What kind of Gaming content is the Crypto Community looking for?

in #gaming6 years ago

Gaming Content within the Steemit Community

Recently i was brought over to bring a different kind of content to Steemit and Dlive. As a live streamer and gaming content producer, I'm extremely interested in what kind of content interest the vast majority of you. The vast majority of you have your hand in them crypto market. Now, there is probably no direct correlation or causation, but it’s my job to figure out connections people like to make with systems and influence them to give them more content that they’ll enjoy.

Avatar.png

That seems really upfront, yea? In my opinion, it’s a terrible idea to hide your intentions from your audience. If you leave your intentions up to question of your audience, they also begin to question your motive for everything you do, and it just doesn’t work well for yourself, audience retention, or a ton of other things.

So, let’s do this in two parts. Let’s talk about me first, and what kinds of content that i do. Then, we’ll talk about you and what kind of content you’re interested in. This will mostly be done in the comments section, but I’ll be talking about my guesses based on what kind of gaming content trends here, or perhaps talk about the lack of certain content generation.

All About Me

I started producing gaming content back in 2010. I played on the Halo Reach MLG circuit. After Halo died out in pro play popularity, i created the Halo Lore Series (which is currently being uploaded here). This is what i gained a large amount of my initial success. Using that, i pushed my community forward to new things, because eventually i ran out of material to talk about in the halo universe.

I started making guides. My guides aren’t clickbait oriented “Here’s how you win every time,” or “The most powerful weapon in the game.” They’re very specific. I talk about a specific thing, how to do just it, and usually title the video in relation to that. For instance, I made a pubg video in the last year talking about better recoil control. That was it. It was called a recoil control guide. I’m very upfront about the kind of content you’re going to get out of me from the gate. I would rather have people come back for content that they know will be helpful instead of watching the 4th clickbait montage this week that in no way changes how they play the game.

It’s also about information content. A great example is one of my most viewed videos. This video is only about trying to find a firetruck in GTA V. When i got to this story mission people were having a lot of difficulty finding a fire truck. People were also spreading a lot of false-hoods as to how to find one. I drove around in Los Santos for a few hours, find a fire station with a fire truck in it, and made a video showing specifically where this location was. At the end of the video i directed them to my Crew page on GTA V Social club. This lead to my GTA V crew exploding to the size of 10,000 people.

Suddenly, i had 10,000 and nothing for them to do. I wanted to give these people a direction, something they could do with each other and that i could do with them. So, i created one of the largest GTA V racing leagues. Not the first, obviously. I totally stole the idea from another racing league, BUT critically i gave a bunch of people a reason to stay engaged with the community, and myself. We gave out monthly in game cash prizes to the winner of a racing series, we sponsored unique events. We mostly raced hyper and super cars, but we had events like the Go-Cart sand Durby. This lasted for about a year, and had a little bit of a re-birth every time GTA V came out on next gen consoles, and then PC’s.

The Journey of 5th’s

One of the more recently major things that i was involved in was solving the mystery of the 5th monitor in Destiny’s last raid, Wrath of the Machine. This raid was part of the last Expansion to Destiny 1 . Rise of Iron. Inside the raid there were 4 monitors that were easily accessible. After defeating the last boss, a door underneath his arena would open up. You had to actively search for this door after defeating the boss in order to find it, as it was completely out of sight. This door lead to a long hallway, with 5 laser grids and a locked chest. Each laser grid was deactivated by one of the monitors. After a solid week of searching no one would find the 5th monitor. Now, for the last 2 weeks, Bungie had an ARG going that tracked players infected by what we believed to be at the time, the origins of the Siva virus. I’m not explaining Siva, already too much info.

Before the image was completed: destiny-server-farm.jpg

In total there were 4 viruses. The order in which you received the virus determined what kind of code you saw in this ARG. There were 1024 combinations in total. This meant there were 1024 unique codes, which was a script that could be translated into an image. Each one of the 1024 unique images was a puzzle piece. So, it became a 1024 piece puzzle to solve. This 1024 puzzle then gave us an image which was a guide on how to start the activation sequence for the 5th monitor. Now, it didn’t tell us where, and left out a few other details, but it’s the internet. Pretty much every location and combination was tried within a few hours. Eventually, we figured out it was a guide to show us what battery banks to jump on. This started up two other monitors in a previous room, which showed a hexadecimal code. This hexadecimal code corresponded to the next two battery banks we had to jump on to. Once this was done and repeated a few times in the correct order, this massive black diamond split open to show us...the 5th monitor.

After the image was completed and transposed to a more friendly UI: S8HhxGIl.jpg

The Battery banks: maxresdefault.jpg

Now, it got a little bit more complex after that, there was a cipher code you had to figure out with people also in your group, BUT that part didn’t take long to figure out because it could be done in a group of 3 and didn’t require the participation of 1024 other people. So how did we get 1024 other people to participate? That’s where i came in. I wasn’t smart enough to figure all this out on my own. No way in hell i could figure this out in just a week. I helped direct people to give their information to the right people. My video received several thousands of views. Working with the guys that created the website and the algorithm to turn these codes into images, I funneled my audience through the steps of getting the code, and sending it to them.

This was possibly the most fun thing I had done in years. I was so deeply immersed in the community and the game during this time period. Things like this drive me to make guides, to build communities and give them a focus.

All About You

So, that's a short idea of everything that I've done. I think some of the more relevant points to me are in there. What about you? What about the steemit community. This is the part where I'll ask to leave comments down below on specifically what kind of content you want out of the gaming section within the Steemit and Blockchain community.

But, what have i noticed? A lot of really weird stuff. There aren't exactly a large portion, or any portion of people really, that are doing up to the minute coverage of new things in gaming. It all sees like they are doing what is currently interesting to them. While I'm sure thats much more stress free, it leaves a huge gulf in content creation. For instance, eventually I am going to do write up on Anthem and the new gameplay we've seen.

So let me know your thoughts in the comments. As always, upvote and follow if you enjoy the content, If not, at the very least comment and let me know what kind of things you are looking for.

I'll see you guys another time. Later, and GG.

Sort:  

Congratulations @gunzgaming! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Russia vs Croatia


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05