My tale of playing Mega Man 1 for the first time - Dr. Wily

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

Part 1 - Part 2 - Part 3


Wily's stages

Finally, the big old bad. Dr. Wily himself. But first, how about some horrendous pixel-perfect platforming stages, facing 3 or 4 of the previously defeated bosses again and face that devilish ooze-man-thing. Why not. I'm not going to write about the stages that much though, even though the first one was particularly nasty.

I had to battle with this gianty ooze robot about 15 times until I finally learned how to dodge his teleportation technique. A long horizontal third jump (or was it fourth?) did the trick, along with eletric shots which seemed to be this monster's weakness, although it didn't feel like it was that effective. Stupid walking stronghold. But I got him.

The next couple of stages weren't so bad after I developed a strategy to deal with the enemies - mostly waiting and timing my eletric shot. But the two sections in the images below were particularly interesting:

It was fun dodging penguins in a tunnel and it felt like I wasn't Mega Man, but Bat-Man! The multiple Gutsman being built were horrifying, though, clearly depicting Dr. Wily's plans for taking over the world for good. What would happen if I didn't stop him?

Rushing over the last stage, Fireman was particularly tough. I didn't remember having so much difficulty during his own stage. Getting to the fight under half health after fighting two other bosses and having to deal with Iceman right after was a pain in the ass. Not getting hit as much during Bomb Man was the key to my success.

Dr. Wily

The mad scientist put up a tough fight from inside his battleship/suit, but with a few attemps - many less than when I went up against the giant ooze robot thingy - I figured out all I had to do was position myself slightly to the left before shooting and focus on bringing him down.

He had a second form, but that was even easier. Also following the positioning strategy, he would never hit me when I was running to the right if I started my jumping and running at the right time. His attack would fly above me every single time. Except twice, which caused me to die, but none on my second attempt. He had been brought down to his knees, pleading for his life.

Ending sequence

I've done it. Victory. The world was safe again. Boy, was the world in trouble! Imagine having to go through all of this parkour on a daily basis! Roll credits. Go home. It's okay now.

Maybe I should play Mega Man 2 next. What do you guys think? Recommend me something to play and blog about for a chance to win a SBI share!

Sort:  

Hi @felipejoys

As a follower of @haccolong this post has been upvoted by @hoaithu's Curation Trail with 20user.
This is free upvote first when you follow @haccolong

To get 3000points and receive additional rewards from your activities on Steemit, you can use Partiko app for your phone.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 19 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 159 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hey @felipejoys, you should play super meat boy. This game will also give you a challenge. ( ˘ ³˘)👌

I'm pretty damn sure it will, for what I've heard about it. I might give it a shot. :) I'll send you a SBI share soon.

Nah, you don't have to do that. (❍ᴥ❍ʋ)

I recommend Super Meat Boy too

I third (or continue with mm series)

🎁 Dear @schubes,

SteemBet Seed round SPT sale is about to start in 2 days!

When our started the development of SteemBet Dice game, we couldn’t imagine that our game would go so viral and that SteemBet would become one of the pioneers in this field.

In order to give back to our beloved community, we’ll distribute 4000 STEEM to SPT holders immediately after Seed sale. Plus, investors in this earliest round will be given 60% more tokens as reward and overall Return on Investment is estimated at 300%!

Join the whitelist on SteemBet webiste now and start investing! Feel free to ask us anything on Discord https://discord.gg/tNWJEAD

spt-sale-2-day.jpg

Hello @felipejoys Thank you for the Starter tips you dropped on my introductory post, it is really insightful and enlightening. Well I have followed, pivoted and commented on your post as you advised. Hope I get a reward. Lol

Posted using Partiko Android

You can also use steemnow to check your latest upvotes: https://steemnow.com/@sugah

Sometimes it takes a few minutes to update, though.

Ooze robot is very Bad... but I like so much your game story of Dr Will and the power of Mega Man, and sure dude, yuo should play, win and tell us about your secure victory on Mega Man 2... and If you receive my recommendation fell sure to play Principle of Persia.. thas a great game... following

SBI share sent!

Thank you. I've decided to play Super Meat Boy next, but Prince of Persia and Mega Man 2 are on the list! I'll send you a @steembasicincome share soon.

You got a 57.31% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @felipejoys!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13