Beginning my journey. (Creating a Video Game Part 1)

in #gaming6 years ago

Sup Steem punks & Steem princesses!


I recently made a post about my experiences with game design.


I have created a few prototype games, and being an idiot I never backed them up, and lost them due to my computers hard drive failing. I recently decided to get back into "the game" so to speak. If you want to hear about my experiences with the game I build, Click here ... I want to develop again and this is the beginning of my journey. I have a game in mind that I want to create. It is the same concept as I was making before. It is a space themed game. I am super excited to start development and I definitely look forward to bringing you along on the process.
Creating a game.png

What kind of game?


This is going to be a mashup between a Platformer, Action Rpg, and Adventure game. Quite the task in front of me with this. I will begin development on the "first level" of sorts ASAP. The introduction level to the game will bring forth a small challenge created to teach the player the controls of the game. The story will start with an astronaut who is on the moon. His vehicle wrecked on the moon surface, so he has to climb asteroids, rocks, and pieces of a space station in order to get up to the actual space station itself. It will include 1 single enemy and all the player will be obligated to do is kill the enemy, grab an item, and use the asteroids to platform up to the mother ship. The fun comes in with the platforming elements. It will require a few risky maneuvers and some strategy.

Image source

Gaining resources


To begin development I will need to gather a few resources. I plan to gather resources and add things as I go. This is going to be a project I am doing COMPLETELY for fun. If you have suggestions or want to see something in the game, be sure to let me know in the comments and Ill see what I can do. I started by downloading the Unity3d game engine. I chose this game engine because I am already somewhat familiar with it. I will be using mostly Javascript for this game with that I have the most basic experience with this coding language and would like to expand my knowledge on it. I will be using a combination of free and paid assets to create my game, so dont be surprised if you recognize some things. I also will be using royalty free sounds and music from my own music library to create this game. I will be using voice overs that are recorded in house. Any animation in the game will also either be animated by me personally or pre scripted in a royalty free domain.

Image source

Step 1


To start I need a skymap of what appears to be space. There are plenty of free ones to choose from online. Same goes with texturing. I would like to find a way to create the most realistic texture of moon rocks as I can. This is where a challenge is to play. Creating the environment is my first goal. Adding assets to the environment will come after. I would first like to create a FPS system that common and easy to learn. So to start, we will have a full environment and a character with a controller, inventory, and weapon system that we can play in that environment with. I am more than likely going to use an advanced pre scripted FPS controller system, with that it will be easier for me to tweak and make into the actual controller system I am looking for.

Image source

Progress.


I will update my blog with progress through posts similar to this one. I will be sure to include images and videos of the game as I create it. Ill be updating you guys on every step of the way and we can develop this space game together. It is going to be a fun journey and I hope you guys tag along for the crazy adventure ahead of us. Follow me for more updates concerning this project. I am excited to see what we get! For more updates follow me @johnroomusic

Sort:  

Wooow, i will wait for your video game bro,,,, hope you success to create it

Upvoted - Followed - Commented

It is going to be a fun ride :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30