Uncover the Secrets Behind Another Secrets in Jenny LeClue - Detectivú

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

Jenny hesitated at the doorway.
What secrets would she find?
And what would she discover about
him

As she crossed the threshold, she knew
there was no turning back...


I hold my breath as the narration reveal itself one sentence after another. I thought to myself "here goes nothing", but then I realized the one that should have said that is the main character that I controlled, a smart, intuitive, and curious young detective Jenny, as she entered the secret door with hope to uncover the secret of what could it be that he hide in such an elaborate way.

I have only so little clue about what kind of story Jenny LeClue - Detectivú have in store after I played this curious game's free playable teaser, but that's the point. It was an hour and a half of gorgeous work by Mografi, an indie studio focused on storytelling and design, as they describe it. 


Warning! This post contains minor spoilers


Kinda bored of sand-coloured trench coat detectives usually wore. So is the developer, apparently.

Jenny LeClue - Detectivú is a "coming-of-age meta-narrative" point-and-click adventure game with a storytelling technique that I've never experience in video game before. The Journal of Professor Zazer is a mini adventure that, I suppose takes place ahead of the initial beginning of the main storyline which is still a mystery. Set in a small town called Arthurton in an untold time period, the game is filled with interesting stories, neat puzzle, every object that could be or hiding the clues, mysteries—a lot of mysteries—that doesn't lose its curiosity-piquing nature to the light humour that sprinkled all over the place. 

The goal is to make everything in the game to be interactive and the developer encourage player to poke around at every items and objects. The teaser takes place around a house, which is not so big considering not the entire house is explored, but is very detailed for a teaser. The necessary props and details are all there, not all of them are interactable but most of them have something in them, whether it's humour or stories, and the point of the game; clues hidden in plain sight. 

The art-style is gorgeous, definitely. And I think it's on the same level as Oxenfree, despite the different style. But when I said "gorgeous work" I didn't refer to its art-style alone, but to this short teaser as a whole for how the developer brilliantly play around with the visual simplicity of the game, the sound, and the lighting that creates the right atmosphere.

I actually never heard of this game's way of storytelling; a story within a story, and it intrigues me. As I poke around the game's world, the man in the screenshot, Arthur K Finklestein, appear as a narrator. He is the author of Jenny LeClue. So we are following the story he told, while also affecting his and Jenny's story as we make our choices. Sounds like a rather complex and unique way of storytelling to me. I hope it won't fail in the full presentation.

There's one puzzle I faced in the teaser, and this is how all the elements mentioned before fit in all together nicely and I loved it. So we know that he-whose-name-hasn't-been-toldhides something somewhere in the bookcase. So first, I needed to find a clue to figure out what and where could it be. It appears that 4 pieces of clues are hidden inside the books that contains interesting stories that, I think is some side stories but might also have something to do with the main storyline. So the journey is as fun as reaching the goal. 

The pieces reattached to each other, which is a mysterious instruction that led to the actual puzzle. "Clues hidden in plain sight" is very accurate for this and they are easy to miss. While this wasn't that hard of a puzzle, it's quite a clever design for this game. If you play it you'll also notice that the clues themselves are the humour slipped conveniently in the puzzle and the clues. 

After I completed the puzzle, the classic secret door bookcase trick opened up, and Jenny went into another part of the house that did nothing but made me more curious as the answer to the previous question asked another question, and the teaser ends there.

Mografi envisioned Jenny LeClue - Detectivú as an episodic trilogy that revolves around Jenny's coming-of-age with complex relationships story that deals with mature themes, family, loss, identity influenced by horror, complex characters, mysteries and sci-fi. A little piece of clue I got from the teaser regarding the sci-fi part is that it is probably about time travel. If it is, then it's a treat for me, and if it's not then I'm in to explore the dark secrets of Arthurton.

I'm not one to experience some of the greatest adventure games by Sierra Entertainment and LucasArts, but I think Jenny LeClue have the potential to be known as one of the games with strong narrative. The game is planned to be released in 2018 on PC, Mac, and Linux with more platforms later. You can download and try the game here: Jenny LeClue - Detectivú free playable teaser and see if it's worth to wishlist.


The latest trailer:


If I 'read' the trailer correctly, it will be released in Halloween. So before that, how about you visit this Deus Ex: Mankind Divided giveaway by @bengy and get a Steam key of one of the best stealth games for free. Read the rule, join in, and you might win a copy. Thanks for your time to read my post! Now if you'll excuse me, gotta find my magnifying glass and trench coat. 


For more gaming stuff...
follow me, would you kindly?


Previous Posts:




Image credit: Header.


DISCLAIMER: All artworks in this post (except for the cited ones) are belongs to me and I don't allow you, your partner, your cassowary, or your waifu to use them without my consent. Think I'm a smug? Fine by me. Happened before. Hate it if it happen again.

Sort:  

Thanks for the shout out! Great post too!

Anytime! For you and the group, I hope it helps.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Oooh thanks, Archdruid! Good game, well played.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72