King Holy.....

in #games6 years ago

I don't think this is what you think it is...especially since it is being posted on a Sunday.
Let me explain.

download.png

Years ago we used to camp as a large family (at times there were around 50 of us) in a place that had only running water at our disposal, for the Easter holidays. Being in a stranger person free natural area with no phones, no malls, no TV or any modern comforts it made great time to keep yourself busy with loves ones in simple ways, staring at the Bush TV (fire), collecting wood, hiking and simple games.
One of those games is King Holy.

This is a simple game where there are 3 or more holes dug into the ground (can be 3m to 10m apart - preference) and each contestant gets themselves a stone(preferably flat) to use as their sports equipment.
The objective is simple, get the stone into each hole consecutively and then back again before your opponents do, each person taking their turn.
If you get your stone into a hole, you can throw again. If you 'bounce' or touch an opponents stone, you can throw again.
Simple as that.

Great fun! Kids love it, parents kinda like it.....

I had to teach my kids the game to keep the tradition going. I would love it if in 100 years time there are still king holy games happening in the family somewhere.

Perhaps the below video explains it better than the above description.
And 'scuse the slippers....was just enjoying a lazy Sunday afternoon with my kiddos.

Sort:  

Awesome memories! Next you have to teach them about Skop Die Blik. You have enough space and trees...

Yes I agree!! They will run me ragged though haha

I wish I had known that game when I was a kid.

Man they love it. Simple but great fun for us old people too

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.035
BTC 66739.07
ETH 3228.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23