The best things in life don't cost a single penny

in #gaming6 years ago

If you cut off the head - the body dies. That will be the case with me and most probably you too, but not for Heroes of Might and Magic, nope. Anything after HOMM 4, similar to the subject of my example is indeed not too pleasant to look at, but let's look back on something more positive.

As always, be sure to share any thoughts, opinions or questions with all of us here, because it is just amazing to have a chat with all of you in the comment section! If you know of any other awesome add-ons, please share with all of us.

nekr.JPG

After 3DO and New World Computing went under and the HOMM franchise became orphaned, we thought that this was most probably the end. Even in that case it would have been OK, because as I already mentioned in one of my earlier posts - HOMM3 (at least to me) is a timeless thing and similar to chess will not get old. Yet that was not the end - since then we've had numerous different fan-made add-ons, expansions, etc. There is one in particular that I want to cover in this post, as I believe that any HOMM3 player should be aware of it - this is WOG.

Heroes of Might and Magic III: In the Wake of Gods

wog.JPG

With its development starting in 2001 - WOG is a fan made add-on which adopted Event Related Model (ERM) scripting allowing much more flexibility to create/update maps, objects, artifacts, etc. WOG features some new creatures, more artifacts and (my favorite feature) the ability to further upgrade your creature dwellings. A correlating update allows bigger maps which can offer enormous exploring opportunities to have an epic long session with your friends.

Here my main goal is to spread the word out to those who may not know of this add-on (although most HOMM players do, but still) for them to check it out.
The main add-on (and some useful extras) can be downloaded here - http://heroes3wog.net/wake-of-gods/

vcmi.JPG

Another awesome thing is that you can actually play HOMM3 on your phone and I am not talking about the HD remake one which is in a way quite limited as you can't just upload new maps from your PC and play them.
The solution that I'm on about allows you to actually just upload the folder with your game to your phone and play it as if you are on a PC, using an app which you can find on Google Play (VCMI), allowing you to upload maps that you download or created yourself. If you want to know how it works - you can read about it online (https://vcmi.eu/), there's plenty of info or I can explain it in the comments, just let me know!

Having mentioned the above, I will not go into details about what is new and that is good in WOG, since that has already been done a thousand times and you can find it all over the internet if you wish. What I will do though, is I will give you a small overview of some new creature upgrades that I consider being worth to mention (not all of them). There are of course a lot of other noteworthy things in WOG, but all that is publicly available online for anyone to access, while pictures of new creatures might be just fun to look at and not so easy to find in a structured way.

Below are not all creature upgrades, only the ones that I consider cool myself, you can find a full list here.

Some additions, which you can find in Castle:

new1.JPG

An upgraded dragon:

new7.JPG

Tower's units (actually you can also upgrade your Golden Golem into a Crystall Golem):

new9.JPG

An upgraded Archdevil for Inferno:

new5.JPG

A new dragon for Dungeon:

new3.JPG

Some new units you can find in Necropolis:

new6.JPG

An upgraded Behemoth for Stronghold (this still doesn't help that much):

new8.JPG

New Hydra in Fortress (still slow as hell):

new4.JPG

And finally a Phoenix upgrade in Conflux:

new2.JPG

That's if for the new units line-up and I really hope that if you haven't played the WOG mode before, you will surely do so now! This is the final post in my HOMM post series. If you haven't checked out the older ones yet, please feel free to do so and I will be surely happy to hear what you think of it.
If you actually got to reading this far, congrats, you are a real MVP and please don't forget to have a chat with all of us in the comment below.

Thanks for your time, peace out!

Sort:  

I think this was the first turn-based game I've played because I loved chess. But strangely enough, I didn't enjoy it much and fell in love with Age of Empires II instead, which is not so chess-like in terms of the gameplay pacing (real-time).

On a scale of 1 to 10, how gud do you think is this game? I bet I'm missing out something great here.

That's an interesting question you have there :) on a scale of 1 to 10, I would give it an 8.5
I can surely say that you are indeed missing out something awesome and that is a good thing actually as you will have the option of discovering all that for the first time. But if you have any friends who actually play it - the best way would be to get together with them and play a map or two and this way I guarantee that you will 100% love it.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

I can feel the passion when you talk about HOMM :-)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I really should take a look at this game ... I can see that. And at the least tell my boyfriend about it, he's kind of game addict, so maybe he appreciates it a lot. Thanks for sharing.

You definitely should :)
I play Heroes 3 with my wife some times and she loves it, even though she's not into gaming at all

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63006.70
ETH 3075.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82