E3 Microsoft Conference Thoughts

in #gaming6 years ago

So E3 has kicked off and it’s going pretty strong with a mountain of new games being announced. I had a moment to catch up on the recent Microsoft conference and wanted to summarise some of the game I look forward to.

Halo Infinite

I’ve played Halo for many years. Not competitively but I have had hours of fun with friends in multiplayer and coop campaign. The Master Chief Collection was an awesome outing but I would not call myself a die-hard fan. With the announcement of Halo Infinite I was curious about where this next game may take the series. It’s being coined as a new direction for the series but not much else has been revealed about it. Still, an announcement is an announcement and I’ll be keeping a look out for updates on that.

Check out the trailer here, it doesn’t give too much away but it certainly looks pretty! I guess they are really pushing the Slip Space engine and I hope 343 Industries makes it work.

Gears of War 5

Here we are again with yet another Gears of War game. It’s not a spinoff, this is the next instalment of one the games I have grown to love in its earlier years. I would play the original Gears or War for hours on end with my friends in multiplayer. Taking advantage of glitches to pull off backflips and headshots was something pretty awesome at the time. The later sequels were fun but I mostly played for the epic campaign (no pun intended). I love the Gears universe but didn’t bother with the spinoff game which I won’t really talk about.

The cinematic trailer was surprisingly long and made me want to revisit the story again. It seems to follow the story of Kate and her ties to the Locust. Someone is dead, JD has a beard, a big scar and a weird infected arm. What the hell has happened? I have no idea but I really want to find out.

It was nice to see Marcus in the shot but I have no idea how much involvement he or even JD will have in this outing. I wonder if this will come to light in another game. It’s a shame really as I felt JD needed a bit more of the spotlight.

The scenes looks beautiful and I’m really excited to get my hands on this game. In all honesty, my Xbox has been gathering dust for a long while now and it probably will still if this comes to PC but who knows.

There were also two spinoff game announcements with a ‘Pop’ themed rendition and a seemingly tactical game. Turn based Gears is pretty weird to me but if it’s a good game then why not!

Fallout 76

I am not a huge Fallout fan but I am aware of its themes and story. I may give it a shot when I have a moment to play (not hopeful of this). With tech advancing we are seeing even bigger open world projects and this game has been announced to be four times bigger than the last game (Fallout 4). Looks pretty beautiful too!

Sekiro: Shadows Die Twice

There are few games that have made me want to throw my s*** our the window but I can say Dark Souls was definitely one of these games. Not even just one of the games, all of them! This new game from the same developers are brining something really interesting here in the form of Sekiro. I’m so excited about this and hope it plays very well. I’m a fan of spic scale bosses and the feudal Japan setting looks appealing.

Forza Horizon 4

Forza Horizon has made me get into arcade racers once again, the last game was beautiful and played so well. I haven’t got much to say about the reveal, it was expected. I may pick it up later, maybe I should really look into a racing setup one day!

Among the other announcements we have some new trailers for Ori and the Will of the Wisps, Tomb Raider and a lot more. Oh, Kingdom Hearts also got a Frozen reveal trailer. The game also has a release date, whether they will deliver on time remains to be seen. Utada Hikaru offers a nice track as the game shows off a bunch of story related snaps.

I’ll mention one game for the sake of it. Jump Force!

Seeing this announcement, it was obvious what was up. A new Jump game coming straight from Bandai Namco with your favourite Anime heroes and villains. No idea what to expect from this game, it will feature a 3D fighting system with assist mechanic combat style. The game is being released as part of Jump’s 50th anniversary. The game stages are actually set in our world which is interesting.

To sign off, I would say the MS conference wasn’t anything too special. Then again, I wasn’t expecting too much. Happy with Gears 5 and will keep an eye out for the other games.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72