[First Impressions] Indiegala's "Chain Reaction" Games (Part 2)

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

"Bitcoin vs Brain," "ZNKL_177" and "The M0rg vs Keys." This is my first impression about three games from my backlog.

Cover Image.jpg

This is my unplanned follow up to the third post in my "First Impression" series. If you didn't read the posts before don't worry, this post is self-contained. Here's what I do in these:

Looking at my backlog I decided to play as many games of them and think whether to try finishing them or not. Since many of them are from Indiegala you can guess the chances.

Chain Reaction is one of the bundles I obtained lately. It contained 16 games (not counting the soundtracks.) Only after trying the some of them, I realized why it was that cheap. Half of them don't deserve a mention.

I talked about three of them in part 1.
Here are other three games from the bundle

Split_line.png


Bitcoin vs Brain

From the same creators of "Run, my little pixel" of the previous post. Bitcoin vs Brain does its job, as an arcade "shooting gallery" game. <-- yeah this sub-genre has a name, I just found that today.

There isn't much other than what you see on the game's Steam page. It's just my first impression but it seems it's one level arcade game. But that one level is nicely done. Too bad the rest of art isn't as good as the backgrounds.

The problem with Bitcoin vs Brain
is that it seems like a prototype than a full game.

41aehba0qg.jpg

In this game, you have to shoot Bitcoin into the various brains on the screen. You lose health if one of them touched you. As far as I know, you lose in three hits.

The only way to know one of the brains hit you is the health bar above. That if you knew it was a health bar. The player's user experience would improve a lot if Bitcoin vs Brain showed some indication when the player or an enemy is damaged.

I still won't recommend this game unless as a part of a cheap bundle, it's just doesn't have enough content to warrant replayability.

Will I play this game again?

No. Just... No.


The M0rg vs Keys

I don't know who's this M0rg guy or if I should say "he" when referring to him. But like the game above. M0rg vs Keys is also one level game. However, in this you have to collect instead of trying to survive.

Image

You get to play as the M0rg which can only be controlled with WASD and you can jump with SPACE direction buttons (or of course the controller .) can't be used. You're given 60 seconds to collect as many keys as possible.

Overall I like this game over the "Bitcoin vs Brain" but I won't recommend this game still, except if you found a review about it and liked it. Or want to brag your high score on #Dtube.

Will I play this game again?

Very unlikely,
But I might try my luck at getting the 50 of each key achievement.


ZNKL_177

From it's Steam Page:

You are a pilot of the spaceship "Znkl - 177". You need to deliver a capsule with important information to the cargo spaceship.

ZNKL_177 is a puzzle game. You have to send the capsule to the cargo By firing it!

  • Left click sends the capsule in a way affected by gravity/physics.
  • Right-click sends out the capsule in a straight line.

Unfortunately for the pilot, that isn't so easy, sometimes there are obstacles to avoid, or pieces of garbage floating in space blocking your way and other hindrances.

i0hznqh5j8.jpg

Unlike the other games above, I felt the developer put a lot of thought into this game. Having two types of shooting adds to the replayability and the game's achievements (the whole English alphabets & numbers) are something I would strive for.

I like that each level introduces one new gameplay mechanic at the time, and shows it to you from that level one. This ensures you understand it enough for future levels.

Srill, this game is also one that can be easily made by recycling free assets. So depending on how thoughtful the next levels are, the game overall may not be as good as I imagine.

Will I play this game again?

Very likely.
I want to get past that level I got stuck in.
But I don't know when I'll get tired of it.


Final Thoughts

I think the games I put in part 1 were better. But Chain reaction while it's not a good indiegala bundle, it's not the worst. Not only Psi Cards mentioned in that post, but the bundle also contains "ZNKL_177" which in my opinion a hidden gem for the price.

Some of the other games might worth double the bundle price for some people.

Now, what do you think?

Are you interested in any of these games?
What are your thoughts about them?

I'm looking forward to read your comments.

Split_line.png


For the cover image I used the games header images + one screenshot from "Psi Cards" game. All other screenshots are taken by me.
Still trying to figure how the capsule gets affected by gravity in space.
Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/9cdhjc7

Finally could catch up on OPGaming posts, good one my dear friendo. Upvot'd and resteem'd.
Coolio.gif

Thanks for reading :)

Last one looks nice!

Yeah I ordered them from the least likey to return to, to the most likely.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17