[VR Review] The Only Good Virtual Boy Games, Part 14: Wario Land

in #gaming6 years ago


source

I've saved the absolute best for last. Yes, Virtual Boy had a Wario Land game, and it's a shame it was never ported to 3DS in the virtual console along with the other good games from the VB library. It was a flagship title for Virtual Boy upon release, and Nintendo didn't hesitate to hype it up in their usual weird way:

It's an extremely tight, refined, well designed game. Nothing here is wasted and there's all sorts of neat details. You can power up Wario using animal themed hats, similar to the animal themed suits in Super Mario Bros 3, or the bunny ears from Super Mario Land 2: The 6 Golden Coins.


source

Wario is sometimes evil, but mostly a morally neutral character. He fights not for justice, but to amass treasure for himself. In this game it was stolen from him as he slept by tribal creatures and taken underground. Ostensibly the primary goal of each level is simply to find the key and bring it to the exit:


source

However the secondary goal is to recover your stolen treasure. Somewhere in each level is a hidden entrance to a treasure room, where one of your 10 priceless treasure items is being held. Which ending you get will depend on how much treasure you recover by the end, and how quickly.


source

There is nothing at all to fault here. The only drawbacks of the game are inherent to the limitations of the Virtual Boy platform, namely the red and black color scheme. Depth is used to accentuate parallax mapping and Wario can jump into background layers of the environment, then back to the foreground using special spring blocks.

This game is tremendous fun, especially if you play with a determination to find every last treasure and beat the game as quickly as you can in order to see the best ending. Like Rise of the Triad I want to give this game a 10. It's very special. But this time I'm actually going to, because the game is simply that good.


source


Stay Cozy!

Sort:  

Wario looks too angry thats y this name Mario lop

I like platformers that are built around speed running with a few extra collectable thrown in there more good measure. Think we will see any Virtual Boy games played at Games Done Quick?

No. Well maybe, idk.

How I wish I had this kind of interesting game when I was much younger, my childhood could have been way sweeter, I usually did outdoor games and not electronic games and presently I'm stuck on books and my free periods gat me stuck on animes and play station games

I'd give the game a 10 rating too

As you mentioned, this game is tremendous fun. I do like the way it’s being played. I would say perhaps the best of Virtual Boy series. From rewards, recovering stolen treasure. to kicking enemies ass. It’s already fun watching it. Your 10 rating doesn’t surprise me.

This is a fun game. Its' the platformer / adventure game for the Virtual Boy that was missing when they didn't make a traditional Mario game, instead opting for tennis and Mario Clash which was really just a re-imagined 3D Mario Bros arcade game. This game was basically the sequel to the original Game Boy game Warioland, which I enjoyed. I agree, this is probably one of the best games for the Virtual Boy. Nice review.

This looks like the most fun game you've reviewed for the VB.

It sorta reminds me of Super Mario, would have been great in 3D

Your game is very interesting . I really like your 3D game . Thanks for sharing @alexbeyman

Great moments when i played i mean in the 90's. Regards

Wowww...this is one thing i look out for in games...''the story line ''...once a game has a good story line I'll love it...and this one has..😊😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69735.97
ETH 3533.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72