My tale of playing Mega Man 1 for the first time - Cutman, Gutsman and Bombman

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

After reading @ahmadmanga's post about his attempt at Mega Man 1, I thought "let's get some community gaming!" Without any previous experience in the classic Mega Man series but a long time fan of the Mega Man X series, I knew this would be a challenge.


Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3


CUTMAN

Starting with Cutman's level was clearly the best choice, but I decided on it because of what I read over at @ahmadmanga's I Never Won Any [Megaman] Level (Yet.), not just because the level didn't have any extremely unfair gimmicks, but because Cutman's weapon is really useful during later stages.

BOMBMAN

I'm proud to say I've reached Cutman on my first try, but as expected, could not beat him then. It took me two more tries to cut through Cutman. After that, I randomly picked Bombman's stage. His level was okay. Taking enemy collision damage or just running to the top of each ladder usually ended up being the smartest choice.

Bombman himself was much easier than Cutman, because all I had to do was stand from afar shooting then jumping a bit to the side whenever he tossed a bomb at me. When he went crazy at the end, I just tanked him until he was shot dead. Moving on to Gutsman's stage.

GUTSMAN

Now this level has a freaking unfair piece of trash gimmick, I tell you. Right at the beginning of the level, I was forced to perform some insane parkour stuns on this moving platform from hell. I died over 15 times on this spot alone. The rest of the level was meh compared to the nightmare I had just gone through. I could even decipher those green flying homing thingies' movement pattern.

Beating Gutsman himself was also a problem, but not because he was that tough. Every time I would finally get to him, I had almost no health left nor any remaining extra lives. I'd take a couple of hits and it was back to the start of the stage. And then I remembered.

Yeah, Cutman's weapon didn't work on Bombman, but maybe one of those two is Gutsman's weakness? Bingo! Bombs are super effecting on this robot builder. It took me no more than three hits to end his reign of architectural terror.

So half of the bosses have been dealt with. I'm looking forward to get to the Willy stages, but the path to Gusman was tiring, so I'll take a break.

Thanks for reading and do tell me about your classic gaming experiences! Or even point me to your own post.

Sort:  

Well done! MM is best played in a group, taking turns keeps your mind safe from imploding.

Thanks! I honestly don't think it was that bad. It only took me about 20 or 30 minutes to beat these three stages. Without emulator state saving, of course. I'll send you a sbi share soon.

sbi share sent!

thanks!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

Glad I was the reason you played this game. You must be way more skilled than me to beat Cutman the third time.

Thank you, it was one hell of a ride.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83