Jumping off of planets (Making A Video Game)

in #gaming6 years ago

Sup Steem punks and Steem princesses!


The world has come together at last!We have a fully functional world and it feels like we are on a desolate moon.


Creating a video game is a long and patient experience. I have had some success with my plans and things are looking really good so far.
Creating a video game.png
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

A huge terrain.


Today I started by making my terrain HUGE! I dont want the entire terrain accessible, with that the moon is pretty empty in reality, but I also wanted my player to feel like they were looking down on a massive moon as they were standing on our spaceship. This was done using a combination of terrains. I put up bumpers at a certain point so the character cannot walk too far. I combined this with a skymap that shows endless moon ground and curvature, and this is what you get. The game will start with the play on the moon. They will have to climb up various objects and asteroid rocks in order to get up to the space station. The space station view is awesome. This is also an example of the terrain connecting to the skybox image. Check it out:
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png
Space5.png
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

On top of the moon


As you can see it really looks as though you are standing on a massive structure that is the moon. For as long as the eye can see there is moon terrain, much like if you were standing on a mountain. I have no fully textured anything in the game yet. I am just trying to create the proper functions for now. Later I will add better texturing and modeling. For now I have added a few assets.
Space2.png
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

Asteroids


I would like to add a metoetor shower that attacks the hover craft of which brought you down to the moon from the space station. This would make it impossible to fly back up to the space station, therefore the character will have to platform from the meteoroids and debris from the destroyed ship to make it up to the mother-ship or space station itself. These asteroids also have a temporary skin. I want them to have a different look than the moon itself signifying that it came from another planet. Possibly an alien planet.
space3.png
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

Craft set to be destroyed/


The 3D model of this craft was actually taken from the Nasa Archive. They have tons of realistic 3D models of items used on real space trips. This just so happens to be one of those models. I plan to replace this with something that has less cartoony textures. As for now though , this is our destroyed space craft. I will have to snag a particle set from the unity store to create the meteor attack and the fire/explosions of the ship. I also will have to create custom panels for the ship making it look destroyed and also upgrading these graphics.
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png
Space4.png

Craters and the mother ship


As you can see the mother ship is going to be something that is fully interactive. You will be able to walk through parts of the mother ship and select levels from here. I havent decided how I am going to swing this. Maybe by the time I am at this point in the game I will have learned how to procedural generate planets much like this one and we can have a nice open universe to explore sandbox style. Definitely an ambitious project and I would like to mainly focus on the first level here. Maybe you guys can help me pick a solid direction for this game.
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

What makes it fun.


The game is going to most be FPS and platforming elements. I plan to add an RPG system later, but for now the fun will come from platforming on these various planets in order to get up to the top and see a magnificent view. I plan to add an item collecting system, so we can create goals and puzzles with the use of items. I also plan to add a TON of platforming to this game. Imagine a first person Super Mario Galaxy with more realistic graphics.
DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

Future Plans


The character controller will have a number of cool functions to make this fun. To mention a few,

  1. I would like to add a jetpack or booster system. Something to boost our character a little bit further than just a regular jump. This will go in combination of the regular jump in order to get to certain further areas.
  2. A ledge climbing system. This way when you barely make it on the edge of a surface you can climb up. It will give that close call kind of feeling that you may feel while playing Far Cry 3 or something of that sort.
  3. I would like to add a health system that not only reacts to falling but also reacts to enemy hits. We will be introducing enemies later on in the game, but I still would like to have the system implemented and the function for fall damage in effect.
  4. A weapon system with an inventory. To make it simple it will start as melee weapons system and we will be fighting with tools an Astronaut might use such as a wrench or something of that sort. The play will be able to choose from an assortment of items and weapons.
  5. After I have implemented all of this I would like to find a more realistic feeling First person controller system. Something that is pressure sensitive on a controller. Unfortunately the system I am using now is very basic. It allows me to run and jump around my world but it is a simple setup.
    DQmUWMWCtcj7MoLW2jdruvew1U8hu1LApdXKqxz8kP8hqST_1680x8400.png

    Travel the universe


    The combination of these things will make things interesting and fun. The platforming elements will be the heavy focus although you will be fighting enemies will platforming, gaining new items that allow for crazier maneuvers(IE:Hookshot, Bungy rope) and an RPG system that allows the player to distribute points for Health, Higher Jump, or Heavier attack. This should make for an interesting experience for the player. I hope to take them all over the universe. I am glad you guys are checking out my game design blogs, if you want to keep up with my space platformer game, follow me at @johnroomusic and I will be showing updates of my game as I go. Hopefully I will have another update in the next day or so. Stay awesome and game on! PS I know I need to activate my windows. I have a bought copy, but this is a hacked version of the software with tweaks and I need to register it. I just got lazy.
Sort:  

This s really, really cool!

Can't wait to see future developments!

PLEASE CHECK THE UPDATED USER GUIDE
Released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote, comment and resteem from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Yea definitely! I will be working on it more this week. I'm excited myself :)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66