Top 5 NES Games - Rerez

in #gaming7 years ago (edited)

maxresdefault.jpg

Watch the video right now with Viewly:
https://upload.view.ly/view/useruploads/11bc--2017-09-15--top-5-nes-games-rerez

I am a huge fan of the NES. My love of this console goes all the way back to my childhood. Back then the NES was kind of the only system around. The Atari existed and Sega did have their Master System but most kids out there had an NES. It was the most popular console. And with good reason as it also had the best games. Join me as we go through my top five NES games.

seicross.png
#5 Seicross
Seicross originally came out for arcades in 1984 in Japan under the name Sector Zone. Not long after they released it on the Famicom and NES. It was at this point they changed the name to Seicross. I don't really know why they did that. This was one of my favorite games to play when I was a kid. It's just fun. It's one of those games that focuses a lot on score because of its arcade roots. You also have the ability to knock the other racers off into the side or into objects which is really satisfying. Now I don't really play it for score I just play it to see how far I can get. It's difficult but fun. Other games that existed at the time would’ve made your energy bar at the top your health so every time you got hit you lose a little bit of energy. In Seicross this is actually your fuel. If your energy gets too low and eventually depletes your vehicle blows up. This is a very, very strange game. Apparently there's some kind of plot to it but I really don't know. One of the things that kind of sucks about this game is almost everything wants to shoot at you. I could never really get far in this game even to this day. It’s still a very fun game to play and I heavily recommend it.

RC_Pro_Am_cover.jpg
#4 R.C. Pro-Am
R.C. Pro-Am might not be the best racing game on the NES but it is some of the best racing gameplay. Each level progressed in difficulty and seemed to challenge the player more and more. Unlike other racing games that existed around the same time on the NES this one offered a lower map so you could see every turn and prepare yourself for what was ahead. The game was filled with power-ups, turbo boosts and on track obstacles like puddles and pop-up walls. A cool feature of the game is collecting vehicle parts off the track to increase the performance of your vehicle. But the best things to collect on the track were weapons. Rockets and bombs stopped your opponents for a short amount of time giving you that extra second to cross the finish line before they did. Seriously one of the best racing games ever.

18699-galaga-nes-front-cover.jpg
#3 Galaga
Galaga was, and still is, one of my all-time favorite video games ever made. The gameplay is simple — shoot all the aliens above you and advance to the next stage. As you progress through the stages the enemies get more complex and difficult. It's a pretty basic game but that is what's so cool about it. One of the best secrets ever in this game is having one of the aliens capture your spaceship only to destroy that alien later and reclaim your captured ship and have double the firepower. It's a classic game through and through and it’s still worth a play.

micromachines-label.jpg
#2 Micro Machines
Micro Machines was a popular toy brand that my friends and I used to play with when we were kids. This is in my opinion the best racing game ever made on the NES. No other game offered the same great selection of vehicles and tracks that Micro Machines did. Each level was designed the same way my friends and I would create racetracks with our real Micro Machines toys. The stages are made with nuts and bolts, Cheerios, glue, milk and all sorts of objects that kids would find in their garages and kitchens. The gameplay was pretty crazy too considering you never quite knew how close you were to the edge of a table due to its top-down perspective. You could knock friends off the track or get ahead of them completely by memorizing the tracks and mastering every turn. This game was seriously a blast to play.

55868-Jackal_(USA)-1496289166.png
#1 Jackal
This is it, my favorite NES game ever made. Maybe it's the vehicles and having the ability to go anywhere you want or maybe it's because you can upgrade your grenades to rockets. It's just awesome. It has the most addicting gameplay, so much to do and so much to see. When I sat down to actually record this game I ended up playing and beating the entire thing again for old times sake. Each level feels very different — different colors and textures and different enemies and shapes and designs. It's just a blast to explore every stage because it's so unique from the one before it. There are interesting bosses and great traps that seem to get me every time even if I know they're there. This is some of the most fun you can have playing a NES and it's even better if you play with a friend. Find this game and play it, it alone is worth buying a NES.


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

Yes! Have you ever played Gauntlet? I loved that one. When I was little me and my grandma would play for hours and when we wanted to take a break, we would just pause the game and leave it on so that we wouldn't have to start back at the first level! Thanks for sharing (:

Brings back some memories!

Congratulations @rerezr, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 914 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5504.32. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Goal 2, and 3.. ? NBA was excellent with all the season and the posilility to simulate games. There was one of olimpic games, excellent too.

Did you ever play Rygar ? That has to be one of my top ten games !

i dont remember any of those games. remember blades of steel? best game on the NES

Not that I played Nintendo NES that much, but I dont recognize any games on there.

@rerez A great deal details thanks for sharing. Like it..

For me, Mega Man all the way man. My most memorable times were playing 1 to 3.

great post it sure is a blast from the past hahah thnx for sharing keep it up i followed u follow me ;) @rerez

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86