Hedges

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

f20900df-0264-441c-b94c-08a78e40b4e5.jpeg


There used to be a giant hedge at the corner of my parents house. When we pulled out of the driveway backwards it was impossible to see and the chance of being hit by a car was rather high.

When we first moved into the house, the hedge was tiny. More recently the hedge got so big my brother, sister in law and I joked about hiding an old sleeping bag, some cans of beans and a fifth of vodka in the hedge and telling my dad that a homeless man had moved in underneath.

Now it’s a tiny little tree and some flowers. There’s a lot of things I miss from my childhood, adolescence, and early adulthood. The hedge isn’t one of them.

Sometimes things start out small and don’t seem like much of an issue, they grow in the periphery until they’re a dangerous nuisance with the potential of blindsiding us by a minivan.

I feel like I might have a hedge or two I need to chop down in the inner workings of my mental landscape.

Then I’ll be able to pull out of the driveway in the morning without getting t-boned.

Yours in the Hedge,
Doug


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

There's nothing like going back to your roots to spark reflection! I'm glad that hedge got taken care of...I'm sure you got an adrenaline rush every time you pulled out of that driveway.

Yeah, it’s always great for reflection, and yeah the funny thing is when I borrowed my Dad’s car yesterday I still expected not to be able to see over my shoulder. Ghost hedge!

I feel like I might have a hedge or two I need to chop down in the inner workings of my mental landscape

That's deep brother. I agree there are some things of childhood we never forget about.

Hi @dougkarr, Your thoughts touched my heart deeply. If we can go again our childhood how you feel. It's marvelous and freedom feeling indeed thing. But want to know true only we can go it via only dream. After look now between childhood more things changed and especially our minds improved but massive responsibilities had to us. Everyone had missed something. Not perfect person at all.

A wonderful story, my friend and you are right, in our life there are moments that remind us of childhood and adolescence, where time was so untroubled and it's great! Thank you @dougkarr

I guess we all have these kind of memories paticularly of the tress that we have seen in the childhood or have played on it or had its fruits or even helped us in playing hide and seek ...
We often do feel nostalgic when we see them after a long while..

Your thought is right , our childhood is marked always things . Your writing touch my heart deeply . Childhood memories is the best memries in every human life .
Rhanks for sharing @dougkarr

Our childhood is always marked by things and places, of my childhood I miss the sea very much.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87