Mr Jinx (Funny Relationship Experience Challenge)

in #funnyexperience6 years ago (edited)

Hey, people! Today's post is an entry to another challenge. This time I was nominated by our @samminator for his:

Funny Relationship Experience Challenge

What is it about? Bring back one of the funniest memories from a past relationship of yours. And here we go...


Image from: pexels.com

Mr Jinx

Some years ago, it should have been 2014 or 2015, I believe it was in 2015, yes! Let's go back to the summer of 2015 when @ruth-girl was still into a very complex and somehow toxic relationship, which had started in her university years, with Mr Jinx (and no, this is not me being mean, he was the incarnation of bad luck, you can go ask all his friends!).

This relationship had turned into a distance relationship, because once you get your degree, you have to return to your hometown and for a long time we had a relationship over the phone (you could not get anything more platonic than that). He finally decides that he can visit me for a weekend (it must have been more than 3-4 months that we hadn't seen each other) and he comes to my town on a Saturday afternoon. My friends didn't like him so much and kept telling me I shouldn't have invited him, but I was like, "Oh, let's give it another shot, we had been through so much together. You never know".

So, he comes and we go to our hotel room (actually, it was one of those cheap rooms to let a family friend owns and let us stay for one night) and I suggest going out for dinner, but noooo! He has to leave me all by myself for 3 hours, because he has a video call with his partner for their master's project. Poor Ruthie ends up alone by the beach (did I mention it was a seaside resort we were staying at? No? Well, I just did, so don't bitch about it). I was bored and angry like hell, but since I had no other choice I had to wait. The online meeting was finally over, we managed to have dinner and a beer out and then headed back to our room to get some sleep, because I was supposed to drive him to another nearby sea resort the other day (τρομάρα μου). Note also that it was a twin room, which means that we slept on separate beds (how romantic is this?).

Sunday morning comes and we wake up, have breakfast and talk like two good friends. I head to the bathroom to put my swimsuit on. I have taken my pants off, I am ready to change and from the mirror I get some weird movement behind me. I turn back and I see a HUGE black rat climbing up the wall and getting lost through a hole on the ceiling!! 

Half naked I ran into the room, unable to speak for a few seconds. Then I explain what had just happened. He tries to calm me down. I get dressed. We pack our things and leave. I called that family friend and told her about the not so cute guest that sneaked into the bathroom and she spent the rest of the day disinfecting the whole place with bleach!

Back to Ruth and Mr Jinx, I drive to that other resort. We get there and being a summer Sunday, finding a parking space was slightly harder than finding water at the desert! After searching for quite a while, dehydration was hitting critical levels (I was actually bathing in my own sweat - gross, I know) and we find some free parking space (Hallelujah!). But! The ground there was covered with gravel. I was worried that we might get stuck, but lots of cars were parked one next to the other there and we figured it was safe. Guess... We figured wrong! 

Once the front wheels sank into the gravel all efforts were in vain! The car was stuck! The sweat was running in rivers! The sun was burning like a stove! I was cursing my bad luck (basically my bad choices) and hated myself for having to admit to my friends that this guy was a disaster for me (I was deaf and blind when they told me that). Two other guys (I think they were a couple) had also got their car stuck a few minutes before and were already waiting for the towing service. A few other good men tried to help us get the car out, but without any luck. I was on the verge of having a nervous breakdown, because nothing seemed to work and I did not have the courage to tell my father that I got the car stuck some 30 kilometers away from home. 

And right there, the moment I was ready to give up to my fate, that god-sent guy appeared! An air of confidence blew around the scene, "Do you mind if I try?" he asked me, "Not at all. Please do." I told him. He got in, started the engine, got Mr Jinx and two other men to push and within less than a minute my car was freed! He was my superhero and I was ready to ask him to marry me, I would ask his wife to exchange him with Mr Jinx and she could keep the children, we were going to make new ones later.

I felt so numb after all that, that we went to the beach, had a swim and a cold coffee to try and relax. A couple of hours later, we picked the car and headed back home. Needless to say the car would sound like a rattle for days after that and it would leave little pebbles back, just like another Hop-on-My-Thumb (the embarrassment was beyond words).

And what about Mr Jinx? Well, I took him to the bus station and sent him back to his mum and dad. 

My friends suggested exorcism after I told them what had happened. I hated that I had to agree with them!


I may have exaggerated at some points just for the sake of making the story more humorous, but the rat and car incidents are 100% true! I hope I gave you a good laugh with this one. And no, it is not the bitter ex that presents him as a carrier of bad luck. I even feel bad for feeding him all my disaster recipes back in the days when we lived together (perhaps I should tell you about it some other time). But just so you know, this guy (and his parents) truly are a family of hoodoos, I got stories Mr Jinx told me to justify my words!



