly, I am not going to pick up the ones that I have in my yard (a lot!) -- we try to avoid mushrooms that grow in the city (due to ecology issues).

Pholiota - I know this one! it is not toxic, but non edible due to its harsh taste. there is 150 species in this family, 30 of them are known to grow in Russia... one cpecie - Pholiota nameko - is not only edible, but is being growed-up artificially.

thanks for your post, it was a pleasure reading and watching for me!

Hmm someone on the internet was trying to save people from the harsh taste lol. I forget where i read they were toxic. I've had store bought nameko and they are really good, too bad these rough ones are gross tasting though i might nibble them next time just to see how bad they are :-0***

Congratulations!

This post has been upvoted as @SteemitBD curation support. Steemit Bangladesh is the first youth-run community organization from Bangladesh to empower youths on steemit. You can also check our Social Business Service @SocialBot to get a profitable offer for you.


Join us on Discord
steemitf.pngtwitterf.pngyoutubef.pngfacebookf.pnginstaf.pngdiscordf.png

A Youth Run Community Organization from Bangladesh
50SP100SP200SP500SP1000SP2000SP5000SP10000SP

Hericium coralloides is listed in the Red Book in Russia. I met him only once.
Pholiota squarrosoides (Cortinariaceae) mushroom has several types. They are conditionally edible. I ate them, tasting like mushrooms (Armillaria mellea). I liked them :))

This is my first time finding it as well. I've seen home growing kits online for them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hericium coralloides has brothers, they are smaller and not at all tasty.

I'll have to post my lions mane that i grew at home. It was super easy to grow and made lots of batches.

Posted using Partiko Android

It is interesting :)

You got so lovely collection quite vibrant that only add beauty.

You got so lovely
Collection quite vibrant that
Only add beauty.

                 - steemflow


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Mushroom season is just starting to heat up around here. Fall brings out quite a few different edible ones.

Posted using Partiko Android

So much vibrant variety I never seen them before

Thanks for showing us these fantastic fungi👍

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a good outing i have quite a few more finds for next friday.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @steemflow.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 29% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.



Hello, @sketch.and.jam

The Talent Club is a space of mutual collaboration, with reserved admission right, which puts the club's account at the service of its members and which grants them more than a 1500% daily benefit.

We are constantly looking for talented users to offer them the possibility to enjoy our advantages.

Currently we are more than 90 members and we help more than 10 different projects, having a total amount of more than 60.000SP, with our own trail.

If you want to know more about how we work and be able to access the club, come by our Discord server, without any commitment.

Regards.


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28