Sunforger; worthless yesterday, valuable today!

in #gaming5 years ago


WARNING: Magic the Gathering terminology ahead. Some of it will likely be as understandable as Mud.

Magic the Gathering sales have been poor in the last 6 months. So much so that I thought the game was going to fold. Modern cards are not selling, and even the older legacy ones are a hard sell. I don't even bother with Standard anymore.

IMG_6632.JPG

I stopped buying even cheap cards and am slowly selling out what I have, and it’s been almost 2 years since I played a competitive game.

Being a seller of these cards, I still keep a keen eye on MTGStocks as you just never know when something almost worthless is going to spike.

image.png

If you think crypto spikes are large, then you have seen nothing. Yesterday I noticed Sunforger was up over 800% in one day. There’s no doubt that a new combination has been found probably with a recent standard set such as War of the Spark or Ravnica Allegiance.

While I take little interest in new sets (due to mass overprinting), it is quite common that some new-fangled combination can spike an old previously worthless card.

image.png
Source

In the case of Sunforger, this card is used in EDH, but other than that has been largely ignored. I did a little digging and found my answer. Talk about FOMO!

This term will be known by probably all that read this, it’s not just used in crypto.

image.png

I realised I may have had some Sunforger's for sale so checked last night. Lady luck was with me and I had FOUR for sale which were priced at £1.25 each and the fixed price sale had just expired WITHOUT a sale.

Considering Sunforger has spiked to over $10 and yet the European prices were still 66c (according to MTGStocks)I had to decide a new buyer's price.

Too much and they will get ignored, too little and woosh..., they will be gone before I relist them!

I figured £5.99 each is a middle ground and put them back on sale.

image.png

By 2.40pm today ALL of them were sold. Talk about a change in the weather!

Sunforger was reprinted in Commander 2016 and Modern Masters 2015. I’m sure I have some Modern Masters 2015 ones and they are going to be shunted on sale later.

IMG_6630.JPG

EDIT: I have found NINE more Sunforgers. It pays to horde bulk rare's!

It's a case of dumping them while they are hot. Tomorrow BASIC Swamps from the set Odyssey may be the next thing.

Magic players are so fickle when it comes to buying the latest ‘hot item’, so why not take advantage of their impulsiveness!

image.png
Source

Look what spiked today, and up over 1100%. It's a shame I don't have any Balduvian Rage's or they would be on sale instantly.!


DivindingLine.JPG

SteemEnginer.gif

Drooling Maniac.JPG

If you found this article so invigorating that you are now a positively googly-eyed, drooling lunatic with dripping saliva or even if you liked it just a bit, then please upvote, comment, resteem, engage me or all of these things.

Sort:  

So I am guessing there is a red or white card in the new deck that benefits from playing this card first? That is a good thing you got them off the market before you lost them at 1.25. Close call indeed!

I havent done a load of research TBH @bozz. There's literally 1000's of MtG cards and the combos are endless. Imagine a SteemMonsters but hundreds of times more diverse.

Yes, I was lucky to have not sold them cheap. I have had this RAV play set for around 6 years now and unable to sell it.

Your post was upvoted by the @archdruid gaming curation team in partnership with @curie to support spreading the rewards to great content. Join the Archdruid Gaming Community at https://discord.gg/6yD2Emr. Good Game, Well Played!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Love it! I’m holding on to a bunch of Pokémon and YuGiOh cards from quite a few years ago myself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I always liked its ability. I wonder what new use made it spike that much. Something about the new Nahiri or related cards?

It seems to be EDH related and Feather, the Redeemed is some kind of factor. I don't play EDH personally.. so am just glad there's a demand now so I can dump the things!

Hi, @slobberchops!

You just got a 5.81% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Slobberchops from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Good game

You got a 5.85% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @slobberchops! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64106.00
ETH 3129.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16