This War of Mine Walkthrough: Day 4, Defying Survival Instincts

in #gaming6 years ago

I've been around more than any of my relatives. I've met famous people, readers found my interview funny and incisive. But when I try to write down my experiences..... I'm stuck. I want to find and hug my folks, not write about them. I wish I had been seeing them more often

It's an emotional torture for Katia who has just arrived from the hospital. The reception was unexpected and I was- for one- surprised. This means our Injured characters can be taken care of even when we have no meds. The nurse made it clear that we could stop by if we need any help - health wise. The issue of food stuffs too can be solved at the hospital, trade by barter just for few meds and bandages that may not immediately be needed. She is met with a very hungry Bruno who is now wondering if there are animals in the city, he says he could eat a rat or a pigeon right now. Pavle is the least of my worries now as he appears just sparingly hungry- not tired nor has he slept poorly - he says getting food for his "very hungry" friends should be his priority right now.

image

All Images are Screenshots from my Mobile

The funny part is... There's food! They just won't take it unless you initiate the action. Am I too much of a dictator? I think not, the developers are. I help Bruno eat some carrots but carrots are carrots, he is "still very hungry". He's gonna need more than that to pacify his already rumbling belly. He takes another much of a food and his hunger is to an extent quenched. While he was eating he said he would rather have it cooked. I really wish I know how to cook food but I don't yet. Do we upgrade our simple workshop? More like it! Since we have all the components needed, I say we get to work. Bruno gets to it

And.....
image

There's someone at the door, not a trader this time around

It's a boy, a young one at that. Katia opens the door to hear his mission. And he surprises Katia by mentioning having a daughter. Apparently, she is a woman, a short woman who needs our help; She has heard the rumors of thieves/looters pillaging houses, raping and ransacking. She says she can lock her door but she is afraid of her window which needs Boarding up. Her husband was taken by the rebels when the war was at its early stages and hasn't returned ever since. I could say No and I could go with her. I don't want to appear crude here, we did and we do what we need to do to survive, like robbing the old couple but since there's no imminent threat, We are going to help. Katia leaves with her as Zora (the visitor) continuously appreciates the kind gesture
image

THE WORKSHOP UPGRADE IS DONE
  • An arm chair is now available, different from the conventional wooden chair, you can forget about the war if you sit on it with a good book. We also can now board up our windows, this will minimize raiding.

  • The Herbal Workshop: A table with some equipment where we can prepare herbal meds, bandages and low quality roll-up cigarettes. We can later upgrade it to make real meds and good quality cigarettes.

  • The Herbal Garden: Using Fertilizers, we can grow some herbs here and use them to make medications or cheap cigarettes. We can improve it to grow vegetables.

  • Trap: We simply set the traps for meat. Meat in this case are houserats, the minority occupants in this five-storey building. Desperate times fall for desperate measures. We need all we can get.

  • Guitar: Having something to occupy is important. I remember during my last play, a young girl who had sought refuge at our place, she was always moody when I made her a skipping rope, I was surprised at how elevated she was. A guitar can brighten up our mood.

Well well well... The two characters left appear to be at loggerheads over Katia's decision to help the neighbors. While, pavle thinks we did the right thing by helping our next door neighbor, Bruno thinks it was a stupid idea. He says we need all the help we can get in scavenging and guarding the home, he is not wrong though. The struggle for survival leads to harsh decisions which must be taken without the blink of an eye. The 100, a tv series taught me that. I haven't learnt anything. Bruno retires to his previous job, the clearing of rubbles while Pavle quickly makes an armchair

THE NIGHT IS HERE

image
We need materials, in huge amounts. Following our upgrades, we see a chance to up our lifestyle and do more than just survive behind the walls. The shelled cottage proved the best option for us. There are lots of food, parts, meds and "Huge amount of materials". Interestingly, there's no forewarning or caution advice. Upon arrival, Bruno is met with rats, a shelled cottage as the name implies, the environment looks gloomy. No sign of human life but a corpse can be seen dangling from the window. It looks like he was wounded and died shouting for help. Whatever the case may be, we are here only for the materials.
image

The backpack capacity appears to have diminished, I can't take a lot of materials with me. This reduces our hunt. Bruno collects the much valued materials and returns home.

Will Katia be back?

Get your answer in the next episode.

Link to Previous Episodes:
Day 1, Day 2, Day 3.

image

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

Sure, blame the developers on you having to be dictator-- hehe. Some games out there sure love to make you micromanage everything. I tend to be a packrat in games so having a hefty limitation on backpack space would do me in!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71