Top 5 popular gaming franchises that I just can't get into

in #gaming6 years ago (edited)

overrated.jpg

Everyone has their favorite game franchises. Though for some reason or another these popular series never connected with me. The following massively popular series just failed to click with me. Here’s my list of the top 5 popular game franchises that I just can’t get into.

Let's step on some toes!

#5 Kingdom Hearts



Image: Nerdist

This should have been a slam dunk. I love Squaresoft games and the Final Fantasy series. Merging their universe with Disney (which I also love) should have been a slam dunk. But something about the games just don’t click with me. I think its the gameplay that I really can’t get into that keeps me from enjoying this series.

#4 Halo



Image: GameSpot

I came to the Halo party late, picking up the original to play on the Xbox 360 rather than the original Xbox. After playing for a few hours, I walked away from the game. The single-player campaign felt like a series of identical outdoor maps and indoor corridors that I just got bored with. Fast forward a few years and I decided to give Halo 3 a shot, but I just couldn’t get into it either.

#3 Assassin’s Creed



Image: Red Bull

For such a popular series, I’m surprised at how much I just couldn’t get into this. I started out with the original and didn’t like it, but gave it another chance with Assassin’s Creed III because I was intrigued by the early America setting, but once again I just couldn’t get into it at all. I’m not sure why these games don’t quite click with me because I enjoy the bits and pieces of the games separately, but not as a whole.

#2 Call of Duty



Image: DualShockers

I’ve played various iterations of this franchise going back to the beginning and its just never grabbed me. While the simpler gameplay of the earlier games was more palatable, the newer games seem to have made the single-player campaigns practical an afterthought as the series has become an online shooter first and single-player experience second. I don’t have interest in competitive online FPS games, because I suck at them, so the meager single-player stuff isn’t nearly enough to keep me interested.

#1 Pokemon



Image: Forbes

If any of these will ruffle some feathers, its this one. The series emerged when I was in college, but I was never much into gaming on portables. When I eventually did manage to pick up a Game Boy and various different versions of the series I was really disappointed in the actual gameplay. The concept of catching and training creatures is really interesting, but the turn-based gameplay is so horribly shallow that I get bored almost instantly. Perhaps I’ll give it another chance once the series finally gives us a proper version to play on a home console, but I’ll be watching it with skepticism.

So what series do you have a hard time getting into, or think that are simply overrated? Let's discuss!


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image by Retro room

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66258.39
ETH 3170.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.07