Reflections on D&D, 4/6

in #gaming5 years ago

I ran a game of D&D today, and I figure I may as well use the opportunity to go over what happened and reflect on my practice.

I opened up today's session in a new way: asking the players what they wanted to see in the game. I generally got confirmation that they want a short combat every session (today's session was largely over long prolonged battle, so oops).

They also wanted higher level play, which I generally don't like, and more magic items.

I'm not a huge fan of magic items that give a strong combat benefit, but I do want them to get a lot of utility magic items, so long as doing so won't jeopardize the utility of spellcasting.

I already have a few classics planned (everburning lantern/torch, since most of the campaign is taking place underground; pocket boat; some sort of remote communication device) but I've also got some ideas for deeper magic items.

They were going through some bandit-infested caves, and met a goblin named Rur. Rur was supposed to be guarding the hideout (an old Imperial installation) but instead had fallen asleep. After surviving several consecutive attempts to interrogate or kill him, Rur spilled the beans about the bandits, and also told the party that they had taken prisoners.

Unfortunately for the party, they immediately alerted the bad guys in the outpost, because Rur's boss asked him a question through the door, and the bard who replied did not match Rur's voice well.

The resulting battle was brutal, with two of the bandits fleeing to get their boss. Rur had told them that the bandit leader had been emboldened after a sorceress had joined him, and had gotten more reckless (like, for instance, taking a young nobleman and messenger of the King hostage), so the party has to act quick.

The party decided that they were not ready to take on all the bandits after a close call with the welcoming party, and hurried to get the party out. The party's sorcerer cast a grease spell on the doorway, which was unfortunately also a cause of harm as the escaping nobleman slipped and fell in it twice, and the kobold reinforcements fell prone as well. Normally this would have been beneficial, but the disadvantage on ranged attacks proved problematic.

The bard had his only successful dice roll as a result, however, getting a critical hit on the last surviving kobold before the party fled into the larger cave structure of the Rift.

Upon returning to Hope, the capital of the Free People of the Rift, they were knighted by the king. The party plans to export the noble to the academy at Hivegate, a place they were already planning to go, and received a mission from the king's spymaster, Iridar, to hunt down the traitor Marcus of Irondwell, who was suspected of getting there.

All in all, I think the session was a success. It clearly leads forward to new plot opportunities, and allowed some exposition of the setting. Rur and his boss are likely going to return at a later date, since both fled (and escaped the party while doing so).

I got more into characters than I usually do. I'm trying to start giving them more voice and personality. I'm not perfect at it yet, but I think I had something of a breakthrough on that front today.

We were playing on Fantasy Grounds. That made it more interesting, because I also had to redo my microphone setup. I ran a one-shot Degenesis game for a podcast a couple weeks ago, and my mic was being a problem near the end, so I wanted to fix the issues that led to that. I think I succeeded. I record all my games, though I don't usually post the recordings, so I plan on going back and giving it a listen.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

The grease spell ... such fun to be had!

It does lend itself to a world of possibilities. Unfortunately, our sorcerer did not use it perhaps as wisely as possible. It tripped up or rerouted quite a few friendlies.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 18 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 4 SBD worth and should receive 105 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @loreshapergames! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 600 comments. Your next target is to reach 700 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Sounds like a gloriously fun and chaotic session, as most great sessions tend to be. Lots of creativity on the part of the players, lots of stuff going wrong creating conundrums for them, and a setup for future encounters that call back to this one. Excellent work, @loreshapergames! :)

Congratulations, this post was rewarded with a SteemGC Upvote!

SGC_Logo_Font_style_2.png

Want to meet fellow Steemit gamers and earn upvotes yourself? Join the SteemGC Discord channel!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87