Mega Man X3: The Zero Project (ROM Hack) 100% Playthrough Part 01

in #gaming6 years ago

Some of my followers dig the Mega Man stuff, so here's something for you. I'm still working on the X5 project, but I need a small break since it can be nerve-racking sometimes to play X5 with the stipulations of the Masochist Challenge.

So, here's something casual.

The Zero Project is a ROM hack of Mega Man X3 by justin3009 that integrates Zero into a fully playable character, improving the original game significantly.

You can switch between X and Zero freely; Zero can fight bosses, use boss sub-weapons, and collect heart tanks and subtanks.

Zero also has access to the air dash and double jump right off the bat.

A lot of other changes have been made, as well. The Z-Sabre has been nerfed, for instance, to make the game more balanced. Zero also starts off with a smaller health bar now that he can collect the heart tanks.

I'll point out the changes as the game progresses.

I enjoy the Zero Project a lot. It adds to the game without taking anything out of it. Zero's increased maneuverability does make certain parts easier, but the flip side of that is the fact that Zero being bigger and bulkier than X makes him tougher to control in general.

So, I'd say there's a pretty good balance there.

I wanted something casual, so I'm not going to throw away a segment just because I took a hit. It's actually hard me to adjust to such lax rules, but it'll probably do me some good, hah.

Also, this video features the most terrible gap jumping in the history of Mega Man X. I guess it's because Zero is bulkier than X that I just didn't seem to be able to pull those off properly.

I do, however, apologize if the gameplay in general isn't quite up to par to what people have learned to expect by watching the Masochist Runs, but I really wanted to have a stress-free time this time around.

Hope you enjoy watching me tackle this thing.

Sort:  

really wow that's good news man!!

That dude looks way more mega than Megaman.

Zero was actually the original design for Mega Man X, but Capcom suits felt he looked too different from the classic Mega Man.

As per usual, the suits were wrong since Zero became the more popular character anyway.

Those damn suits. It takes twelve of them to sit around and mess one thing up, at least. Megaman can have new clothes, but they all wear a uniform, so how would they know?

Which emulator are you using?

I played this on the ZSNES, which was weird since I’ve been doing original hardware only recently.

I really noticed the input lag and overall slowness of the emulator.

Some stuff I simply can’t pull off on an emulator.

There’s something about the code of this hack that causes it to not work when dumped on an actual cartridge.

Yeah. I noticed with every emulator I've tried, the game never feels like the original. ZSNES is probably the best one, though I get a blue screen of death every now again when I use it. Probably has something to do with my own adjustments where I just clicked random boxes and did whatever then forgot what I changed.

ZSNES? Is this 2003?

Should look up bizhawk or bsnes, hell, even snes9x is way more accurate and has less input delay and bugs than ZSNES :P

Yeah, I’m aware. I just emulate so rarely, used to ZSNES, and too lazy to learn/install anything new.

X3 is a good game, and ZP is a good hack, good stuff :D

Totally. I’d say ZP is the definitive version of X3.

Hard to say when the JP PlayStation version exists with the boppin tunes hehe

Can you please cross post these to youtube more often? I'm all for supporting Dtube, and I'm super glad you do, but your dtube vids load for me approximately 2% of the time, and its a bummer cause I really enjoy watching them. I promise Ill always try to watch it on Dtube first, but in the end I just want to see it. Anyhow, great job on this one man :) Also, it's super weird seeing you take a hit, like ever, it's taking some getting used to hahaha

Yeah, I will. I'd like to support dTube, but it's been so damn inconsistent that it becomes pretty pointless to post the videos there.

Also, it's damn weird to post videos where I take hits. :D

I do practice runs on the stages before uploading, but I try very hard to allow a few failures here and there - and it's very tough, actually.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77