Zelda Homage Knightin’+ Launches on Steam

in #games5 years ago

My favorite Zelda games were the overhead ones, such as the first game on the Nintendo NES and A Link to the Past on the Super Nintendo. While I the first one I ever beat was The Adventure of Link, I was much more enthralled with the third entry. Over the years I have tried to enjoy the 3D entries but just couldn’t connect with them. That is why I am so interested in Knightin’+, which has just launched on Steam for a very reasonable price.
knightin steam zelda clone.jpg

Generic story okays looting and destruction of the enemy


The story for Knightin’+ is generic and is not going to give anyone flashbacks to their favorite Game of Thrones moments. You control Sir Lootalot who is on a quest to loot dangerous dungeons. That is it.

As I said, it is just there to okay the slaughter of the dungeon denizens and the taking of their belongings. Putting it that way makes Knightin’+ sound harsh. If you think about it, any dungeon crawler at its base element is this. At least here, the publisher is not trying to make you feel all good and fuzzy for your actions.

I can respect that.

The best form of flattery…

To look at Knightin’+ screenshots on Steam you would be hard pressed to pick another title as inspiration other than Nintendo’s classic. The viewpoint is almost identical, graphically very similar, and gameplay is almost spot on.

I am not knocking Knightin’+ for pulling quite a bit from The Legend of Zelda franchise, at least the earlier entries. Just pointing out a few of the many similarities for fans. If I had to pick a Zelda title as inspiration, I would go with A Link to the Past.

Fans of Zelda will be right at home


Judging by the available content, Knightin’+ should be on the wishlist of any Legend of Zelda fan. I plan on reviewing this one later so keep an eye out for that review.

For now, check out the Knightin’+ on Steam and support companies that support the hobby we all love that way we can get more cool games.

Hit up eBay for some deals on Legend of Zelda. Or if you prefer, grab some Legend of Zelda goodness on Amazon. It costs you nothing extra but your purchase helps us keep the lights on here at Retro Gaming Magazine.

This article was originally published on Retro Gaming Magazine, a gaming website I own.

Sort:  

Sup Dork?!? Enjoy the Upvote!!! Keep up with the dorky content for more love!!!

as simplistic as this game is I really think i would very much enjoy this game. Zelda was my first gaming love afterall. I will almost certainly end up buying this :) Good find!

I am planning on dropping a purchase on this later this week so I can enjoy it next weekend. I discovered it too late to grab it this weekend and play (and my weekdays are horribly convoluted leaving little free time).

It does look quite interesting and may well be worth a purchase. It is less than the cost of a fast food combo meal and will surely provide fun longer than that meal will be with us.

the low price is nice to hear. I hope they ported it to PS4 as well.

doesn't appear to be on PS4 unfortunately. Time to fire up the ol xbox controller for the pc methinks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66518.22
ETH 3187.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05