You recently supplied......

in #funny5 years ago

So a complete arse (arse = Customer) asked if we could look at an RDX cartridge as there are some files he would like off it. Now like a lot of people who want a 'FREEBIE' he started waving the carrot at me "Yeah, I'm possibly going to have your Cloud Backup service but my priority is these drawings for the minute...." fortunately I've been doing sales far too long to fall for this old trick. I told the customer to drop the cartridge off at our offices, it's basically an SSD drive, and that we'd have a look. Sure enough, the following morning he'd dropped it off along with a compliment slip setting out the files he needed. I asked our Engineers to have a look and to cut a long story short the drive is corrupted so I called him to explain but before I'd even got into the tail end of my first sentence I got the old chestnut you always get when people realise they might have to pry open their wallet with a crowbar! "Well you supplied this backup system!" Now dear reader, let me just point out I knew nothing about the system he was provided with, I don't remember the in's and out's of systems I provided two weeks ago let alone his and as it turned out, it was never my deal in the first place! He then went on to say that we had installed a second backup solution along with the RDX. My best guess (Coz I'm clever like that) was that he also had 'Snapshot' a solution we used to actively sell a few years ago until we replaced it with our Cloud Service. I started to explain "Well I presume.." and he cut me off mid sentence "LET'S NOT PRESUME SHALL WE! Go and look at what we had." reeling backwards I thought "You cheeky f....." but conceded that it would be a good idea.

2012! You've got to be kidding me? 2012 he had that solution put in place! It also transpires that we offered him not only support but also our Cloud Backup service the following year in 2013 both of which he declined and now he's on the phone in 2018 trying to hoodwink support out of us with his "Well you sold us it!" Rang him back giving him the good news that he'd got no support and that the equipment (and probably the RDX drive?) was six years old! I could literally hear his brain go "Ah, feck" over the phone. I explained that back in 2012 we did set up snapshot to backup to his NAS drive to which he responded "Yeah, that's it, the NAS" I explained that if he was lucky and that the snapshot routine was still in place and the NAS was still plugged in he should have a copy on there.

Still not giving up on the attempt to get free help he asked where the snapshot software was. I explained that it would be on the server and how he could recover the files he wanted, as long as they are in the data set for the backup routine. He then asked me for the password to the server, how would I know? He then tried to make out they were never given it to which I responded "Well I find that very hard to believe because why would we give someone a device that was password protected and yet not give them the password? That's just silly." he then said that we must have a copy of it somewhere and could we give it to him. By now I'd had enough and wasted way too much time on it. I responded: "Sadly I can't help you there, unless specifically requested we deleted ALL data we held for our customers over two years ago in compliance with the GDPR." I did offer one of our Engineers services to look at the server and see if there was some way we could get into it at our standard hourly rate of course to which his disgruntled reply was: "I'll have a look myself and come back to you if needed."

Yeah, you do that.

The moral of the story is:

  • Keep your hardware up to date.
  • Take out a support contract.
  • At least know what equipment you have!

  • Do you use Twitter, Youtube or Instagram? Fancy earning some Steem with that content too? Use my refferal link https://www.share2steem.com/?ref=dickturpin to sign up for your free account and also get me a couple of Steem for using my refferal link.


    My actual name is Pete, you can find out Here why I use the username dick_turpin.
    https://plus.google.com/u/0/100694334141523232451
    https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
    https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3
    https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin

    This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.
    License explained: Examples
    Create your license: Choose

    Creative Commons Licence


    Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.
    "Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."

    Sort:  

    Congratulations @dickturpin! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    You received more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

    Click here to view your Board of Honor
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

    Hi dickturpin ! You just received an upvote from @share2steem !

    To our deep regret, it looks like you used Share2Steem in the past but not anymore.
    A lot of changes have been made to the application @share2steem and to the website https://share2steem.com since your last visit.

    We want to add more value to you thanks to our constantly growing users base (1143 currently).
    There are 3 high value updates on the Share2Steem dApp that you definitely cannot miss ! They will definitely aid you directly and indirectly :

    1. Daily upvote from Share2Steem account (23691 SP now and growing with an upvote worth up to $169848276.38). Once you have linked and verified a social media account, just do as per normal on your favourite social media (ie Instagram) and behind the scene, you EARN.
    2. Activate your Curation Trails in the Settings now, especially the underrated Pool ! You may get up to 10x upvote of what you give to the pool !
    3. Referral Program : probably one of the first that offers such a high referral rate - 4% of all your referrals' earnings !


      Whether you come back or not, we would love to have your feedback :
      Why aren't you using Share2Steem anymore ? Maybe you encountered a bug ?
      Maybe some of your publications did not cross-post ?
      Maybe you weren't satisfied with our service ?

    If you have any questions, suggestions, feel free to come to Discord

    This message was generated automatically.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.32
    TRX 0.12
    JST 0.034
    BTC 64664.11
    ETH 3166.18
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 4.11