Fungi Friday - The Gross EggsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #fungifriday5 years ago (edited)

Here's a gross egg for this #fungifriday by @ewkaw

The egg above eventually forms into this mushroom. The latin name is phallus impudicus, which translates to foul penis lol. They smell pretty bad since their common name is stinkhorn.

They look nasty as well. People often get allergies from the spores and they can overtake mulch landscaping.

Here are some baby pear shaped puffball mushrooms just starting to grow.

Eventually they will look like this. These are a nice edible mushroom I like to cook them in oil and spices with potatoes.

Here's a green mushroom i found a few weeks ago. The latin name is Russula virescens and it is edible.

Here is what it looks like two weeks later lol. It turned black and the slugs are munching.

Its a good idea to keep an eye on how edible mushrooms decay just in case you see one. Now if i see this i can go back to the same area next year a bit earlier and hopefully find lots of harvestable mushrooms.

Happy #fungifriday beware the phallus impudicus lol

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 2.78% upvote from us for your 260 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

How did you know I will enjoy a gross egg? eh? :p
And you even found cute little slugs! It's like 2in1.
Happy Fungi Friday :)

Sometimes the eggs look like puffball mushrooms just starting out but then it turns out they are a gross stinkhorn lol.

Posted using Partiko Android

We have a stinkhorn problem here. When I first moved in I thought there was a dead animal rotting in the woods. Now it doesn't even phase me

Posted using Partiko iOS

I still haven't found the netted stinkhorn, those are pretty cool looking.

Posted using Partiko Android

heh.. maybe you could send me some spores?..
in exchange for inc cap spore slime?
is that out of the question...
i'd really like to have them around :=)

( the place is already stinking,
so it will dnot ont bother me, hehehe )

Excellent fungi finds and photos 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Can't wait until the pear shaped puffball shrooms are ready to harvest.

Posted using Partiko Android

I am jealous you have this guy around! I never met one myself...
and very cool capture! thank you very much.
I wish I could upvote your post twice!

😋

They smell bad, if only I could find one of these instead https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Phallus_indusiatus

Posted using Partiko Android

these will smell bad, too!

=)

btw, why dont you use #creativecoin tag?..
you could benefit from my 8k stake ^_^

But they have a cool looking net. I'll put the cc tag on thanks :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you sketch.and.jam! You've just received an upvote of 44% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Such an eye-opener for me with these mushrooms!

You found a good few yourself. Keep an eye out whenever it rains or even in dark shaded areas when it isnt raining.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well do! Thanks.

Lol yeah its a bad looking mushroom.

Posted using Partiko Android

I really liked the photos!
Especially a photo of a green mushroom, I see such a mushroom for the first time, it impressed me!

And its edible too. This is the first time i found one, hopefully next year more will be in the same area.

Posted using Partiko Android

good luck!
Does this mushroom have something distinctive in taste?

It has a very mild taste, it still tastes like a mushroom. The more distinct aspect of it is the light crumbly texture. These are better parboiled, though in asia they are eaten raw, which is also rare for a mushroom. 99% of mushrooms have to be cooked.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you very much for the information!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15