Once upon a time, gamers were mmo hopping

in #gaming5 years ago

We used to hype up and try every single new mmorpg our computer could run, trying to find our next gamer nest. Eagerly waiting for that one perfect game. Most of us had it. Most of them died. We're all left with personal tales of that one MMROPG.

The era of MMOs as every online gamer's passion is gone. It lasted several years while client-server technology and gameplay concepts advanced. Lots of it was just Tibia copycats, crappy World of Warcraft clones or Perfect World variations.

Some of them hooked me or you. We just sank in and devoted countless hours from our youth we fondly cherish. Those were the good times. Guilds, groups, solo exploring, item hunting.

But eventually the non-wow playerbase always dies. Years go by while we continue game hopping until we find a new home.

All of a sudden releases are much scarser. There is too much competition so no companies can keep players for long enough. Everything had been feeling generic since the commercial goal was reaching a level of success comparable to World of Warcraft. Developers were finally giving up on this.

Sure, we still those mildly successful Aion-likes and plenty of instance-based casual exploration "mmo"rpgs, but that's about it. The current sandbox mmorpg trend is dying out as well, like a bitter goodbye.

I hold precious memories of my Trickster Online guild, a long term group in Dungeons & Dragons Online (not Neverwinter) and all of the minining/smithing from Runescape 1 (the very first version).

What about you guys? What fond memories do you hold on to this day? Do you think Wow Classic will bring some of it back? (I hope so)

Sort:  

Yeah the mmo genre feels burnt out and it's pretty sad.

I played Ragnarok as my first mmo. It was one of the few my computer could handle. A lot of funny memories. Big WOE battles. Hunting mvps. Guildies getting married. I never found a waifu in a game myself :P
I really liked that you could open a shop anywhere and sell potions and gear. In later updates you could also buy loot from others that way.

This post has been upvoted by @opgaming. We like what you're posting, and we want to reward our members who produce quality content. Keep up the good work!If this sounds like the sort of group you want to be a part of, click the image below! We're too OP to be put down!

OPG_2.png

I still play Dungeons & Dragons Online.

Really? My favorite character was a favored soul. I'd succesfuly solo heal shroud all day long even at level 15. I was proud of it. He was my first level 20. What do you play?

Half of my time played was before it went free-to-play. "Quality of life" features, epic levels, expansions and the new overpowered enhancement trees kind of ruined it for me. Even so it still stands as the best MMO out there hands down imo, even today.

I've played pretty much everything. I'm on a really gimmicky Barbarian build using some of the new enhancement trees (for reference, I self-heal for more HP than I have, use crossbows and attack and do damage with Wisdom, though this required sacrificing literally all of my Barbarian specializations). Gonna be TR-ing into a Sorcerer (probably a Warforged, maybe an Aasimar so I can self-heal), because I'm really close to completion.

I'm not a huge fan of epic, to be honest. I'm doing it right now to get a past life feat for it, but I'm not in love with it. A lot of the newer dungeons are weird in their design (e.g. giant HP monsters), though they've gotten better with the transition from Turbine to Standing Stone Games.

I think the real thing with DDO is that it offers a very tight instance-based experience with d20 mechanics, which are far more satisfying than any other MMORPG I've seen in terms of how well you can customize your character and how smooth the connection between complex mechanics and play are. If you play on Ghallanda, hit me up and I can send you a guild invite (you're on the Archdruid discord, right?).

The balance is definitely really janky, but since it's a PvE experience I don't mind. My brother and I pretty much just play solo or with each other (though he will pub some stuff), so we capitalize on that power creep so that we don't get murdered running on Elite. He's got so many TR feats it's not even funny.

I'm kind of excited about the new upcoming stuff. There's going to be the Alchemist class, who promises to be an interesting and novel caster sort of like monks but focused on throwing stuff. Keep on the Borderlands for a low-level experience sounds interesting as well, though I don't have any familiarity with it. They've been adding a lot of classic D&D modules; I'm not sure how faithful they are because I never really played modules in D&D, but they're fun as they stand even without the nod to nostalgia.

Honestly, my least favorite change in the last few years is when they got rid of the ability to spam Lars Heyton shouting "Oh no, the sahuagin found me!"

