Why Cheap Steem & Bear Markets are Good

in #gaming5 years ago

I've been wanting to play EOS knights for a while, but didn't want to pay for EOS to set-up an EOS account. Well after wasting 3 or 4 hours on Wednesday I finally converted some Steem to EOS to play the game. I've been playing the game for a few days now and am now convinced more than ever that cheap Steem and the bear market is great for crypto right now.

image.png

Starting EOS Knights

Since starting the game one thing I've noticed is that I don't have enough EOS to interact with the EOS network via EOS Knights. I have roughly 3.5 EOS staked, 3 EOS is staked for CPU and 0.5 is staked for the network, but am always running into CPU issues where it's not letting me do anything in the game.

Thankfully, after doing some searching I found a way to get some 3 EOS of CPU delegated to you for free through CPUEMERGENCY. One of the Dapps this website was specifically designed for was people having an issue on EOS Knights.

image.png

All I had to do was provide my EOS account name and after a quick check of my account I had 3 EOS delegated to me in less than a minute bringing my total CPU up to 6 EOS and believe it or not, in times of heavy congestion, I still have trouble accessing the game at times.

The top USD price for EOS was over $20. This means even after paying $120 for cpu stake I still would have trouble playing the game smoothly. That is insane. This doesn't count the 0.5 EOS that I have staked for network, the roughly 0.5 EOS that I paid to set-up an EOS account, and the 0.7 EOS I paid to unlock everything in the game.

image.png

Adding it all up, if all I wanted to use the EOS network to do was to play that one game at the height of EOS value I would have had to pay around $150. That's a lot of money for a game that I wouldn't consider a great indie game. I've really enjoyed EOS Knights so far and think it's one of the best crypto games out there, besides Steem Monsters, but trying to objectively look at this from a "typical gamers" poing of view.

So Why are Cheap Prices Good

I can only imagine how busy the EOS network is going to be during the next bull run. With the increase in network activity, I'm assuming, correct me if I'm wrong, that I will need even more EOS to make sure I can access the network during the increased congested times, which will cost even more money. I can test out the games and dapps relatively cheaply right now which will help these dapps grow even during the slow times.

I would like to see how much Resource Credit would be required to play a game like this on the Steem Blockchain. With Steem currently hovering around $0.25, I wonder how much of an investment it would require to interact with the game uninterrupted. If it only cost 10 Steem that would be a $2.50 investment to get started in the game which is a much more reasonable price for the current state of the game.

image.png

In short cheap prices are good for the crypto networks that currently require "resources" to interact with the chain. Now is a good and cheap time to build those resources to be able to secure a good connection to these chains in the future when new and exciting dapps are released during peak market runs.

Final Thoughts

Investing in EOS knights may turn out to be free. I've already sold some materials for 0.002 EOS and suspect during the next bull run as interest in crypto picks up once again, that these games will see a surge in popularity and material prices.

Even if the popularity of the game doesn't increase, the more time I spend in the game the better equipment, materials, and higher levels I become allows me to obtain more rare materials that sell for higher prices. If I could make a couple of EOS off of playing the game over the next couple of months I'd consider the EOS that I've invested so far worth it, and keep staking my earnings.

I have really enjoyed the game over the past couple of days and plan to at least right a review and a few stragies articles on the game. If you decide to sign up for the game let me know your EOS name and I'll sign up as your referral which will get us both 1000 Magic Water each which is the "end game currency".

Possible Steem Dapp

Also, if you play EOS knights join me into reaching out to the developers. I don't know how hard it would be or what it would require, but going to see if they've looked into making a Steem Knights. If they seem interested would love to gather some community support and send it there way as I think this could be a great addition to the Steem Blockchain and would to be able to help the creators make that happen some way.

Sort:  

I would have had to pay around $150. That's a lot of money for a game that I wouldn't consider a great indie game.

And I'm sitting here not wanting to pay for a $50 Nintendo Switch game.

That was at peak EOS prices. Now, at current prices, I'd say $10 would be enough to get started. It was "free" for me as I just rolled over some liquid Steem to EOS.

Congratulations @gniksivart ! Your post received a small upvote from @ongame as incentive for sharing gaming content.
Want to know more about Ongame.io ? Join us now!

  • All Recent Games (More than 70k)
  • Live Stream & external sources
  • Review Games and get rewarded
  • And many more... !!!

I don't even have enough liquid STEEM to upgrade my summoners properly. LOL.

I just don't want to spend the steem to do so.

I'm hoping as USD price of steem goes up the Steem price of the cards comes down and then I'll stock up on cards like that.

Hi Gniksivart, can't say I play myself - but still if you are looking for a CPU delegation to help you play, let me know, I can help.

Yes you are right - high EOS prices were making it difficult for both new guys to and the app developers to get established.

I would suggest use this opportunity to set yourself up on Telos (EOS sister chain) as well - call it EOS for the working man. At the moment TLOS tokens are worth less than Steem. So shouldn't be too difficult to set yourself up with a 100 TLOS CPU stake to operate with.

telosfoundation.io

SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

I play a bit of EOS Knights too. For me it's more an economic game than getting excited about killing Goblins etc. I have three accounts. When the network gets super busy then CPU locks you out. That means trying to earn by crafting items becomes impossible - but it's part of the economic fun. I use Chintai to lease CPU for my EOS Knight's accounts. Right now, the prices are super cheap so you can rent to get over any potential usage spikes. CPUEMERGENCY is great, but yeah I don't want to rely on it because 3 EOS doesn't go far when the CPU is stressed.
I got killed a bit in the latest update that does material drop rarity based on the average floor reached by players. My best account used to get decent material quite regularly, but that's no longer true. A lot of trash I just trade for magic water.
Anyways, it's a fun game. It's frustrating that EOS Knights runs so slow. I reckon EOS Knights might be okay on STEEM blockchain. The 3 second block time is maybe a bit too long compared to EOS' 500ms though.

You got a 11.61% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @gniksivart!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 12 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 353 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82