RPG Book of the Week – 11

in #gaming5 years ago

Another system that I have started using more often is Savage Worlds, from Pinnacle Entertainment Group.

20190314_085329.jpg

This system uses almost all of the polyhedral dice. I say almost all because the d20 is only used once in a great while when determining some bad consequences. Convention games don't tend to get that dire so it doesn't get used during most of those that I run.

The basic rundown is each character has certain attributes, like Agility and Strength. These attributes are assigned different dice to represent each character's different physical traits. One character may have a d6 in Agility while another may be more agile and have a d10. Skills are done the same way and are modified by things called Edges and Hindrances.

When a dice roll is needed, the dice type listed for an attribute or skill is rolled along with another d6 that is called a wild die. If the max number on a die is rolled it gets re-rolled and the resultant number is added to the first number. Then success/failure is determined.

I use this system when I want/need more defined character components. Or when I want to run a game that is more serious in terms of content.

-Dean

Sort:  

I like how adaptable this system is and the different settings it has. I had a session of Hellfrost at a con and am currently playing in a Sundered Skies campaign as a grumpy old dwarf (I made a post about that some time ago).

Posted using Partiko Android

I haven't had too much experience with Savage Worlds in play, but the story frameworks that they use for adventures are brilliant and have inspired me ever since.

Savage Worlds is so... savage. I have had a lot of fun playing games using this system. And lost a few characters along the way. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61166.56
ETH 2987.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71