Forgot to make Ice Cubes again

in #funny6 years ago

Forgot to make Ice Cubes again

original poetry and photos
by @d-pend
.....


cubetray-stove-slight-escher.jpg


IMG_3387 3.jpg


Forgot to make Ice Cubes again


Ice on the tray, razed statuettes
Of frost and rubbish of time,
Languish from rivers of plastic coquettish:
Stymying petrol-store dime.

Bits of receipts,
Uncertain shards—
Thoughtless assaults of years.
Everywhere junk
Sojourns to dust
And settles evasive arrears.

One man's trash, another's smile
Rectified by the corpulent guile
Popularized by tacky ads,
I'll cash my check;
Just take a tad-bit
Back to house or wherever the build
The page, a temple, irreverent guild
For mundane traffic of insects fleeting,
I with the bored and the boring entreating
Life to bestow me with better days
Where ice ain't born in trays.


IMG_3387 2.jpg


cube-tray-qwerty-flipped.jpg


IMG_3381 3.jpg


Poetry & Photos
by @d-pend
10/6/18
.

(Photos
taken with
iPhone 8+ - - -)


IMG_3381 2.jpg


windowfan-increasedcolor-edited-monoish.jpg


fan-strip-inverted-red-2.jpg


Sort:  

Hahaha. This is quite a change in theme and tone. I like that.
Ice cube trays can be a source of conflict in not a few families. I remembered the sense of confort and relax when I bought a refrigerator that spit slim ice pieces on cue. I lost that refrigerator in my divorce and with it my peace of mind.
I, too, sing the hymn of the empty tray.

Unlike you guys in the States, we can't just go to a dime store and get a bag of ice. Besides, with the constant blackouts, chances are many of your friends can't save your butt with some spare ice.

I remember when I first moved in with my current wife (her mother's house), I noticed there were no ice cube trays in the fridge. I went to a chinese bazar and bought some four or six only to be told by my mother-in-law that they did have trays, she just put them away (in storage) because everybody always forgot to make ice cubes.
They had these plastic bottles they filled with water and then broke to pieces whever they needed ice.
I insisted on the ice cube trays; I'd make sure they'd remain fully operational :)

I can't afford to forget to make ice cubes. The trays would be slammed not on my keyboard or on the stove but on my head, and then i'd need some ice for the bump.

Loading...

In men it is forgivable the forgetting of the basics like making ice in the trays. A feminist joke in my country says: the difference between a man and a woman is that women can do several tasks at the same time, while men do one task and forget to do the other.

Yeah, my wife is thoroughly convinced of that, and I'm to blame.

Posted using Partiko Android

@d-pend,

OK, I surrender my sword. I cannot analyze this one ... at all.

But, I am laughing my ass off. I'm trying to conjure up the inspiration for the poem.

I've got nothing. One does not easily get inside the head of d-pend. :-)

Languish from rivers of plastic coquettish

I am willing to bet my life that no one, ever, has used the word, "coquettish," in this fashion. :-) :-) :-)

Loved the Verse forms.

Quill

I came out of that... thinking about college; ice in plastic trays; a couple of corners inevitably broken and a droplet of ice cream on one of the cubes.

Funny how poetry can trigger moments in time, so clearly.

Thanks!

In the city of dreams, face the reality,
Struggling to keep the steps continued,
Tired of stumbling, the steps were stopping
Before taking control, that angel
Whom ever I was unaware of.
I'll never be able to repay debt, sometimes the favor he did,
Only the reminder that every time from soul will be for them
Who took me in my shelter,
The rays of hope are in the mind,
A warm up is in the cool waves
It's time to show something
Do not look and see this way
Save every time no miracle will come

Dedicate to @d-pend sir.

Very nice poetry. Yes I remember those trays! Thanks.

Great poem @d-pend I like that you mix up form and themes

Thank you for being here for me, so I can be here for you.
Enjoy your day and stay creative!
Botty loves you. <3

Hi @d-pend!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.177 which ranks you at #832 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 831).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 271 contributions, your post is ranked at #44.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83