Grab it while it's free! TinyBuild on Steam and how much I love them, apparently

in #gaming5 years ago

Besides the sale, three of their titles are completely free and you get to keep them forever if you act now while this promotion lasts. But it was only when I scrolled through their products that I realized just how much I love them and their games.

I have like almost everything. Whatever I don't have, it's on my wishlist except maybe one or two titles. This is a really great game development company and I recommend their games to everyone. The time for you to try them is now as some of these discounts are very good.

https://store.steampowered.com/sale/tinybuild/



Na biblioteca = Already owned // Na lista de desejos = Wishlisted

Sort:  

That's interesting. I see that they are just the publisher of many of these, but I knew Clustertruck, Guts and Glory and Hello Neighbor. I'm surprised they have Clustertruck but not TABS or Totally Accurate Battlegrounds (all Landfall games). Looks like Landfall are the publisher of TABS and TABG though so maybe it was them moving on to publishing their own games. What I'm finding interesting checking I had the publishers right is that people are still playing Totally Accurate BattleGrounds and discussing it in the Steam forums. Not bad for an April fools game.

I have Guts and Glory and I haven't actually played it for a while but it has been fun.

Hello Neighbor I discovered from videos and it intrigued me a lot when I first heard of the concept but it didn't seem to quite play out as a proper game (all based on watching, not playing). It seemed it was low on stuff to do or observe (I thought observing the AI getting better at stopping you since it was supposedly learning from you - so like a real AI - would be interesting but maybe it either wasn't, or just wasn't for a video at least) and quickly turned into mythbusting with people going "I heard you can do this, let's try it out".

I feel like if it was a proper AI learning from you, I would have had to have learned from other previous gameplay too as from what I understand it takes a lot of data to make an AI do things properly, or it would have to be an AI that hasn't learned from very much yet and would externally appear "dumb".

I think perhaps it may have been an unbalancing of the AI and other game elements and it might not have quite got the right combo. It's probably a hard thing to do, and some people absolutely love the game, and maybe I would if I was playing instead of watching, but I feel maybe it was too much focus on the AI and not enough on the other game elements, and it may be a balancing act to get the right combo in a way that works. Having actual AI's that properly learn from the players in video games is very interesting but I'm not sure if Hello Neighbour got the formula / mix quite right to make for the best experience from what I've seen.

I don't know. Maybe it is different to play than watch and my interest in the learning going on would increase again, but it was a game that intrigued me by concept and disappointed me with how it appeared to play out watching lets plays of it.

Have you had much experience with Hello Neighbor?

Also, do you know anything about Mr Shifty that's up in your screenshot / picture? I only noticed last night actually that I now have access to that via Origin Access Basic, but I don't really know anything about it or if it is any good or not.

Seemed like an interesting publisher. When I looked them up on google it also brought up Snail Bob 3: Egypt Journey which seems like an odd one mixed in with one of the others. Looks like it was an android one but I've fiddled with the Snail Bob games in browser before and idk if you know them but they are basically puzzle games where you have to manipulate the environment to get the snail through levels. They're decent for puzzle games. Puzzle games aren't my favourite genre but I like to play them sometimes. I have cut the rope on my PC and Guinea Pig Bridge (Parry Gripp game) on my phone. Think that's the only ones I have currently. I don't mind when games that aren't puzzle games have puzzles in them either. I think I prefer that to games that are purely puzzle games. I still remember as a kid solving the occasional puzzle in stuff like Spyro.

Totally Accurate Battlegrounds

They really struck gold on this one. I got it for free during an alpha access giveaway but it was still poorly optimized so I couldn't care that much. And my PC was way worse. I should give it a try again.

Hello Neighbor

Zero experience. I've watched the trailer and it sounded like a cool concept, but it felt as if it were a sandbox AI experience which requires "solo exploring" and grinding for replay value, both of which I'm not a fan of, so I've never bothered with it. It's mostly a Fanatical game, actually.

