Today We Give Thanks..

in #funny6 years ago

to our old friend Willis Carrier who invented air conditioning in 1902:

air cond inventer imgflip.jpg

actually he didn't invent it for people's houses he invented it to keep
a factory cool for industrial manufacturing purposes, they didn't really
care about the workers back then. But still, he DID invent air conditioning
so I give him credit and am thankful.

It's only supposed to be 105 degrees today. Hey we can handle that. Just
look at our predecessors! I mean the ones before air conditioning, what
did they do about the heat and how did they stay cool?

Well the short answer is..they didn't! lol. they didn't have an alternative
so they didn't know what they were missing out on, everyone just
suffered through it. There were a few ways that the heat could be
lessened though.

For one, you could build an underground house like this dude:

435_dugouthouse.jpg
source: mindfloss.com

that's a swell idea. wouldn't have to worry about washing your windows
anymore and you'd stay cool all summer.

people back then used their front porches to spend alot of their time on,
many times they referred to these as "sleeping porches" because they'd
spend the night at there.

435viewfromporch.jpg
source: mindfloss.com

the buildings were designed with high ceilings so the hot air would rise
up high, sometimes pulled by ceiling fans:

435_ceilingfans.jpg
source: mindfloss

then there were shade trees which people were said to use much more often.
Or, if you didn't have shade trees you could make a redneck shadetree like
these rednecks:

redneck shade tree.jpg

source unknown. somewhere on FB

Or, you had to stay inside you could rig up a redneck air conditioner your
own self:

fanwithicebottles.png

now that's innovation there. source is somewhere on FB

hey remember these old water coolers?

download.jpg

source: wikipedia

But now.. when it comes to your car you can always put in your own
redneck air conditioner because those puny factory jobs just don't
have the power most of the time:

9eaad95356a1eba692a110c98121104f--random-stuff-fun-stuff.jpg

85b2e4f2e8f3f2d44c0a6dcfe33c63c2--redneck-humor-hillbilly.jpg

135822.jpg

redneck air cond.jpg

redneck-diy-car-air-conditioner-300x224.jpg

yd15.jpg
source unknown, all over the internet and FB

those boys know how to do it don't they? hey if this don't give you
some ideas maybe you should just give up! lol.

thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

ps- ya know, you might just be a redneck if:

you think beef jerky and Moon Pies are 2 of the major food groups!

texas-facts.jpg

Sort:  

Thank you Willis Carrier - I did not know about this man janton. I have learned something new today.

thank you angiemitchell and I hope the post made you smile!

Yesterday was "thank an air conditioner" day. Today is open a window and bask in the breeze. God's air conditioner is the best. @ironshield

I do like my air conditioning! I didn't know so many people put full-size units in their cars though. I don't know that I would want to try to cool off under the backhoe either. I don't think it was intended to be used that way. It could break.

Still not a redneck. Nice try though.

oh man!! are you sure you wouldn't take a break under a backhoe if it was 100 degrees outside? dang. foiled twice in one day!

I don't know that I would. I might look for a spot that was in the shade, but not quite under the backhoe. I have this thing about getting squished by heavy machinery. ;)

hahaha! that is a weird quirk to have Mr. noname! very unusual.

Those are some awesome pics.... You might be a redneck if....
BTW, I'm a redneck so I can say that.....

hey @coinsandchains! ahhh! another redneck! I like that, I knew there had to be some more out there. but your office job isn't typical for a redneck is it? I mean it's not in a formal office so that helps, you work out of your home right?
but you do live up in the mountains which really lends itself to being a probable redneck. lol good to see another redneck on here. but I bet you're a gentleman redneck like myself.

Well, let's put it this way, I'm half Texan and half Georgian, I live in the mountains about 5 miles from NC. If you've ever seen the movie Deliverance, they filmed it about 30 minutes from my house. As many people would say around here, "that thar delivunce movie h'aint no joke h'its real"
I've been a Chief Information Officer at a small hospital system before and you are right red neck does not typically cut it in a position like that. It's easier working from home, except most of my contracts at the moment are larger hospitals in PA, NJ. I finished a contract at SMC in San Angelo TX in February. I try to control my accent a bit, but sometimes I just slide into a little hillbilly slang just to see how people react. I guess Hi-tech-redneck.
I hope that I am a gentleman redneck. The kind that stands up when a lady walks in, or holds a door for them, whether they like it or not. The kind who doesn't think it degrading, it's just respectful.

howdy back @coinsandchains! oh my, a verified redneck! lol! I seen the movie Deliverance of course. wow. You are definitely a gentleman, hi-tech redneck! the first thing my wife noticed when we moved here from Ohio, I'm not from Ohio I grew up near Dodge City, KS but we were in OH and she noticed how polite and respectful all the men around here are, it's totally different than up North so that's very true.

Is your work interesting? it sounds like it might be.
thanks so much for getting back to me!

I'm one of the lucky people, I actually love my job. Basically, my hobby since I was little, became my job. Literally, I would and have done similar stuff for free just for fun.
Most of my work is with hospitals, either converting systems or helping them make systems work together/more efficiently.
I ended up landing a paid advisory position with a healthcare blockchain startup, that I'm pretty excited about. lol, I told my wife "holy cow, my name is in a companies White Paper" (she doesn't do crypto so it meant nothing) I also have a meeting later this month with two of the largest Artificial Intelligence companies in the world for a design brainstorming session, which I'm very excited about, but can't really talk about because of Non-Disclosure Agreements.
So Yes I think it's interesting and I'm blessed beyond measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over.

wow wow wow! @coinsandchains! this is so exciting! that's so funny that you excited tell your wife and she's like.."that's nice dear." lol.

