Project Zomboid: First Impressions

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

I'm a huge fan of hard core strategy, tactics and survival games... perhaps, this would be a side effect of my age slowing down my reflexes. However, I've always been more interested in the more cerebral types of gaming rather than the twitch reflex sorts...

Project Zomboid is a game that I've been following for quite some time while it was in Early Access. However, as is my habit for all these games.. I don't play during the Early Access (I buy them, to support the developer, but I have no desire to be a guinea pig!). Well, Project Zomboid exited Early Access quite some ago... but it has been sitting on my to-play list for a very very long time as well....

An highly realistic Zombie apocalypse survival sim is just right up my alley in terms of games and game mechanics that I enjoy!

This is splash screen as the game loads up... oh yes, this is promising the hard-core experience that I so enjoy. Emergent story and the struggle against all odds... no hand holding!

First Death

Finding food (and weapons) is pretty high on the list of things to be doing as soon as possible... as is crafting materials to be able to fortify yourself. It's pretty overwhelming... being the only human in a town overrun by zombies...you really do get the impression that every hideout is only going to be a temporary shelter. I wonder how this game would play as a multiplayer... there is an option for it... I guess I should try and see if I can get my neighbour interested in the game!

Things were going pretty well... I had found a motel with a second floor with only one stairwell for access... I took up residence in the last room on the landing, and it made for a pretty defensible sort of place... A great base to go out hunting for food and that sort of thing.

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to find much in the way of crafting materials... but I did find pistols and shotguns... which made for a nice feeling of security....

However, one point of access means one point of exit... and after being woken in the middle of the night by zombies banging on the door... I had to quickly dispatch them with firearms... which meant noise... and then a flood of zombies... I made my last stand in the toilets... ran out of ammo, then finally broke all my melee weapons... and went down....

Second Death

On this run, I had much less weapons... but a great two story house to begin with. I had a much better scouting in terms of crafting materials... which meant that I could barricade up the lower floor windows and also the doors. I made this rope on the second floor to be the method of accessing the top floor (the bottom was impossible unless you bashed your way in...)...

Unfortunately, on one of my scouting runs... I managed to set off a security alarm... which brought a ton of zombies running in onto my position. No problem, I legged it back to home... however, to throw them off the scent of my base of operations, I looped past my actual base... losing the horde on the way, before heading home.

Unfortunately, one straggler zombie had destroyed my rope into the house... which meant that I needed to smash the barricades that blocked the access to the lower floors... which attracted the attention of a nearby group...

... down I go... and things were going much better this time....

I LOVE THIS GAME!

Steem-Monsters (aka the best blockchain game out there!


Humble Bundle

Have you heard of Humble Bundle? It's a place to get some really great deals on Games, e-books and comic bundles. However, if you sign up for a Humble Bundle Subscription (12 USD per month) you get some really nice bonuses!

  1. A 100+ USD bundle of games delivered direct to you each month, redeemable on Steam, Uplay or direct download (depending on the game). This includes recent Triple A games!
  2. Access to the Humble Bundle "Trove", a list of 60 games (and growing...) which are free to play as long as you remain a subscriber!
  3. Additional Discounts on the Humble Bundle store, with the choice of supporting charities, Humble Bundle or developers in whatever percentage that you wish!

Humble Bundle Subscriptions, it's a no brainer for the dedicated gamer!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Does it play like a blend of a rogue like and XCOM? Or is it less complex?

Posted using Partiko Android

It's hard core rogue like with some serious inventory and crafting and survival focus! All real time as well, which severely adds to the tension!

Hahahah, sounds like it is a game that is totally right up your alley :D I love how you write this, @bengy :) Feels like you're just letting the experience shape your opinion and then suddenly you declared that you love this game XD

Really nice review <3

Thanks! And thanks for the cake (which isn't a lie!)....

This game is a huge struggle... With every death you learn something new and useful. But you are never OP... In fact you are always as fragile as when you started! Any small slip, and you are going down!

Every once in a while I unwind by being on my kid's STEAM gaming platform and play a few rounds of Left 4 Dead 2!

Ha ha... I only have my own Steam account. L4D2 is pretty awesome! I'm hoping to for my neighbour in for a gaming evening!

My handle is "Your Gothic Baby Sitter" if our paths ever cross on the Steam L4D2 servers. My favorite game just to unwind.

Congratulations!


This post has been granted a 100% upvote, courtesy to @wokeprincess, from BlissFish!
Enjoy the Bliss!

Join us on Discord!
Upvote this post to help the minnows win a bigger upvote!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @veryspider.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

Awesome review my friend.
thanks for share with us


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87