I made an investment in my @dlive account!

in #gaming6 years ago

Hey Steemit, second post in one day which always makes me happy. I’m home after an afternoon of editing and hanging with my son, @guthrie. He’s finally asleep and I’m able to relax while watching UFC 224. Tomorrow is going to start early and be busy, so I’m glad I found time to unwind.

Speaking of unwinding, I wanted to share with a recent STEEM rewards backed investment. Investing in what, you may ask? My @dlive account, of course! I’m going to give a brief backstory. I am a reformed gamer, and it’s been well over a decade since I’ve really committed to a game. iOS games would occupy my time here and there, but I’ve totally missed the Skyrims, Farcry’s, Assasin’s Creed’s.

For some reason, I’ve been called to God of War 4 like sea weary sailors to the sirens. I don’t have cable […and haven’t for all of my thirties], but ads found their way to my social media pages. Even my friends’ endorsements have been further peer pressuring to bite on this game. I own an old, beat up PS3, so if it were to happen, I’d have to buy an new PS4.

One thing I’ve learned in my two years of cryptocurrency, when it’s up, it’s usually a good time to buy something you’ve needed or wanted but never bought yourself. I’ve been watching @dlive streams from @acidyo, @iamredbar, @exyle and a few others, thinking how fun it would be to do my own streams of console games. After vacillating […and a few more days of advertising bombardment] I finally did it.

I’m now the proud owner of a 1TB PS4 Pro. A pretty sweet bonus what a Target promotion that offered a 4K/HDR ready game for free with purchase, which in our case was God of War 4. I also picked up a copy of Overwatch for @guthrie. I can’t wait to set up OBS and this beast to start streaming. Thank you, Steemit! 

Sort:  

I am the type of gamer who can go months without playing anything, and then I break out an old game and just play it and do little else for a few days. Usually this game is Sim City, because it's endless. It kinda also happened with Civ 3 & ...5? I think we're the ones I had? ...when that laptop was working, but I'd burn through a game in three hours. It kinda loses me if a round doesn't even last the day. LOL

WARNING! The comment below by @dimarikkk leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

I love it how you call this ”an investment”, I like to lie to myself too when I buy new toys 😝

Haha you'll have some fun with that. Great choice of games too, although GOW will drive you nuts...in a good way though.

Oh man, I get this urge regularly too. I’ve actually owned a PS4 three (3!) separate times now and each time sold it after 6 months or so. Not because I didn’t enjoy it, it was either to pay bills or because I felt guilty spending more time on it than drawing!
If my will crumbles and I go for #4 eventually, I’ll have to hunt you down on PSN.
Enjoy!

Really? I didn't realize there was four versions of a PS4, @bryan-imhoff. The nerd at Target told me this is kind of like the PS4.5. I don't think if that's true. It's suppose to have a faster processor and it's 4K/HDR ready. I guess it can also be used with the PS4VR. I agree. In fact, I've actively kept one out of my house, but with the advent of @dlive, it's kind of hard to not justify it. I can make money while playing, so where is the guilt? lol

I just bought a PS4 3 different times! By #4, I meant my fourth go round! I think the first two were “normal” and the last one was a Pro. I’ve got no console at the moment. Streaming to dLive does seem to justify it a bit! 🤔

I am so glad that you love watching ufc,who's your favourite?
And the ps4 looks wow,i never used it hope to purchase it soon with my steemit earnings

but I’ve totally missed the Skyrims

You must try Skyrim! It is my favorite game and I sometimes miss playing it. They released a new version with better graphics. If you like RPG Skyrim is probably the best.

Enjoy your ps4! :)

@tarotbyfergus is a big Skyrim nerd, @dedicatedguy, and he constantly tells me it's the best game ever made. He's tried the VR version, too, which sounds unreal. I have to be careful. I can't play games that eat up my entire weekend [...or week]. I have way too much to do.

I haven't have yet the pleasure to try the VR version, but the basic version with all 3 expansions were the best experience I have ever had with a video game. And there are even PC mods that add entirely new lands and missions

Look at this video and tell me if this doesn't look like something epic? Skyrim should be made into a movie

That is cool! Enjoy the games. Streaming is really fun!

Exactly my thought! One day I will buy a GPU for my rig and start the long-awaited gaming life and that would be a great chance to make use of the Dlive platform for streaming. So my gaming time is also productive time. Also, to not disturb my blogging theme for main account, opening up an alternate account just for that purpose seems to be the best idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87