Unboxing the $100 Outlast Murkoff Briefcase collector's edition by Limited Run GamessteemCreated with Sketch.

in #gaming5 years ago

outlast.jpg

As a huge fan of physical media, I applaud Limited Run Games for doing what they do. For those not familiar with them, they produce "limited runs" on physical media of games that previously were only available digitally. They initially offered PS4 and Vita games, and started supporting the Nintendo Switch about a year ago. I've bought several games from them so far -- Thimbleweed Park, Night Trap and West of Loathing. Yesterday, my newest purchase from them arrived on my doorstep, Outlast Murkhoff Briefcase Edition, which contains both Outlast and Outlast 2 and is limited to only 2000 copies worldwide!

Squee!

Each game they offer comes in either the basic version, as any game would appear at retail and sell for around $30. They also offer deluxe editions for about $70, which come will all sorts of bells and whistles. I normally don't go for the collector's editions, but in this case I couldn't help myself.

This is the most expensive game I've ever purchased, either new or as a retro collector. Was it worth it?

1.jpg

The games come in large, heavy box, which gave me a good first impression about what I would be finding inside. After removing the shrinkwrap, I lifted the top flap (its connected to the box by a hinge) and the two Outlast games were revealed.

2.jpg

The content all sits in cardboard trays to keep them nicely lined up and protected. The games were easy to remove from these trays. I love the presentation!

4.jpg

5.jpg

Under the games and the first cardboard tray is a folder with 'confidential' information relevant to the game. Never having played any of the Outlast games, I'm sure these will be more relevant to me in the future.

6.jpg

Below the folder with the confidential reports, I found the graphic novel, a 128 page behemoth with very nice artwork. Again, this is something I'll have to save until after I've played the games to fully appreciate.

7.jpg

What collectors' edition is complete without the game's soundtrack on CD? While the usefulness of a CD in 2019 is questionable to some, those are typically the type of people who don't pay a premium to get their games on a physical format.

8.jpg

The last included goodies are two 18"x24" reversible posters featuring artwork from the games. The designs resemble the 50's pulp comic style, but much darker. I'm not sure I'll ever have a way to display these, but they're nice to have.

9.jpg

Lastly, they included a box to collect the two game cases so they can fit nicely on your shelf with the rest of your Switch collection. I didn't know this was going to be included and its a very welcome surprise bonus.


So would I say the $100 version is worth it? Well, its hard to say until after I've experienced the games. What I can say is that if I do end up loving the games, I'll be very happy that I splurged to buy this very cool collectors edition. If I end up disliking the games (or get too freaked out to finish them), it should be easy to resell since this version is currently selling online for up to $250.


Decorative-Line-Black-PNG-Image.png

Thanks for reading. As always, upvotes, resteems and comments are appreciated!

Cover Image:

[All images by Retro Room]

Sort:  

Wow! That's pretty dang impressive! I was a big fan of the first game (especially the Whistleblower DLC) so hopefully you enjoy it!

We watch a lot of horror, but I tend to be a little weeny when it comes to horror games. We'll see how I do. I plan to do reviews of both games once I get through them.

The Whistleblower DLC is included too. Its a really excellent package.

I look forward to reading your reviews!

looks nice.

you sure you can resell it opened for 250?

Well 100$ you should get back easy then anyway

Probably not opened, you're right about that.

Hi @retro-room!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.187 which ranks you at #3109 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #221.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 171 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Congratulations @retro-room! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 900 comments. Your next target is to reach 1000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77