Creepy Dolls & Toys: Museum of Childhood, Edinburgh Scotland

in #funny6 years ago (edited)

When you wake up suddenly in the night to the sound of thunder, are you comforted by the sight of your loving little doll babies staring right back at you? Does it relax you to see their calming little faces? Are you reminded that you are in a safe place?

IMG_5185.jpg
Hi there! Wanna be friends?

If you answered yes to any of the above questions, then you should visit the Museum of Childhood in Edinbugh Scotland. There are a lot of toys in there, but I find the ones from the 1800s and early 1900s to be the most fascinating. This was clearly a time before Walt Disney taught the world what cute looked like.

Pretty much everything in this room was horrifying!

IMG_5181.jpg
Think of all the fun we will have together!

When you look at these old dolls, you can see a clear lack of understanding as to what is cute vs what may induce a panic attack. Of course, I am looking at it with a modern eye. It's very possible that children in those days, having nothing to compare them too thought that they were quite lovely.

IMG_5182.jpg
I am just a normal fun loving clown. Play with me!

I have noticed this same issue is a lot of really old paintings and sculpture. The subjects that are meant to be children just look like adults in small bodies. Often they have gnarly adult hands and feet. I have been told that this is because they had to use adult models when creating the babies.

Maybe the old dolls are like that for a similar reason. It just seems to me when looking at this things that the creators have never actually even looked at a child.

IMG_5178.jpg
Hey buddy, just open that glass door. We will have so much fun together.

Some of the toys and puzzles looked kind of fun. This was not much different than some of the stuff I played with when I was a kid. Well, until I got my Atari 800xl!

IMG_5187.jpg
Who wouldn't love a Schwede?

IMG_5186.jpg
Smile and wave to the peasants!

IMG_5188.jpg
Unnecessarily complicated Lincoln Logs

Clearly the creator of this next toy was visited by aliens from Beta Reticula. His repressed experiences manifest through his art. Poor guy.

IMG_5180.jpg
Tell everyone! No one will believe you, human.

Of course the toy that took first prize in my opinion was this awesome meat market. I just really did not know how to feel about this. It is certainly funny when you look at how things have changed in such a short time period, relatively speaking.

IMG_5190.jpg
This makes me oddly uncomfortable

Below is a quick video clip I did while scanning the room. I never really expected to put it only anywhere so it's a bit shaky. But please check it out, there is much more weirdness to be seen to help make you uneasy. Enjoy!

Sort:  

Ah ah man you're a genious writer I can't stop reading your posts lol ;D I'm happy I discovered your channel!

Thanks! I am glad you are enjoying my madness.

Hahaha! Vsry lovely dolls you have clicked there mate! Lovely ones, scary ones, creepy ones and evil ones! lol ! And that creator who have been visited by the aliens... Lol! 'Tell everyone! No one will believe you, human!' Hilarious! I specially love that Japanese toys with small evil eyes, never saw such creepy toy figures before. In my childhood i used to play with toy cars, puzzles and specially with balls. So had less interest in toys, thought they are for girls... Bt after looking in your post, gaining some interest... I should buy some marvel collectible figures for decoration. Stay well mate and keep posting!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, I'm glad you liked them. This place had some seriously creepy looking toys in it. I didn't take any pictures, but in the room next door there is a fake classroom with no one in it. All you can hear is a recording of kids singing nursery rhymes. I have no idea what the point is, except to scare the crap out of visitors. haha

Lol.... Did u caught the video of that room?

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for sharing . My how times have changed. Those dolls are creepy, certainly not ones for children. I did not feel good about the meat market but have seen that scene for real many yrs. ago.

Oh yeah, I have seen markets like that too. Just thought it was a bizarre choice for a toy! :)

I will need to resteem your post😁 I think old toys designers really hated children🤡 ihihih... also most vintage cartoons were so creepy!😱

Haha, I think maybe they did hate children. Or maybe they just enjoyed scaring the crap out of them!

Very interesting exhibits! Great post!

It was certainly interesting. Thanks!

Beautiful all doll pictures nice blog

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for looking, my friend!

I enjoyed this post so Resteemed! ;D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28