GAME REVIEW: Tyranny (My Score: 4/5)

in #gaming7 years ago

Hello Dear Followers and Steemers!

I hope you are all well these evening. Tonight I will present another gem which we might see become popular. And its premise is slightly different than usual!

The War is Over.


Tyranny begins with a different outlook than most other games: The evil Overlord Kyros has won. All lands have fallen and only one small province - The Tiers - stands in the way of complete dominance. The Overlord dictates that all must submit and has sent four Archons - embodiments of magic and power - to lead the conquest:



Tunon the Adjudicator - Archon of Justice


Bleden Mark - Archon of Shadows


Graven Ashe - Archon of War


The Voices of Nerat - Archon of Secrets


You are a Fatebinder, raised in Tunon's Court and educated to uphold and deliver Kyros' Justice across the realm. The game's narrative is a twisting roller coaster of difficult decisions which will test your moral compass. Will you uphold the law, by any means necessary? Will you follow your own interests, to the point of rejecting the Almighty Kyros' rule? Who will you support? Who is more deserving of live and who will die? Whatever your choices, you must keep in mind that there will be consequences and that sooner or later you will answer for any and all of your actions to the Adjudicator of the Law.


1: Plot.

Tyranny offers an intricate plot line, full of twists and difficult decisions. Your choices throughout the game will affect every outcome and will have consequences. I like this dynamic and it makes me think twice before deciding what to do. Likelihood is that you won't see all plot lines through your first playthrough, so I would advise you to re-do the game with different choices. Every fork matters. If you are an experienced RPG gamer you may find some parts of the plot predictable, and for this reason I will give it a 4/5 for plot.


2: Graphics.

The game is absolutely gorgeous! The graphics are beautiful, the colour schemes are rich and deep. Particle effects are smooth and satisfying. Spells are wonderful and varied, and all character models are smooth. You can see a lot in the trailer above. The one negative I could think of would be armour, which is not varied enough for my taste. Still, tastes are different and I'll allow for personal opinion. I'll give this category a 5/5.


3: Mechanics.

For those like me, who are not used to Isometric games, the game may feel slightly awkward in the beginning. Movement is only accomplished through mouse clicks and the camera must be panned manually as well. However, Tyranny provides various options which add a lot of depth to the game. One such mechanic is Spell Creation, which requires the player to explore for and research accents, sigils and expressions, then combine them to create dozens of different spells. You have the freedom to play and customise your character in almost any imaginable way. For that, I'll give this section a 4/5.


4: Combat.

As in any RPG game, a good combat system is essential. Tyranny uses a system of calculation which pits different stats against each other. It is rather complex and not exactly intuitive. Despite playing quite a few RPGs I must say that the combat system in Tyranny threw me off. Combat itself can get rather messy and efficiency is extremely dependant on micromanaging your companions. It would be impossible to beat the game without spending a good deal of time getting to know how each character works and fiddling around with skill sets, and builds. Still, complexity does not mean low quality! And remember - the combat log in the bottom right is your friend! Due to its complexity and non-intuitive nature, I'll give the Combat system an average 3/5, without any prejudice against its quality.


5: Fun aspect/Replayability.

This is THE MOST relative category, and as such will carry the least weight. This will be entirely based on my own opinion and experience. Tyranny is a beautiful game and its rich plot line demands close attention from the player. It really makes one question their morality and why they do what they do. The Narrative is enjoyable and interesting, but lacks voice-acting for the most part. Thus, anyone who finds reading tedious may not enjoy this as much. What voice acting there is, however, is brilliantly done (I am in love with Tunon because of his voice!!!). Combat, however, can eventually become tedious, due to the unreliable AI and the intense micromanagement. Past that, the plot lines cannot all be completed in one play through, so replaying the game is a must. Just the decisions from Act 1 can determine your entire progress afterwards. The endings could be satisfying, or annoyingly vague, depending on your decisions. Due to all the variables, I'll give it a 4/5.


Final score: 4/5

I hope you guys enjoyed this review and found it helpful! If you have any questions, I'm happy to answer in the comments below.


Kneel, Fatebinder!

Sort:  

What 4/5? what score is it? Duuude, theres only IGM meme score and its 9/10 and its always "It's ok 9/10" (C) IGN

I have not read what they have written. This is my personal opinion. I guess you haven't read what I wrote, otherwise you'd understand before criticising my own view. It seems like you only read the title and quickly came to a conclusion.

Great review
Thank a lot brother.
@beltashazzar.
Feeling better thank u

A game that makes you ask yourself if evil is indeed something that must be fought is a game worth of both respect and remembrance.

Indeed! I agree ^_^ I think Tyranny is quite underappreciated and that whoever plays it should take it more as a philosophical exercise.

Really good post. Even i have YouTube gaming channel & new video daily upload.You just have a look. if possible plz do subscribe my channel-
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdLTzGuwJd2hY5mLEh1tk5A
Follow me @maruf121

Congratulations @beltashazzarr, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a User account holder (accounts that hold between 0.1 and 1.0 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by User account holders during this period was 1039 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was 1534.13. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here. If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

steemwin.jpg

HOW TO GET IN THE PLAYER-POOL?

(Pay once - play forever - win multiple times !)
All you have to do is sending once 10 SBD to @steemwin for a lifetime daily chance to win!

Click here for more details

Hi good Post,Please Follow Me @ibrahim-ats

and Please visit TOO my Blog

https://steemit.com/puzzles/@ibrahim-ats/quiz-for-0-50sbd-2017915t7164297z

Thanks You

@beltashazzar Thanks for sharing :-)I am following
|
Best of Luck !.

Thank you for following, @eolandananni! :D I hope you enjoy my posts!

@beltashazzar This is supercool! Thanks!

That sounds like quite a good game, might have to check it out to see if I would play it!

I'm glad you like it, @thegoliath! ^_^ You can check it out on Steam, if you like! I recently got in on sale, so I got off cheap! Haha!

Good ol steam haha, always handy. Lucky then, sales are the best when you got the money for it. :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71