Unboxing the Warhammer 40,000 Kill Team Starter Set

in #games6 years ago (edited)

Yup, I bit the proverbial bullet and bought the new Kill Team Starter Set. Come along and see what's inside!

20180808_170119.jpg

This box is big. It is four times the volume of the past edition box, and twice the MSRP. More on the comparison with the old product will be in a future post. If this kind of smaller-scale scifi skirmish game is up your alley though, the new set is a far better value for your money.

20180808_173510.jpg

20180808_173520.jpg

Beneath the box lid is a sheet of heavy paper with the Kill Team logo on one side and a poster featuring the box cover art on the other. Removing this reveals a huge pile of plastic components.

20180808_173543.jpg

The first major perk to note is that everything is molded in colored plastic rather than the standard GW grey. While some assembly is most definitely required, this game is completely playable after that without any painting whatsoever. If you want to paint it, though, it should take paint just as well as any other GW plastic mini.

20180808_173724.jpg

These are the same frames of components as the Adeptus Mechanicus Skitarii Rangers/Vanguards kit, normally a $39 item on its own. All prices noted will be in U.S. dollars, by the way. Check the site links to convert to your currency. The red plastic, as noted earlier, is a nice way to color-code the army out of the box. In Kill Team, there is no reason not to have some Rangers and some Vanguard in a combined arms squad.

20180808_173757.jpg

This Genestealer Cult Neophyte Hybrid kit retails on its own for $40, and includes a wide range of weapon options and upgrade items to customize the team. This plastic is a lighter shade of grey than most GW kits.

There are many tan plastic frames of terrain components that should allow construction of a very nicely varied game table, and of course they are also perfect for inclusion in larger games as well. They all feature the technology combined with imposing gothic architecture and numerous skulls that defines the aesthetic of the Imperium of Man.

20180808_173854.jpg

There are three of these sets of ruined walls and columns.

20180808_173940.jpg

There are two of these frames featuring floor panels and more ruined walls.

20180808_174008.jpg

There are also two sets if these relatively intact walls and columns.

20180808_174032.jpg

And lastly, there is an imposing gateway absolutely covered with the relief sculptures of Imperial insignia and slogans. After that, it's just a repeat of the poster that covered the top of these plastic sprues...

20180808_174119.jpg

But wait, there's more!

20180808_174647.jpg

That second poster concealed the actual game part of this set! There is a massive 208-page perfect-bound soft-cover rule book ($40 MSRP), faction rule booklets with background fluff, a quick-start guide, and assembly instructions!

20180808_174329.jpg

There is also a clear plastic range ruler, ziplock-style bags to contain stuff, bases for all the minis, data cards, universal tactics cards, and faction tactics cards plus a set of dice.

20180808_174708.jpg

And beneath all that is a sturdy cardboard fold-out play mat and punch-out tokens!

All told, this definitely feels like a complete product that should play well right out of the box, at least after some assembly for your customized squad. While the included armies aren't a perfect balance, some wargear options or omitting a solder on one side or the other should allow a balanced game quite easily. The $130 price tag is not cheap, but the retail price of the minis, rule book, and dice add up to almost that much on their own, and this includes a LOT of terrain and other extras in a surprisingly sturdy box, and all of that would probably add up to nearly the MSRP again on their own too.

All told, I think this is a superb game if you are looking to explore the grim darkness of the far future where there is only war. Keep an eye out though for future posts where I plan to compare this to its predecessor and a competitor from another game company. And as always, I apologize for typos or formatting errors that result from composing this on my phone!

Click here to see the product page from Games Workshop.

Sort:  

This is a fantastic breakdown, a product review without rival. This well written, well photographed review makes me dream of the day when we search the steem blockchain for product reviews before buying!

THank you jacob! I can't wait to see you play with it! Will you be painting first or will you get a round in out of the box? I always play a round plain because I can't wait!

I plan to try for a game with a friend using my existing Ork models and his Nids. I love the assembly part of the projext, but I am a slow painter. I expect more real progress over winter to be honest. My time scale is pretty long here.

I'll be waiting for more photos!

I agree, these games are fun and a nice change from the fast passed tech life of todays age. I've played a table top game over a month or more, longer even than Risk!

Winter is a great time for painting. Thank you for sharing!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hi jacobtothe,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Very good unboxing! i made the review on spanish! fun that i have many of the miniatures this brings

let me show mi classic kill team of the DEATHWATCH @jacobtothe

pic2053204_md.jpg

DAKKA DAKKA WAAAAGH!!!

also i do have a "kill team" like the one they are selling. my REGGAETORKS!
@jacobtothe do you have a kill team yet?

20140118_145923.jpg

Not yet, but my Ork army has plenty of minis to make one. I plan to start painting these minis soon, and I have a lot of Mantix minis I plan to play as proxies for Guard. If I can get a half-dozen 100-point armies ready to play, I can supply troops for anyone in a small skirmish.

don´t forget to share please! pictures of the miniatures and the battles! :D

1891116_10153786287010618_201376250_n.jpg

Especially the battles!

i shall do a Battle Dlive with my killteam :D @ecoinstant @jacobtothe

12717551_10156434851830618_7571565250490000059_n.jpg

I am following you just for that! I will make sure I follow you on Dlive too.

Amigo, veo que en Colombia no he encontrado a nadie que entiende los juegos como estos. Ud tiene un grupo o algo alla en Venezuela?

That looks like a massive undertaking to get the game rolling. I'm sure once it's complete and you've read the game book it will give you hours of enjoyment. Enjoy your new game and thanks for sharing!

Fortunately, assembly and painting to customize a squad or army is part of the fun!

Fabulous unboxing! And I have to say, all of those minatures waiting to be assembled have me itching to reach for my little pots of enamel paint and my brushes. And oooh those background sections of arches and pillars... I'm not sure I'd ever get around to actually playing, I'd be having far too much fun with the paint job ;)

Congratulations on your Curie vote- awesome post.
E x

Enamel paints? I am a devotee of acrylics. THIS MEANS WAR!!!!

But seriously, thanks!

Couldn't wrap my head around how you play with those. I've been a fan of the Warhammer 40k ever since my cousin introduced me to Lexicanum wiki and his Dawn of War campaigns with Blood Ravens.By fan, I just enjoy reading the stories and the interrelated facts about the Warhammer universe. Seems like a lot of work to assemble but I've seen a lot of fan photos to know it's going to be worth it the effort. Good luck and have fun!

A lot of 40K fans are only in it for the fluff or to see fan creations. Have you seen the If the Emperor Had a Text-to-Speech Device parody series? It is a bit vulgar, but absolutely hilarious. Turn Signals on a Land Raider is a great webcomic, too.

Honestly, nope. I've been engrossed with the lexicanum readings that other awesome content related to the 40K went off my radar. Thanks for the links, will check them out as soon as I get off from work. :D

This kill team is a game I had not really known.
You know my favourite game is fifa. I love playing that ball, dribbles and passes into the net, with dotmond being my best fifa team.

But now I need to see how this kill game feels. Am seeing in a lot of well designed materials that all together make the board.
Thanks for the post.

If you like sports, you might prefer Blood Bowl. It's loosely based on American NFL football or Rugby football, but with players trying to kill one another. There are miniatures and rules to represent most races in fantacy settings. Orcs, elves, humans, dwarves, etc.

Wow. That sounds much creative.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87