1MB PS1 Memory Card, 1TB of Childhood Memories

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)


"Damn hooman."

Due to my parents' line of work, we've been moving around from town to town quite a lot since I was a toddler (no, we're not fugitives). Lost, broken, or stuff simply left behind also happened a couple of times because of it. But now we're no longer moving out every 5 minutes like that anymore. You could say... we used to be adventurers like you, and then you finish that sentence yourself, will ya?

That thing on the picture above is one of my lost stuff that I found a few days ago in a dusty box full of dusty stuff, and the moment I picked it up, all the blissful memories suddenly flooding back. After all, it's a memory card...
And I also coughed a lot in there. 

I had a couple of memory cards back in the day, but I'm afraid this is the only one that stick with me all along. I can't remember exactly which of these gems are stored inside this 1mb memory card, but I remember having fun with all of these games. You'll notice that none of these games are the biggest of them all like MGS, Castlevania, Final Fantasy, or Vagrant Story, but these were absolutely great experience for little old me. Or is it supposed to be little "young" me? My head!


Xena: Warrior Princess

This was the fist hack and slash game I ever played. Armed with a sword that never get dull, and a chakram that you can steer mid-air, Xena slay! No seriously, if you press square after you throw the chakram, it can turn left, right, up, and down, then back to her hip. Not only can be used to kill, but also to flip switches and cut chains. 

Gabrielle is kidnapped by a sorceress, and Xena is a bad enough gal to rescue the Queen of the Amazons. But not before she hit a hanged shark and make items fall out of its mouth. Cool little detail!


One Piece: Grand Battle!

The moment I started writing this part, the theme song played in my head. Back when One Piece was booming and I didn't know that it's called "anime", I was amazed by the idea of making a video game version of a TV show. This is definitely an extra fun of my weekend when I was a kid. 

I once hurt my thumb for trying to use Luffy's special attack Gomu Gomu no Storm. I bled my thumb. Bled my thumb! Turns out the enemy must be in the air and you have to stand so close to them, then perform the button combintion. I only did a couple times by accident. 10/10 would bleed my thumb again.


Crash Team Racing

CTR, as we always call it, was always the best  This is the only Crash Bandicoot game I've ever played and I enjoyed the game and laughing to my friends' faces to the fullest. But when my cousin is around I was always in my best behaviour or he'll humiliate me in front of everyone. I rarely lost to my friends, but with my cousin I always lost. 

Aside of blasting the other characters off the road, the satisfaction also came even before the race ended, but also whenever I managed to make it to the secret shortcuts because some of them aren't so easily entered. This and One Piece: Grand Battle. We can never play these two games quietly and peacefully at my cousin's house. Our screaming and laughing and yelling could be heard across the neighbourhood. 


Far Cry 3



...Just kidding.


Vigilante 8: 2nd Offense

Now this is the shit. I've never got bored of this game. It's basically battle royale, but instead of human you control car. The idea of vehicles fighting each other with mounted guns on them was big to me. What I find even cooler is that nearly every structures can be destroyed, which some will affect the flow of the gameplay. 

Actually, it's hard to decide which character is my favourite, they're all equally fun to play in their own way. But if I'm to pick the top 3, it would be Thunderbolt, that astronaut monkey, and Tsunami. 

Yes, vehicular combat gameplay can be found in other game and the one that I've mentioned too, like Crash Bandicoot. But Vigilante 8's focus on combat instead of racing with combat, was new and awesome to me. A remaster, or maybe even another Vigilante 8 game would be great.


Tomba! 2: The Evil Swine Return

Now this one, is one of me and my dad's favourite games. Tomba! 2 is a side-scrolling platformer starring a main protagonist that behave like a cave man but knows how to dye hair. One thing I like about this game is when you find a new weapon, the old one won't rot in your inventory until you finish the game. All of them are useful both for combat and for clearing obstacles, which exist in every step of the game.  

Another thing is, I like how the 'obstacles' are presented. It's not like, "Get through this obstacle. Proceed to the next level." no. It's more like, "Get through this obstacle, and you'll unlock and discover the things you can see but you can't reach in the previous levels as well. And at the same time, more puzzling obstacles appear."  But note that not every "obstacles" are things to break like doors or something, but also tasks that must be completed. 


Now all I need is a PS1 to plug it in and jiggles like a silly cartoon character. There's some more games I'm going to write in part 2 of this post, trying to keep my post to be not too long this time. 

Thank you for stopping by, Steemian! 


Previous Posts:



Are you a gamer who produces outstanding gaming content here on Steemit? Come checkout Archdruid Gaming on discord! We are always looking for new and old amazing authors.


Images sources: Xena, One Piece, CTR, Far Cry, Vigilante 8, Tomba!.

Sort:  

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/nAUkxws. Good Game, Well Played!

I never had a PS anything except for a psp. So, all the titles are new to me, except for Far Cry 3 (ha ha).

I never had a ps1 as a kid, there's done great stuff in that back catalogue!

And here I am, having had a PS1 as a kid but didn't play several of the best PS1 games lol

I've been having problems with my PS1 memory cards as of late. I can create save files, but cannot update them at all. It won't let me overwrite the save.

You still have your PS1?
That's the same problem I had on my other memory card. Also, after a certain amount of time, the save files are all gone.

Yep, and my PS2. It'll load the file, but cannot save it. It's super weird...

I didn't even have a memory card in the first 3 years of playing PS1 (though I didn't need it, my family only played games that can be finished in one setting at the time.)

Sadly my PS1 died long long ago... I think my mother threw away what was left of it at the time (not sure.)

I too didn't have my memory card since the first day I bought my PS1. And the games I played were those that could really use a memory card, like Xena and Harvest Moon. Imagine the pain in the rear of restarting Harvest Moon over and over and over again. Not sure how I stayed sane back then.

Imagine the pain in the rear of restarting Harvest Moon over and over and over again. Not sure how I stayed sane back then.

Ouch!! Though I did the same with Digimon World 1. At the time I thought all the games can be finished in one sitting, I was basically trying to beat 30 hour game (with 30 mins on the barely playable prologue alone) in one day... Replaying the first few hours more times than I can count.

But I was happy doing that, every day there was something new.

Man , I now wonder where all my memory cards went? Good games in there. RESPECT #OpGAMING

Probably hidden somewhere in your house, waiting for you :)

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I had CTR Xena & Tomba 2 as a child, and emulated One Piece as a teen.

Actually my memories of PS1 could fill 100TB drive in HD!! But I think PS1 doesn't need that so I'll go with you: 1TB of memories.


First time I hear about this: Vigilante 8: 2nd Offense though...
Just realized this comment wasn't posted yesterday
my memories of PS1 could fill 100TB drive in HD!! But I think PS1 doesn't need that
The PS1 doesn't need that, the PS1 gave us that! And the friends we played it with. Oh the memories!

I meant the HD!! (but I agree with you.)

my memories of PS1 could fill 100TB drive in HD!! But I think PS1 doesn't need that

The PS1 doesn't need that, the PS1 gave us that! And the friends we played it with. Oh the memories!

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thats awesome 😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98