DIY Loom Knitted Gaming Headphone Covers

in #gaming5 years ago (edited)

20171203_144525.jpg

I love my Turtle Beach headset but the foam cover on the earpieces was falling apart. And when I say falling apart, I mean was nearly non-existent. My husband was having the same problem with his. Being the avid DIYer that I am, I thought, "I can knit some covers for us!"

I took to the internet in search of a pattern only to find a bunch of crochet patterns and a couple of needle patterns but no loom knitting patterns for headphone covers. Hmm. Oh well. I wasn't going to let a lack of patterns stop me! I'd been watching tons of YouTube videos on loom knitting projects and thought I'd gathered enough info to come up with my own solution.

Since I'm still fairly new to loom knitting I'm sure the more experienced out there could come up with a more elegant solution, but this gets the job done and my husband and I love our new headphone covers!

Knitting Loom: 24-peg (5/8" gauge) small round loom. Darice blue round loom used in the example.

Yarn: 21 yards #4 worsted weight 100% acrylic. Red Heart Super Saver, Spring Green used in the example.

Gauge: Not critical for this pattern.

Notions:

Abbreviations:

  • CO = Cast on. This pattern uses the drawstring cast on.
  • Rnd(s) = Round(s)
  • k = u-wrap knit stitch
  • BO = Bind off. This pattern uses the Finish the Hat Flat bind-off from loomahat.com.
    Pattern Notes: This pattern is sized for the Turtle Beach Ear Force PLa Gaming Headset. I found that I only needed to knit 12 rows to achieve the proper size. Many gaming headsets are similar in size but if your is different, you may want to measure your ear piece for custom sizing.

Though this pattern uses the knit stitch, you'll turn the finished product inside out so that the purl side is facing out once the cover is fitting on the headphone ear piece.

DIRECTIONS

CO using the the drawstring cast on in the round.

Rnds 1-12: k across

BO using the Finish the Hat Flat bind-off.

Pull working yarn (yarn on BO end) to tighten (it should be completely closed with no hole) and weave in the ends.

Finishing

Turn knitting inside out (purl side should be facing you).

Gently pull the yarn at the end of the draw string CO to form a cup like shape.

Fit cover on your headphones and pull yarn to finish tightening it around your headphone ear piece.

Once fitted to your liking, weave in the end of your yarn around the edges (while cover is still on the headphone ear piece). This helps it stay on.!

Sort:  

Isn't it great if you know crafts? You can do all these things that others have no (or only expensive) solutions for and you can make them exactly how you need them. Needlework for the win!

Do you know #needleworkmonday? It's a community of people who love needlework - knitting, crocheting, sewing, cross stitch... every craft where a needle is involved is welcome. Each Monday we show each other (and the world) what we are working on, what we plan to do or what project just has been finished.

We share our love and passion for the needle arts and value comments and advice. With people from all over the world involved there is a vast pool of knowledge to be shared. Why don't you take a look at today's post - it's again a mix of all kinds of needlework.

btw: #needleworkmonday is only for use on Mondays, on other days best use #needlework for these posts and it's easily found by those that are interested in it :)

written by @muscara for @needleworkmonday

Hey thanks. I will have to check those hashtags out.

I do love that I am able to make things that we need at home. My husband frequently asks me "Do you think you could make...? when he needs something. Made him an eye mask for sleeping recently.

Congratulations @rachelmonelle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89