D&D, Homebrewing and Introduction to my protagonists.

in #gaming6 years ago

Alright my fellow steemians let’s talk some D&D!

924066040.jpg
(Photo by @lizfernandezg)

Let me go right ahead and confess that I’m not what you would call a veteran Dungeon Master, I actually started playing back when the fourth edition was coming out, and back then I though the 4e was great if you can believe that, but I digress.

There’s plenty of ways to play a tabletop role-playing game, but I always get drawn to the homebrewing aspect of the whole thing, if you read my #introduceyourself post you might be familiar with my peculiar disposition to make up the whole worlds (sometimes universes) from scratch, using the rules as the role-playing framework, and changing everything else.

I love telling my players how this world came to be, the lay of the land, the names of its deities, the terrible catastrophes that changed its history and more. Most times I just give my players subtle clues on how the world is when we gather up for character creation, so let me tell you about my last campaign.

My last campaign was sadly cut short for a variety of reasons, but it was one of the closest to my heart, and it was because it was a Castlevania homebrew. Yeah I know, that must have read like the cheesiest thing in the world; but I loved it, and more importantly, my players too.

I had a few customization rules, only humans and tieflings allowed, made up a custom hunter subclass based on the vampire hunters from the video games (the ecclesia hunters, not the Belmont clan though), and it was set in the real world so real world religions and myths were the source of the majority of magic-based abilities and spells.

My players had been recruited by a powerful catholic order that had been founded with aims to thwart the upcoming resurrection of Count Dracula, and they converged on the north coast of Turkey, preparing themselves for a trip crossing the Black Sea destined for the recently destroyed town of Kustendje (modern day Constanta, Romania).

1.jpg (Original map, made by me in spanish, based on historical Wallachia)

They didn’t know each other so they took the opportunity to introduce to one another during the trip. I was about to go into the first encounter, but let me introduce my protagonists first.

This is Steemit, so you might know some of them:

@Tsukuyomi had a warlock, dark and broody (and also partially possessed by a dark entity). Just the type of gal she likes to pilot in these kind of games.

@Mariandrapf had a wizard, a divination one at that, she’s been into occult stuff from some time now and it was a perfect fit for her.

3.jpg (Handmade art by @Mariandreapf herself!)

@Danielcosmos had a wizard too; he was a bald black sage with a cold strategic mind, just like the guy behind it not bald (yet) though.

@Milo.mar was my insider and a vampire hunter, pretty bad-ass, but a little shy. Just like the real one.

2.jpg (Another piece by @Mariandreapf )

@Davecprince was a bard, the emergent leader of the squad. He was jokes all around, but when things got serious he carried the day.

Alright! so, tomorrow I'll take you through their first encounter, until then, thank you so much for your time. Feel free to contact me, at [email protected]

Cheers!!

Sort:  

Good times my dudes. 👌🏼

You can see how much I have improved by looking at my wack drawings back then 😂😂😂

Updated version of the characters on my articles (wink wink)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85