Zombies Ate My Neighbors - Rerez

in #gaming7 years ago

maxresdefault.jpg

Watch the video right now with Viewly:
https://upload.view.ly/view/useruploads/6c25--2017-09-25--zombies-ate-my-neighbors-rerez

When I first played Zombies Ate My Neighbors it challenged the way I saw violent video games of the day. While other games dealt with Hollywood monsters this one dealt with them in a more comedic way and it didn’t feel scary. That’s some of the brilliance of the team at LucasArts and what they were capable of doing. I’d always been a fan of LucasArts and their games on PC and Zombies Ate My Neighbors was the very first console game I ever played from the company. Some of that wonder and genius that LucasArts would instill in their console games in the future I believe started with this game.

Capture4.PNG

You play as one of two characters, Zeke and Julie. You traverse the stages, killing zombies and a wide range of monsters and saving as many humans as you can. Each stage was set up to feel very different from the one previous, utilizing different designs, textures and themes. You never really knew what you were going to get into. Each level started with a title screen giving you a brief hint as to what was about to unfold. Although a simple title could never prepare you for what you were about to experience next. Some stages would feature slices of 1950s Americana set in neighborhoods that felt right out of Leave it to Beaver, or perhaps something a little more sinister. Other stage settings get as crazy as spooky crypts and Egyptian tombs. The general look and esthetic of the entire game feels like an attempt to recreate the cinematic feel of a B movie from the ‘50s or ‘60s. In fact Zeke wears red and blue 3D glasses as an homage to the cheesey, often 3D, films of the ‘50s the game is referencing. Unfortunately when I was a kid that entire aspect of the game was lost on me. I hadn’t yet discovered the wonders of watching pulp movies. But then again this is something that LucasArts was really good at. Because a similar feel can be found in Maniac Mansion and Day of the Tentacle to a lesser extent. Day of the Tentacle’s villain purple tentacle has his own secret stage hidden within Zombies Ate My Neighbors and it doesn’t feel out of place.

Capture2.PNG

The gameplay feels very similar to Gauntlet, a top down, action shooter with exploration elements. However the game is far more sparse when it comes to the amount of enemies on screen. The focus of this game is more to save humans and to explore the levels, unlocking doors and finding new weapons. But in some cases even if you don’t have a key for a door that won’t hold you back. With the right weapon you can blow apart a door, shoot holes in walls and destroy bushes and hedges. And with that this game became one of the very first I ever played with an early take on a destructible environment. But the gameplay really shines when, just like in Gauntlet, you play with a friend in an amazing co-op experience. And believe me, if you’re ever going to play this game it’s best to experience it with a friend. Especially one who appreciates classic cult films, like I did in my video linked above.

Capture3.PNG

But I can’t say this game is perfect because there are two glaring flaws. First, there is a limited amount of ammo in each level. This makes hunting and killing your enemies challenging. While I like difficult games in some instances this difficulty can spin out of control if you don’t conserve your ammo. Even if you die and respawn you’re not given more ammo as a freebie. So if a level is completely empty of ammo there’s nothing you can do. This brings me to the second flaw in this game, there’s no melee attack. Melee attacks are important for games that utilize an ammo system. I believe there should always be some option for the gamer to continue playing even if they have depleted all of their ammo. If you’re not paying attention you can easily corner yourself in this game and be left with no option but to restart your game. Even taking that into consideration I still find this game insanely fun. It’s a classic worth going back to and playing again and again. But remember, make every shot count.


Follow me on Steemit @Rerez for more gaming posts!
Rerez.gif

Sort:  

Me, I'm fan of Battle City :)

Glad to see gaming posts picking up on steemit.

I haven't been on steemit long but I noticed when I first started Gaming was always the very last category showing on the main page and now its up a few! I don't have any pull on steemit but I still have a goal of elevating it's ranking as a category. I mean the gaming industry makes more than Hollywood and most gamers are far more connected and engaged than your average movie goer.

Man I used to love this game when I was a kid. I played it all the time. It was probably one of my favorite Super Nes games. Endless re-playability. I never got into the Plants vs Zombies games but they sure reminded me of this. So hard to believe it's almost 25 years old!

nice game but this one include so much voilence during playing. So be careful about the children in homes because this one is not good for them.
:)
upvoted

very top game, thanks for sharing with us.

great games I like this style of games thank's to share it with us I have upvoted you !

Hey, my name is Nadine and I am new on steemit. I would be happy if you could check out my post and follow back. Thank you :-)
https://steemit.com/live/@leo-tmp/teaching-english-in-chiang-mai-thailand-my-travel-diary
I love your post. Great!!!

a very unique game in my opinion. I want to try . the look of your article must be fun. thanks for the article @rerez

Congratulations @rerez, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 934 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $5189.08. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Takes me back to my first LucasArts game, Shadows of the Empire. Unlike this game the dark tones felt very scary for star wars, and I must admit, even with handing my non-video gaming playing (other than pilot wings) father the controller, I still couldn't beat this game -_-

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71