Introduction

in #future5 years ago (edited)

Hi there. This will be my first blog, ever, and would like to use it as a means of introduction. My real name doesn't really matter now because my username pretty much describes who I am and is all you really need to know.
I am not a blog person, at all, but my good friend, who is also a member of the Steemit community, (Hi Eugene!) suggested, or more like bullied me, into start my own blog and document my journey of learning to grow in my uncertain and indecisive world. We'll see in time whether this was a good push :)
A little about myself. I live in a small town with my family. I have 4 older brothers whom I love very much, but whom I don't get to see regularly as everyone lives their own lives. It's rather sad that we don't get together more often. BUT, that is something I will be trying to change in the months to come. Hold thumbs for me, will ya?
Both my parents are well and happy together, which is fantastic as it's so easy to give up these days, like one of my brothers already had, and the other seems to be going in the same direction. It's heartbreaking and probably the biggest reason I don't want to get married or have children. Or at this point at least.
But my parents have been going strong for 44 years now, so I'm pretty sure they'll be going all the way. I admire their support for one another which was, in my opinion, one of their main objectives since I can remember.
We come from another small town but when I was in high school my dad had to close down his business and sell his house, our beautiful great big house, but fortunately we had an alternative and moved to the coast, a smaller town, a smaller house, a better quality of life. We've been here for 18 years. The company that he is running now has very good prospects, but it is unfortunately struggling a bit.
After high school I went to work in the UK for 2 years. Loved the experience. I would recommend anyone to do that. You grow and learn so much about yourself and learn to become dependent, because mom and dad are nowhere near to help you out of a mess. Or well, in those days it wasn't that easy. I suppose with technology these days everything can be sorted via cellphones. How small the world has gotten...
When I returned, I worked at my dad's shop for 3 years, pursued a career in Interior decorating with another company for about 7-8 months, then returned to my dad's for a further 2 years. In 2011 I started my own business as an interior decorator. I did really well but had only done it for one year. My fears of failing had started to set in and preferred a job where I was certain of an income. I was not/am not bold enough to make it work. My choices were always safe because I didn't want to make any mistakes, just to realize later on that not wanting to make mistakes, and giving up, was my biggest mistake. It also frustrated me how non-decorators can pick out anything and put it together and make it work. I studied for it and when I did it, it looked like crap. So, my confidence was challenged often. I was 26 at the time. I don't regret not doing it anymore, but I am grateful for that year.
In 2012 I approached a company who had just started up, and where I am from, in this little town, finding a good job in a great company is very hard. So, I took the liberty of contacting the project manager who gave me a job two days later. I had done some work for them as a decorator the previous year, and he had done work with my dad for the previous company he had worked for, so at least I knew him a little bit.
Fast forward 6 and a half years, I am now between jobs. I have done a few courses, also encouraged by my dear friend (thanks Eugene!), of which some of them were graphic design courses. I love drawing and creating things. I'm very bad at it. And frustrations of not being able to jot down what I have in my mind is getting the better of me! So much to learn, so little patience!
But there is so much to chat about regarding the past 6 and a half years, so I think I will talk in more detail about that in future blogs :). This introduction was probably a bit longer than it needed to be. But thanks for taking the time to get to know a little about me.
Chat soon!

Sort:  

Hello, the-overthinker, you're welcome. Keep going and enjoy it.

Hi there. Thank you for the motivation :)

Es bueno ver como día a día crece nuestra comunidad, Saludos desde Venezuela.

Gracias por incluirme en la comunidad. Todo lo mejor para usted

Welcome the-overthinker!
eSteem is the application that improves your experience here. We have Mobile application for Android and iOS users. We also have developed Surfer Desktop application that helps you to gain new followers and stay connected with your friends, unique features - notifications, bookmarks, favorites, drafts, and more.
We reward our users with encouragement upvotes as well as monthly giveaways rewarding Spotlight top users and active Discord users.
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Welcome to Steem the-overthinker! Partiko is officially the fastest and most popular mobile app for Steem. Unlike other Steem apps, we take 0% cut of your earnings! You can also be rewarded with Partiko Points while using Partiko and exchange Partiko Points for upvotes!

Partiko for Android can be downloaded here on Google Play and the iOS version is available here on the App Store.

If you have more questions, feel free to join our Discord channel and ask @crypto.talk, we're always here to help!

Thank you so much for your interest!

Hi, Welcome to the amazing world of Blogging and Sharing on Steem Blockchain. Make sure to post only Original content and avoid all kind of plagarism.
Keep your patience and faith to get success here. Also make sure to engage and contribite to Community development. Commenting is best part to get involve. Hope you have a happy stay.....Steem On!
Thanks
@steemflow

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the tips! And for taking the time to read my blog. All the best!

Welcome to steemit @the-overthinker.

  • Join @minnowsupport project for more help
  • Checkout @helpie for daily trivias and useful information
  • Join @qurator a good quality support project
  • Checkout @steembasicincome
  • Help us save the forest with @treeplanter
    Follow me @tuanis for random votes daily please checkout the report
    Welcome the new steemians. Have a great day!

Hi, Welcome to the steemit platform. Hope you can have fun here. Please follow me and if you need help, I will help you.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks very much. Will give you a shout if I need help :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82