An Alphabetical Approach to My Steam Games Library Post #4

in #gaming6 years ago

In the thirteen years since I opened my Steam account, (Thanks, Half-Life 2) I've collected an enormous collection of games through various Steam sales, and bundles for sale through sites like Humble Bundle, Indie Gala, and Fanatical (formerly Bundle Stars).

The thing is, I haven't played almost any of them, but the most 'popular' titles, and I've got no idea what is good, and what is bad. Steam does have a system of user reviews; but I like to experience things for myself, without context, and to suspend judgement from what others have written.


Steem Stats Sourced from Steemdb.info

So here we go, approaching my Steam Collection with alphabetical precision. I don't know what the frequency of these posts will be, but I can tell you that there may end up being a lot of them!

Alpha Protocol

Remember that time that SEGA and Obsidian Entertainment teamed up to make a Mass Effecty style ""Espionage RPG""? I do, the Year was 2010, and the game was released on the major platforms of the day, PC, PS3, and Xbox 360. I picked this one up as part of a Sega pack, and did enjoy the game when I played it the first time round.

It is an Unreal 3 engine powered game, which means it scales decently, looks pretty good, and will today, run on pretty much anything. There are lots of spying things to do, choices to make, and a fairly decent story.

The game is a little bit ""heavy"" for an Unreal 3 engine game, and doesn't feel as fluid as other titles using the engine, in particular when using guns, which is influenced by your skill level (not your twitch abilities).

Overall, it remains an enjoyable title, but only something to play if your enjoy stuff like Mass Effect and feel like being James Bond for a while.

Verdict
6/10

Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs

20180505121605_1.jpg

A game full of darkness, men who are half pig; and very deft explanations as to what the hell is going on at any moment. There's atmosphere galore, tense soundtracks, and a story that is fed to you with a rusty spoon.

A rusty spoon, that is slowly falling apart, just like much of the environment that you explore. There's a Steam punk-ish lair full of contraptions, old telephones, and scrawled writing. The story unfolds as you walk through the world, solving simple puzzles along the way.

It isn't a terrible game, but the presentation and at times frustrating controls lead to an ultimately unfulfilling experience that is more about ambience than the plot itself. But hey, it was free when I obtained this game, and will probably be free again at some point in the future.

It isn't the greatest survival horror game that you'll ever play, but it is definitely a good one. Brilliant atmosphere, let down by possibly too much darkness, and a masterpiece in getting you interested via a lack of detail; except the lack of detail is the weak point.

Verdict
6/10.

Amnesia: The Dark Descent

I probably played these games in the wrong order, but I'm okay with that. The Dark Descent, being the first in the Amnesia series appears to be signficiantly more polished that Machine for Pigs, with more narrative hooks, gameplay features; and less ambiguity surrounding the entire game.

It feels more like an experience than it does a game, but its still something that drags you in with its rusty hook for more and more as you progress further and furher into the title.

There's not much here that is different to the core mechanics of the other Amnesia game that I've played, but I feel as though this one is definitely better.

Verdict
7/10

I don't know when I'll be back with the next installment of this series, but keep a keen eye out for my gaming related posts, and be sure to follow @steemgc for gaming news and reviews, to which I contribute on a regular basis!

Sort:  

Gaming is my life and Sure will keep my eyes open

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

i love geming,and you game account value is high,best of luck

Somehow I've missed your last post, but I've read it a few minutes ago. Well, we already talked about the "Age of..." series anyway and that other two games... just looked at the trailer of that Airscape game and I had to close it because I was afraid of seizures.

But I have all the games from this article (I don't even know where I got Alpha Protocol from, maybe the Make War Not Love promotion) and I'll probably play them later. Especially the two Amnesia games because I'm halfway through SOMA (I'll finish it today probably) and I feel like I'm in the middle of something really great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70541.68
ETH 3582.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.74