Paladins Strike - Never ending loot in your mobile!

in #gaming6 years ago

I'm back with my gaming "reviews." Did you miss me? This time, I picked up a mobile version of Paladins - Paladins Strike. Its ratings on Google Play made me quite surprised. Is 3.9/5.0 accurate? Let's check it out!

Paladins-strike-featured-840x475.jpg

It's not a new game. It has been available for Android and iOS for more than half a year, but I haven't gotten to it until now. Before I didn't want to play it because I never tried a similar game. I was always just watching my bf getting angry when playing. But that changed after training tactics on the PC version.

Graphics


I played the game on high settings, and I like the graphics a lot. I would even say that the character models are much more detailed and better than on PC version. I also have a high setting on my laptop. I don't know where the problem is.

Gameplay


If you've ever played a similar game, the gameplay will not surprise you. After selecting the game mode, the UI will show up how long you are in the queue but don't worry. You won't have to wait long. The match is usually found within half a minute. The bigger problem is that some people somehow can't confirm that they are ready and so you must repeat this procedure again and again until all ten players are ready. Then you can choose the character you want to play. If you want to have a better chance of winning it is better to wait for the others to choose and choose what is missing. I mostly end up with a tank or a support (heal). Once you have confirmed your choice with the Play button, you can't change the character to another. All you can change at this moment is its skin.

Screenshot_20180531-135733.png

When all players selected their character, a madly long loading screen will appear, and you will wait at least 2 minutes for a person whose internet would be overtaken by a slug.

Screenshot_20180531-132625.png

Well, then you can play. With your left thumb, you control the movement and with the right the direction of shooting and spells, as well as in other mobile games.

Screenshot_20180531-135823.png

And you don't have to buy items here. In the mobile version of Paladins, when you reach a new level, a selection of 2 enhancements will appear below, and you have to choose one.

Screenshot_20180531-132812.png

But even with it, you'll be fucked when playing with a bunch of noobs and idiots, so it's always better to find one or two other friends you can play with.

If you are not lucky and you have no friends to play Paladins Strike with, don't despair. Each match is relatively short because only two winning points are needed, so your suffering will end quickly.

Screenshot_20180531-133633.png

Or vice versa and you'll be marked as MVP on the final table, which will accomplish your daily quest! Whee! And if you liked the style of playing some of the teammates, you can just add him to your friends and maybe play some game with him next time. Two people added me already! I'm really proud of myself! If it was not a misclick...

Nobody cared about payload.

So that's all about gameplay. But I have to say that insane swiping of the screen often hurt my fingers and when my hand is sweating, the display badly reacts to the touch. And those lags. Lags are the main reason for most of the bad reviews. I got them too, and I could hardly play it when on the toilet. It wasn't about my internet or their servers. It was enough to disable Discord or some similar application running in the background.

Modes


In addition to the classic Siege, which is automatically ranked after playing ten games, you can also play Deathmatch (the one that gets the 30 kills first won) and Summons. It is a mode in which you try to summon a giant mob sooner than the enemy team and with the help of it destroy their tower.

Screenshot_20180531-140858.png

Pay2win?


Not really. Sure, the third currency (crystals) is pretty hard to get in the game. So if you don't want to wait for an eternity to have enough of it, then just break a piggy bank and buy it. But thanks to all the lootings and daily rewards you can improve or buy some character without losing a single cent.

Characters can be improved only by runes, but a talent tab is already in place so, in the future, there will be definitely something more. Red runes means damage, green max health and blue vary according to the character.

Screenshot_20180531-140729.png

Characters


In the game, there are available 25 characters that you can know very well from a PC version from which Viktor, Grohk, Cassie, Makoa, and Buck are the basic characters you get at the beginning to help you cover all types (damage, flank, support, front line).

You have to buy the others for game currency (crystals or tickets) or loot them. But I will talk about it later.

Screenshot_20180531-112222.png

Powerful Skins


Do you make fun of your friends, that your legendary skin in Overwatch will add you some damage boost? Well, at Paladins Strike it won't be so much fun, and every time you see that loading screen, you will tear your hair that the whole enemy team has some skin on their characters. I'm not kidding! Each skin adds + 5% to rune attributes (and + 100% gold acquisition). This shit is real!

Looting simulator


It will come to me that nowadays all mobile versions of the well-known games contain an incredible amount of all kinds of loot options and that almost every single fart released in the game will bring you some reward. It is nice that even some noobs will get some reward but when you play the game a lot it is quite annoying.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (3).gif

For most of the completed quests and achievements, you get gold. The most useless currency in the game. Why useless? Because you can use it just to buy chests with runes, individual runes, gold boost, or to pay more Golden Box attempts. But every day you can only get a certain number of these stupid things. If you want more, you have to pay it by much rarer currency (Tickets). But I suggest you save it and buy some new characters. Well, only if you didn't install the game before 25 April.

What made me angry the most was that people who got to the game before 25 April got chance to loot one character for free every day within 14 days. Well, there's nothing bad about it yet, until my bf installed the game. He once tried it and after a few days uninstalled, but after a new installation, guess what happened! He had one extra loot option of a free character! Are you fucking kidding me? What kind of discrimination is this? I also want free characters! When you cancel something, then cancel it to all people?!

But it really made me upset, and I wanted to uninstall the game. Why should I have to save some currency for the characters when someone who didn't give a fuck about the game and then come back gets them for free?!

On 25 April they replaced it with the so-called Login Award. Every day within 14 days you can loot skin, runes, stupidities and three characters. Well, three characters are still less than 14 or not?

Screenshot_20180605-135920.png

And let's not forget to comment on those runes. Every single rune and rune chest is random, so be sure that most of them won't belong to the characters you have.

Summary


Paladins Strike is a nice game with nice graphics for all fans of the Paladins and other team shooters. The matches are swift and will take you just a few minutes. The only thing I don't like about the game is the overwhelming looting of everything. This should be a bit limited to make the Paladins Strike not just the dead Loot Simulator.

I gave 4.0/5.0 to Paladins Strike. I would give 4.5, but the Free Champions really pissed me off.






May the seed be with you! :D










Sort:  

It is unfair to have less characters with unlucky joining date. But there were worse examples with some other games. Think at H1z1 or Wildstar. People even gave serious $$$ for those games and others just created an account next week. On the other hand i think games for mobiles just have too many problems. ( thats why i dont really play anything on my phone but thats my opinion )
I play the normal version of Paladins btw :D
keep up the good work!

Thank you :)

Yeah, it pissed me off! I'm OK with that they replaced free champions with something else, and if I didn't see that my bf has one more option I wouldn't know about it. But when you change something, then this change should affect all people...

But there were worse examples with some other games.

I heard about them :D

Hi pipiczech,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Oh, wow, I'm speechless. Thank you very much, @curie! :) It made me very happy!

Congrats on the curie upvote. You did write very good review :)

Amazing review, I really loved that personal touch your writing has!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00