Age of Barbarian: not a good game

in #gaming6 years ago

This game was gifted to me on Steam by a friend of mine and I had to contact him later and ask him why he did that.

Age-of-Barbarian-Extended-Cut-Free-Download.jpg

When I spoke to him later he finally told me that he gets bundles from Steam and sometimes he doesn't want all the games he gets (I don't have any idea how this works,) A long time ago I had been talking to him about a game called "Rastan" that was in arcades when i was a kid and this game was crazy difficult and i kept playing it even though i was terrible at it. I suppose Rastan tried to capitalize on the success of Conan and somehow got away with basically copying his image.

maxresdefault.jpg
This is Rastan, not Age of Barbarian - this was from the 80's

Rastan isn't the point of this article though, Age of Barbarian is. I can't really find a great deal of information about this game online and I only played it for the first 3 levels or so. I suspect that many people play this game because one of the character choices is a princess who wears almost nothing. I suppose that is enough for some people but if i wanna look at naked ladies it is my understanding that a fair amount of the internet is dedicated to precisely that.

Age_of_Barbarian_new_05.jpg
completely impractical attire for fighting giant monkey warriors

The controls are just awful as well as slow to respond. There are also very few attack options at first. You get more attack options as you level up but really, you end up using the basic ones most of the time. So you have high strike, low, strike, jump, and block. I guess you don't really need more than that but just about the only thing that keeps the game interesting is the gore. I suppose the voice acting isn't terrible, but it isn't great either. I don't know how much this game costs but if it is more than say $10, i would be surprised. I can't really recommend this game to anyone though - unless you really really really like Conan.

Well, i will give it some pluses. The deaths are pretty brutal and that is fun if you like the sort of thing and the writing in the story is so bad that it is actually good in a "B-movie" sort of way. Plus it is fantasy, and that is always fun.

I can't give them game much because the controls are just frustratingly bad and the lack of variety in movement just makes the game really difficult to play.

4 / 10

Sort:  

Some issues that I had encountered during my playtime were unacceptable. On several occasions, during cutscenes the narrators voice would cut off and leave no sound, graphical glitches such as terrain blending in with the background creating a very disjointed feel to the levels, and crashes. The crashes only happened twice but still it doesn’t seem especially comforting for a game that has little to no graphical power running poorly and crashing.

I've not try the game before and I don't think I'm gonna try it just because of that naked princess... Ahhaha

I play games most time with children or when they are all around me. I enjoy playing game most times when they are around, I don't see any sense in playing games and locking myself up so that any of them would not see me.. Lol

4/10 then worsen it the more, the rating is too low to even convince me for a trier... Lol

Thanks for the review anyways, it can't be all good, things like this should always be in between to make it balanced

Not a great experience it seems. The game looks extremely bad, and if you couple as you say with bad controllers then this is a reversed masterpiece.

Even the 'epic' hype video looks very very very shitty, it honestly looks like a bad Sega CD game and it made me wonder to myself WTH did I just watched? I can even imagine playing this game.

Sorry for your awful experience, thank you for sharing this, and I will beware not to buy it.

Age of Barbarian is Look like awesome but Its really Playing bad.

I wanna give the Rating 2/10 | Its my personal Opinion about this game.

I'm surprised to see the nude photo games will be much scary @gooddream

Great post! You've earned a 7.14% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

Experience same to me, this game plot is not bad but apparently bad when you are playing.........!!!

After reading your article then i can't more-then 4/10 Rating.

I like play video game in desktop.

The controls are just awful as well as slow to respond.
That's enough for not playing this one. The interactivity is essential to enjoy the experience. Also, if the story isn' that good, it doesn't help

El unico juego de conan que tuve la oportunidad de tener entre mis manos es uno q salio para xbox360 que era realmente entretenido, tipo god of war

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88