Classiq 2 HD Console Review - Rerez

in #gaming6 years ago

A constant question for retro gamers is what's the best way to enjoy your classic cartridge games today. Original hardware on a CRT monitor is the best way to get an authenticate gaming experience but what if you can't find a CRT monitor and your old one conked out years ago? Getting your old systems to work on modern TVs is difficult and you need the proper hardware. Well a company called Old Skool has come out with a solution for Nintendo fans who want to play their old NES and SNES games on their modern TV in HD — no emulation required. It's called the Classiq 2 HD and its internal hardware plays your old cartridges exactly how they would have been played on an original console and outputs them to your modern TV no problem. How does it hold up? Let's find out!


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

Great review Shane. Theres been a flood of clone consoles lately and they tend to all get lumped together. Many of them run off emulation or system on a chip, but seeing a system that essentially uses real hardware makes it stand out. It would be nice if it supported more systems though. The convenience of the Retron 5 is a big selling point for myself, but for anyone who is a big NES/SNES fan, this seems like a really good option.

This really is a good option for folks avoiding emulation. :)

I agree! Just may buy my father one for Christmas. I see this as a great holiday gift for those who love old consoles and old school gaming. Thanks for the review! Adding to my Christmas list! I could use an emulator but it's not the same feel and as a true gamer you would know.

CRT monitor really is the best way for me to watch.

Nice very good .men ni smaji ap ki bat mgar phir bi ap kp gopd dy dia pta ni kun agla tars aa gia him tayn mesny ty

It looks like a good console, with these new TVs just made it difficult to collect games, in my view.

Thanks for the review. Those consoles make heart beat faster but I always end up playing on an emulator.
It's all for TMNT Adventures ! xD

TMNT always good games. I remember the times of TNMT 4 turtles in time. I played that game too much.

what a rezer it was like it very much,

This is a fantastic idea. I need to get my hands on one of these for all my old consoles. I never play them anymore because of the connection difficulties. Thanks again for providing our community with another great post @rerez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75