A Common Mistake From Keto Practitioners!!

in #gallerani6 years ago

The ketogenic diet is known for being a low-carb diet that is high in fat. Many people often mistake the diet though for being a low-carb, high-fat and high-protein diet.

In reality, keto dieters need to watch their protein intake and instead of considering it a high-protein diet, we should consider it to be a moderate protein diet!

When I first started keto dieting I made the mistake of eating far too much protein. In the past, when I would do "normal" macro diet routines - moderate carbs, high protein, and low-moderate fat - I would eat about 220g of protein per day (weighing between 180-210 lbs at 6"1).

I lost some weight in the beginning of the diet - the first couple weeks - but then I noticed a plateau forming. I wasn't able to break through and lose weight after about 5-7lbs of weight loss.

I did a lot of research to try and figure out what went wrong and I discovered a lot of interesting information about protein intake.

When you're on the ketogenic diet, you're eating high-fat and low-carb which will induce a state of ketosis - when your body burns primarily ketones for fuel instead of glucose.

However, this process can be interrupted if you consume too much protein because of a process known as gluconeogenesis.

Gluconeogenesis is a metabolic process by which the body converts non-carbohydrate substances into glucose in an attempt to avoid low blood-glucose levels and protect the body from harm.

Consuming a diet that is too rich in protein will cause the body to convert the "extra" protein into glucose and will knock you out of ketosis.

By being knocked out of ketosis, your body will have a harder time producing ketones and thus, will burn less of the fat that is on your body and being consumed in your diet.

This can cause a sort of backfire effect for people on a diet that is rich in fat because all that fat that you're consuming will be harder and harder to burn with the more protein that you eat.

"Moderate Protein" can fit many definitions ranging from person to person. There are so many factors that influence how much protein is too much. For me, 180g is about the most protein I can eat without being knocked out of ketosis.

I like to keep my protein in the range of 160-170g per day while in ketosis to play it safe. When I'm not on a keto diet though (when I'm on a "normal" person diet) I eat in the range of 210-220g of protein per day because my body is running primarily on glucose instead of ketones!


Sort:  

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 10 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

You got a 52.35% upvote from @upme thanks to @gallerani! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Very nice article thanks for the healthy tips

thank you! I'm glad you thought so!

Thanks. Your post has taught me a lot..
I won't forget Gluconeogenesis-the metabolic conversion of non-carbohydrate substances into glucose. There are so many other things I've learnt from you.
Thanks.

I'm glad you learned some good stuff! Thanks for reading!

thank you so so much for this article, see the thing is my cousin is also trying to lose weight, she is taking Ketogenic diet. She has a diet plan and all but in the beginning it worked but now its not working out anymore. I will now inform her about this Gluconeogenesis process

Keto can definitely work if it's done properly! Exercise will help a lot as well!

Thanks for the information. I have heard so much of the keto diet but never quite understood it. I think my initial skepticism was because of those I knew who claimed to be using this method but were practically still the same weight and size.
Your post has opened my eyes to why they often failed when using this method. Thanks for the insight though

Thanks for reading it!! Keto is great for some, it's always good to try and fail a little until you find what works!

Excellent post, greetings.

thank you!! greetings to you too!

Thanks for reading it!! Keto is great for some, it's always good to try and fail a little until you find what works!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10