What Do Idahoans Have Against Californians?!

in #funny6 years ago

It is a real problem around our place. Californians invade our yard every day, dozens of them. They show up butt-nekked except their silly hats. They steal food, make a racket, poop all over the yard then take off without so much as a "by your leave" or "thank you kindly."

Sometimes we catch the hoodlums partying in the middle of the road. It is nuts. They will just take off running, DOWN THE ROAD, right in front of the car. It is like they are playing some weird version of "Russian Roulette" only instead of waiting for a gun to go off, the game is to see when the pissed off Idahoan finally goes off and mows you down with the car. They could EASILY run left or right and get out of the way but no... down the middle of the road. OK, the "stupid Californians" thing is a running joke around here but there comes a point when I really do yell at them "You can FLY, you idiots!" When they take wing at last, they FLY down the middle of the road right in front of the car. Then land. Then take off running down the middle of the road...

Today, I was down working on the little trailer we are rehabbing. I had the front door open to catch the last of the cool morning air. Apparently a flock of California quail had gathered around the front steps and when I walked past the door they freaked out and everybody flew away except this guy who had a MUCH better escape plan... There's one in every crowd!

Now, it is kind of cool catching a wild bird, they are amazing creatures. If you have followed my blog much you know we had a spate of birds coming in through a missing piece of mantel last winter. They would fly in, beat themselves senseless against a window, then I could pick them up and turn them loose. Their little hearts would just RACE as I carried them. This quail was not like that, he seemed quite OK with me grabbing him and packing him to the door, it struck me as rather odd. That said, I really have had plenty of chances to have a bird in the hand now and I have a bare lot that needs some major landscaping so if anyone is out there ready to make a swap, word on the street is a bird in the hand is worth two bushes, right? 😁


Thanks for stopping by!

NAMASTE

www.kizoa.com_collage_2018-04-10_08-31-59.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Fun story @fishyculture. I've only lived in California for 12 years so I don't consider myself a Californian yet. Anyway one of the first things you learn in California is that no one is from California. All migrants, immigrants, transplants, transients, pick your term.

Lol! You should hear the Californians that moved here apologize and introduce themselves all at once... I am from Ohio so I get to just sit back and laugh.

I used to love eating those Californians. For some reason my urge to hunt/kill animals has significantly decreased since waking up. Not just because of how much work they are for a tiny breast.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yeah, we are not going back to be vegetarians, but we have been changing the way we eat toward a keto diet. While a lot of people think that is pretty much a carnivore diet that is not at all accurate. You can use eggs to get the bulk of your protein, and if you have a flock of hens and no rooster, you did not kill anything by eating that egg.
There is still the Sacred Hunter, and it deserves honored. We are part of a cycle of life and death and plants are alive too. The vegans piss me off, frankly, with their disregard for plant life. They think they took the high moral road, I think they are deluded about the life and death cycle... lol!
Good to see you posting again, don't be shy to tell me when you post something if I miss it. I am about to sort through my autovotes again, I will add you. It is not much, steemit is way down right now but it is still more than we make on facebook!

I’m trying real hard to focus on all the other benefits of the platform, and not think about the potential income so I don’t get discouraged. Mainly I’ve been trying to get my rep up and just try to use it more. Apps like Partiko certainly help. Your encouragement helps more though!

Also, I’ve been really thinking about Keto. Makes a lot of sense and is what my mom has been preaching for years now (before it had a name). The only thing that makes me skeptical is how mainstream hasn’t tried to demonize it yet!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hah hah! Nice throw :D
He seemed too stupid to figure out where the real window was... and too stupid to be afraid once you snagged him. Oh well, it worked out okay in the end for everybody!

I think he was totally tripped out by "me" coming from both sides, too.

Oh my you had me going for a minute... that was great!!!

Thank you! It is nice to have a fresh audience for an old joke lol!

That's so cool that you caught the bird like that, and then let it go. Nice job! :)

Thanks! He was too scrawny to eat... ;)

"You don't know how lucky you are I've long wanted one of those little feathers"....I'd sit still for you too at that point!....lol.

I must confess, I did wonder if the family would reject him if I just plucked it... but it was not really fully in yet. And no, I really would not have the heart to do it, but they are a cool feather. The adults get a little ball at the end, sort of like a mini peacock feather, that is what I really want... He was saved by his youth lol!

That is a hilarious story. Those darn birds!!!!

Thank you! They are like the "short bus" birds, I swear!

LOL, You had me for a second. I was thinking, what the hell is she talking about. I had to continue reading, so you did an excellent job.

Thank you! We have worn the joke out around here, but I am a cheap date, it still amuses me! Glad you were also amused!

Burrrp
Exscuse me it’s the carbonated soda

Lol! No straw, I hope...

Technically tumble weeds don’t actually tumble, it would have to spin across its horizontal axis in a relative ration to its vertical to actually “tumble”.
-insanity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77