The news about the healthcare blockchain and the 2 AI companies is over the top man! jeez . Praise God!
this should be very interesting to follow even if you can't give
details. hey, my wife is interested in investing in blockchain companies but we have no idea how to do that, do you?

Like this healthcare blockchain, that could be a good investment.
thank you sir, this is a great comment and I'm thrilled for you, please keep in touch and let me know how this goes.
God bless you guys over there!

Well. It's tough to invest in a blockchain company when you are a US citizen. Most companies if they are outside the US will not allow us to invest. Then the ones in the US if you don't catch their crowd finding round, you have to be an accredited investor.
I'm thinking of writing a post on it and asking for ideas etc.
There are a couple crowd/ico sites that are good to check. The important thing with these early stage companies, do not invest anything that you cannot afford to lose. 95% will fail, and most of the time you will not recoupe your investment when they do.
Sorry if there are spelling mistakes, I'm typing it on my phone from the airport.

howdy back to ya @coinsandchains! thanks so much for getting back to me and I think there's only one minor spelling mistake!

thanks for the information! where are you flying to?
rednecks don't do much flyin don't ya know? lol

YES..Thank you LORD for AC!!!
I was able to take this picture last year. It was too funny I just HAD to get a picture!
KIMG0245.JPG

lol! oh that's perfect man! so they have rednecks up in your area too huh?
what city was this in?

Actually, the Egyptians are believe to be the first. They hung soaked reeds in their windows, so that the air passing through would be cooler and increase the humidity some.

Love some of these other "modern" alternatives though, Jon!

the Egyptians?? I'm surprised it wasn't the Chinese!
that sounds very smart though. When I was a kid one of our old neighbors who was also a farmer had this old, ancient, funny looking old water jug. We had the plastic kind of course.

But he had this old jug that was just a one gallon glass jug and it was wrapped in brown rough cloth like what we used to call a gunny sack, not sure why but that's what we called them, used to buy seeds or grain in those types of old cloth sacks. like sack cloth! ha.

anyways all he did was wet down those thick layers of cloth and the evaporation would keep it cool all day. where ours, once the ice ran out it got hot! plus, he could always recharge his by re-soaking the jug.

same principle as what those Egyptians were doing, pretty clever.

Indeed! Water is the most amazing and versatile substance imaginable.

Hi Janton. I know rednecks are nuts but some of those contraptions are beyond that. The smartest one there is the house underground. I am not a fan of the air con even living in Africa. After a while you just get used to the heat.

lol! yeah the redneck "fixes" are something else! are you saying that you don't use the air conditioning there? how hot does it get there?

The top two food groups on my chart! :D

We used a swamp cooler when I was a kid, then they added Lake Keystone, and the humidity went up too high for them to work any more.

Ironic that the new land is out by the same lake....

sir smithlabs you're going to have to translate this one for me. what is a swamp cooler and what is Lake Keystone and and what same lake, Keystone, that's where you're moving right? but that's the only thing I understood about that comment. I know it's me not you.

A swamp cooler is an Evaporative cooler that pulls air through excelsior pads with water running over them. The evaporation lowers the air temperature in the house. When the hydroelectric plant was built in the 1960s the local humidity climbed, and the swamp coolers, stopped cooling, since evaporation stopped..

Keystone lake is 20 miles west of Tulsa, it is v shaped with the North leg 50 miles long, and the south about 40 miles long. The new land is on the north bank of the north leg, about half way up. :D

oh ok.. when I was a kid we had a window unit that we called a water cooler, I think it had a garden hose attached to it, does that sound right, and it had a drum fan. wasn't real cold but it was comfortable.

the lake property is going to be great! does it have Asian Carp yet? lol

You nailed it! That was a swamp cooler. I put tadpoles in it once, but my Mom was NOT happy when a frog got into the house.... :)

I am SO thankful for air conditioning! Growing up, we lived in an old house (it was well over 100 years old when I was a teen) and my mom 'didn't believe in' getting air conditioning, because she thought it just made your body acclimate to being cold so you'd never want to go outside. Now as a MOM, I can see how she dreaded the thought of us kids wanting to be inside all of the time, but still.

I remember how mad I was when she finally got central air, the year after I moved out! :/

Then living on the boat in the Bahamas, there was no AC and it was miserable in the summer. At least we had gorgeous views, but man, it got SO hot that we just moved as little as possible whenever we were out of the water and we were always covered in a sheen of sweat. I wished for AC so bad, but since we lived on solar power, we really wouldn't have had the electricity to run it anyway, then it would have been even more frustrating! :)

Great post as usual!

lol! howdy there @byn..so you're saying that your mom didn't get central air because that forced you kids outside? lol. that's pretty smart.
on the boat, that was a sail boat so you had little power..never thought of the heat. well I guess I won't be quite so envious now!

I like the photos! Yup, go lay in a creek in the shade. That's my solution to no air conditioning. I am thankful for the invention as well. Without it, I would be living in a cave.

lol! what if you were stuck on the plains? you'd have to dig out a house like that one guy did!

I think I would go the redneck route and half bury an old school bus and set up the inside like a camper.

yes that would be a good plan for hot temperatures as well as protection from storms..
as long as you had the drainage going away from the bus!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76