Nomination time:

I have to ask for 7 other people to take part in this (if they wish too, of course):

  1. @trumpman
  2. @dimitrisp
  3. @mariossap
  4. @eliakon
  5. @imaginedragon
  6. @doomsdaychassis
  7. @snarksnark

Are you ready to share some of your old sweethearts' funniest memories?

Rules of the challenge:

  • Write the funniest experience you've had in your past relationship. Try to make it very funny. You can spicen it up with some fictions too.
  • Use the #funnyexperience tag
  • Nominate 7 people to do the same

Thank you @samminator for nominating me!


Thank you so much for your time!

Until my next post,
Steem on and keep smiling, people!

Sort:  

LOL OMG I am still laughing. That was horrible and the rat would have had me running out of the room. EWWW!!! Thank you for the nomination but my stories would be of eroded and that would get me into trouble ;)

It was horrible!! The whole weekend was just... let's say that it was a setback festival! :P

Hehe! No worries! You can always turn it into some "fiction" not at all inspired by real life events ;)

I can imagine :) It always happens that way though, what we think will be a great, romantic weekend turns into hell. Then weekends you don't even remotely consider turn into great memories. It is weird how it works.

Yes I could :) Can I kill him in the end? :)

Exactly! You can never tell...

LOL!! You are the writer, it's your fiction after all :P

Never know lol :P

lel

Omg Ruthie; this is so hilarious :)

he was the incarnation of bad luck

Lol, this got me laughing so hard.

About the rat; that must have been a very weird sight.

I even feel bad for feeding him all my disaster recipes back in the days when we lived together (perhaps I should tell you about it some other time).

Maybe you'll give us some gist about that later. We'd be glad to hear the story :)

Thanks for honouring my nomination @ruth-girl

I'm glad I gave you a good laugh @samminator! And thank you for the nomination, it was really fun! :D

LOL marvellous experience!!

My friends suggested exorcism after I told them what had happened. I hated that I had to agree with them!

hahah exorcism is always a good idea in such cases!!

Thank you so much for nominating me!! I will think about a funny memory and accept the challenge! (It would be easier though to write about the nasty ones as I have plenty of them :P )

Just nasty? Come on! You will think of something (or at least turn nasty into something) hilarious!!
I'll be waiting! :D

thanks for nominating me! i didn't ever have a funny experience...
just a "lucky" experience like this one...

Oooh! X_x

Hilarious
Especially the part where you wished to exchange your super-hero with Mr jinx
Totally funny
I will try this out too

Thanks! That guy was my hero back then! He saved me from my father's anger :P
You should! Have fun! :)

Hello, Ruth! You made my mood for this day!
The episode with a swimsuit is very good!

Hey there!! Happy to offer smiles all around!!
Perhaps you should write something from your past :P

The dude must have been gay. Call me a pig but I ain't staying in a hotel room with a pretty girl and not trying to get laid. One of those twin beds is going to be still perfectly made, the other one......... well I am sorry housekeeping lady.

You are better off without him. Find someone who wants to be with you and values you.

I wouldn't say gay, not much of a high libido was the problem... Oh, well let bygones be bygones.

I need to catch up with what you got on that challenge ;)

You are awesome as always and its an amazing story and after reading the story it was so amazing to see how you took that man(I mean the man who magically solved your problem) in just in few lines you made him the strongest character in the story of course after you :D I still remember the first post I read in steemstem was yours if I am not mistaken the title was did you watch today's supermoon. I am really a great fan of your writing mam and you are the one who commented and upvoted my post about the unsolved proof of 200 years for steemstem and that made me so happy :) thanks for that it meant a lot ;)

Thank you so much for those lovely words @rifkan!! I am really flattered and humbled by your comment! And it feels nice to hear that you remember my old posts!
Thank you once again! :D

Thanks to you really, because you changed my idea about this platform, you are the one who really upvote for me on my post after a lots of failure of mine. So, I never lost hope :)

I laugh a lot at your story,in italy we have a name for this kind of person " iettatore" it means that if you get close to them they give you unlucky stuff and bad things happens. XD Luckily you send him back to his parents! I will do this challenge too, it's really too funny! So thank you for sharing i love reading and writing about relationships! =)

Thanks!! Yes, I sent him back and life got me someone else ;)
It's nice to hear that you're taking part! Have fun! :D

Poor fella :(

No he is actually quite "rich" ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73