Gamedev blog : My progress making a game for a game jam - Sandwich Thrower - 001

in #gamedev6 years ago

The game was made to join the Butterscotch ShenaniJam 2018

coverimage.png

My progress: I create enemy in the game - enemy can shoot sandwich - player and enemy can die - if both die, the player still win - and create start screen - create music and put it into the game - export the game - submit the game - sleep - write a steemit blog.

sandwichthrower3.gif
Sometime you don't understand what is going on but it's okay since it was my intent.

Link to the game: https://vhhau.itch.io/sandwich-thrower
Link to the game entries of other people that after looking at these I even want to withdraw my game: https://itch.io/jam/bscotch2018/entries

After seeing the three themes: I see the word sandwich so I make this game. Actually I intend to make the player sticky after getting hit by the sandwich but it's a pain and I don't have time for that. 48 hours jam. Yay!

The Achievements( for fun):

  1. Gameboy - Your game only uses 8-bit soundfx and is in the classic gameboy 4-color green palette.
  2. Mozart - compose your own music.
  3. Maverick - Your team size is 1.

Some little description:

This is a 4 color game (using gameboy original colour pallette) in which you pick up sandwich and throw them at your enemy.
The sandwich will expire so don't get surprise when the sandwich almost reach the enemy and disappear.
The player will have 2 life and it refill in the new scene while the enemy only have 1.
Sometime you don't understand what is going on but it's okay since it was my intent.

Questions I ask I answer:

  1. Why the game looks ugly? - I don't want to answer.
  2. Is it even playable? -Yes ...
  3. Why when I pick the sandwich I die? - If the enemy just throws the sandwich, and it's still moving. You take the sandwich mean you take the hit.
  4. Why did I even make this game? ...

Instruction:

Arrow/WSDA : move character
Spacebar: pick, throw(if you are holding the sandwich press spacebar again to throw)
R: reload game.

The game was made using Godot Engine, Bfxr for audio, beepbox.co for bgm, pixilart for sprite.

Thanks for playing/reading and sorry for my bad english.

Sort:  

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vhhau from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hah, great job! I just had a bit of fun with that game myself! I made a few "historical" gaming posts about noteworthy titles released in certain years (1991 and 1999 so far) and your game reminds me of some wtf Japanese NES games from early 90's :)
Would be cool to see some more!

oh. yes. and thanks for playing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66274.97
ETH 3175.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06