Star Realms (PC and mobile game) : great fun for $5 or even free

in #gaming5 years ago

I have recently become a fan of deckbuilding card games as I was introduced to it by a guy that owns a local board game shop where you don't buy the games but rather pay a small fee to play them for as long as you want. The first thing, by chance, that he introduced me to was Hero Realms and I really look forward to playing that every week. In the meantime, the same company first made a sci-fi oriented deckbuilding game and as time has gone by it was turned into a PC and mobile game that is a lot of fun and well, you don't have to shuffle anything, be careful with the cards or clean up afterwards.


source

Unfortunately Hero Realms is not yet available in electronic form but this game functions in essentially the same fashion the only difference being that there are no classes that I have encountered thus far.

NewStarRealmsApp_HardAI_ColonyWars.jpg

The base game is playable for free but you only get a tutorial, and a few missions. Online play (ranked) and further missions well you have to pay for those. However, the full unlock for online play was only $5 and I think this is extremely fair.


source

Once you join online play every game is a new one because you have a human opponent that you are not allowed to talk to so we need not be worried about being mercilessly taunted by 9 year olds after they clean the floor with ya. As mentioned, the matchups are ranked so you will not be paired with an expert when you are a noob.

So far it is a lot of fun but I have discovered something that is probably quite obvious with all card games: The outcome is largely determined by luck. If the common cards in the middle of the table are not agreeable when your turn comes around there isn't really much strategy going on here. A massive part of the game is matching up the color codings or "factions" of your cards and if you have a deck filled with a bunch of different colors, you aren't going to be very effective. However, all card games depend largely on luck so this isn't unique.

Since it is free to check out there is really no reason to not at least have a look. Then if you get in there you can play against me and most likely win because even though I play this game a lot I don't really feel as though I am getting any better :P

download and try for free here

Sort:  

That is really cool! I am sorry, I must have missed that the store doesn't actually sell games. Since that is the case, disregard my comment on your other post about trading your pollution game for another one. He might still buy it from you and give you in store time credits though! Good luck as you continue to dive into these types of games. Hearthstone can be pretty intimidating if you are a noob. It takes a while to build a good deck and it has been around long enough that there are a lot of people with really good decks.

oh ok. not gonna play Hearthstone then. The good thing about the deck games that I am currently playing is that everyone has exactly the same access.

This is a good game. I'm really bad at it, though. Statistically, it should not be possible to lose as often as I do playing this, based just on luck.

I think I've won a single match once.

Posted using Partiko Android

oh wow! you are already in there. I am trying to find that sweet spot of money vs power in the start and well, i still can't find it

I always feel like I start fine and then it all goes downhill from there. My strategy is to save for one big thing and then start buying stuff up, but that may be why I lose so much.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @gooddream! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 1100 posts. Your next target is to reach 1200 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70181.59
ETH 3549.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74