Mr Shifty

It's an incredible action game full of hardcore player-movement gimmicks. Great if you like that kind of challenge.

occasional puzzle in stuff like Spyro

Those were okay for a kid, but I had a huge problem with Tomb Raider level navigation and puzzle solving when I was little. It was too much at the time. Well, maybe it had something to do with the fact that it scared me whenever I went inside a dark cave. I couldn't even get past the first level on Tomb Raider II because that pond the beginning was freaky. For me as a 7yo at least!

Yeah I'd agree with most of what you've said here. I'm the same with Totally Accurate Battlegrounds, where we played a little when it first came out but I'm now thinking I should give it a try again after seeing that people still play it. A little bit of silliness doesn't hurt a game so if it works well it might be fun. Still doing really well to have players given it was an April Fools joke essentially, which makes me think they must be doing something right.


I'd say you're probably about right with Hello Neighbor too. It didn't seem to have quite the right balance between the cool AI concept and being an actual game. There were puzzles etc you needed to solve to work out how to get out but that side of it from what I've seen of other people playing it didn't seem to be very well done nor intuitive. From what I could tell being a viewer of people playing the game, the design of it seemed to lead more to more mess around with things and trial and error type approaches and see if they work than actual problem solving, so I think the puzzle side of it was a bit flawed. It seemed like it did turn into a lot of solo exploring on YT at least with people just more so seeing what they can and can't find (including finding ways over the invisible walls into other parts of the neighbourhood etc).

I find AI and machine learning fascinating, but it just seemed like they didn't quite get the mix of AI and game to make a proper game, and I'd agree that it does seem more like a sandbox from what I've seen. I'd like to see games use more advanced AI or machine learning techniques for NPCs than a lot of them do, but I'd like to see it in a game that still seems more like a complete game than that does. I'd give it a try if I get to the point with my programming knowledge (or through using other people's / businesses AI tools) to know how to do that, but I think it needs a good balance of game elements as well as the AI. Without it still feeling like a proper game, I'd prefer the AI to be a robot or something rather than be inside a sandbox experience / game. Then again, some people love the game and it has been a while since I've seen it so it may have improved. I should probably have a look sometime and see if it is any different to how it was.

"It's an incredible action game full of hardcore player-movement gimmicks. Great if you like that kind of challenge."
Thanks for that description. I might need to try it out since it is free for me anyway. Sounds like it could be fun. While I haven't watched those videos I'm pretty sure JackSepticeye has played it before actually now that I think about it. The name sounds familiar from somewhere and I think it might be from his channel.


Yeah the only Tomb Raider I had was a demo for the third one. I have vague memories of somehow pressing some combo of buttons and managing to float around above the ground (like swimming) in the demo and cheese it because I was floating. I think those memories are real at least...

I can't remember what age we got our first console (ps1) and PC but it was probably when I was around 7 - 9 years old. I remember also having little handheld games that were only one game. We had "The Brick Game" (knockoff tetris) and Hangman on them. I also remember some mobile games on my parent's old mobiles too from some point within childhood. There's actually one that I remember but for the life of me can't remember what it is called and people don't seem to know what I'm talking about when I describe it. It was one that involved slowly filling up the screen with black to a certain percentage via drawing lines (box fills in where finished line hits side of screen or other filled in part) but there were things that bounced around the screen while you filled it up and if they hit your unfinished line that you were making to fill the screen, you would lose. Very simple concept but I remember trying to beat that game multiple times.

Some puzzles are a bit hard for different ages though, I'd agree. Puzzles and problem solving are very individual too. I do well at problem solving in the context of stuff like programming and the type of problem solving often used in games but struggle with working out certain visual puzzles and problem solving tasks, like looking at patterns involving shapes with shapes within them with only slight changes etc and finding what comes next in the pattern when multiple aspects of it change etc (like the visual pattern questions you tend to get in psychometric testing for jobs etc), especially when there is a time limit. This would be a hindrance for some puzzle games if they were to use the same type of puzzles but there's a large variety of puzzle games with all sorts of types of puzzles that need different types of problem solving so it doesn't restrict stuff much.

Thanks for updates like these

I've been sorting through other kinds of content but I'll keep these coming.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

This post has received a 6.1 % upvote from @boomerang.

Loading...

You got a 59.74% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @felipejoys!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 5.33% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28