DDO is the best mmo out there. I love it, I always will. I might join Ghallanda if you're patient with a newbie. I didn't really play much after Epic levels expanded beyond 20. Healing through original epic content was a lot of fun.

Archdruid discord

I was instantly banned by the asshole admin who runs it right after joining. He falsely accused me of plagiarizing. You can find me on @opgaming, @steemgc and @battlegames discord servers though! I'm also on the major non-gaming servers like PAL and steem-engine.

Archeage was going to be my "one" MMO... until labour points ruined it. Open a bag of coins? Labour points! Mine that ore? Labour points! Buy more labour points in the store? No thank you, bye!

I've since found my home in Elder Scrolls Online and Star Wars: the Old Republic, although the latter is only just keeping me. We'll see what September's expansion has to offer...

World of Warcraft holds no interest for me anymore, which is pretty sad considering all up I probably spent a $1000 on that game. Ouch. And I don't even want to know how many hours. Probably also in the thousands. I assume many players who still play simply want to justify the amount of time and money they spent on it, just so it doesn't all go to waste.

Most of my best MMO memories are from World of Warcraft though. It was my first MMO! So I guess it's only natural that most of my memories are from that one. :)

I've heard Archeage offered pretty much nothing to solo players, is that true?

ESO is pretty good. Certainly the one closes to DDO for me. Never played SWTOR but heard good stuff about it too. Although it seems like PvP over there is completely pointless?

Hopefully the upcoming WoW classic does save it for me. No expansions, no quality of life... Remember those good old fashioned walks up to Meeting Stones? Yep. :)

I'm not sure about the state of Archeage these days but I played it solo. I don't recall how far I got, though. :) Definitely not far enough to have my own boat which was supposed to be a good part of that game. The labour points really killed it for me. I only lasted a couple of weeks, and then felt bitter about what could've been a fantastic game.

I love SWTOR pvp! :D Although there are far more Empire players than Republic. I also favour the Empire. ;) A lot of the battlegrounds turn into "war-games" between teams of the same faction because of the population disparity, which made it a bit hard for me because everyone knew I was a healer.

In earlier days you would be rewarded with gear and crystals. I spent a lot of time getting pvp points so I could have the Gladiator title and many Imperial flag furnishings for my home, and a white crystal for my lightsaber. It was also great how at the end of the battles you could vote for someone who did a lot of the work in the match and they'd get extra points. Not too sure about the state of it these days because all of the oceanic servers are gone so my 30ms ping has turned into 300ms. So painful.

In ESO however, I don't even notice the high ping. Love the pvp in that too, despite the accusations of it being a horse-riding simulator. ;) But I'm more a farm all the things - make all the gold! type of person in that game.

I am somewhat tempted to return to WoW classic! But at the same time, I don't want to be obsessed with that again haha. Four years clean! Walking, though. Walking! I loved walking everywhere when I first played. Exploring everything. Not merely jumping atop a dragon and zooming from place to place, not caring about what I was doing.

If ESO ever gets flying mounts, I will wither into an anti-MMO ball of regret.

300ms

Ouch... Does it hurt you in "dungeons" as well? Instanced content.

I loved walking everywhere when I first played.

We really invested ourselves into everything we did. We met people along the way somtimes. It was fantastic...

horse-riding simulator

I've barely played it. I should give it another try.

You got a 34.18% upvote from @spydo courtesy of @felipejoys! We offer 100% Payout and Curation. Thank you.

You got a 8.59% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

You got a 5.39% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @felipejoys!

Thank you so much for using our service! Congratulations! You've earned an ROI of 110.12% with bids of: 0.120$

Received 50.07% upvote from @onlyprofitbot courtesy of @felipejoys!

Want to earn more with us? Our APR can reach as high as
13% or more!

More portion of profit will be given to delegators, as the SP pool grows!

Comment below or any post with "@opb !delegate [DelegationAmount]" to find out about current APR, estimated daily earnings in SBD/STEEM

You can now also make bids by commenting "@opb !vote post [BidAmount] [SBD|STEEM]" on any post without the hassle of pasting url to memo!

* Please note you do not have to key in [] for the command to work, APR can be affected by STEEM prices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89